2003 Xterra

Consumer Reviews

2003 Nissan Xterra

$2,181 - $7,845  MSRP Range
2003 Nissan Xterra

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

23 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Nissan Xterra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable but no stranger to the gas pump

by TC from Texas on Tue Mar 22 2011

Bought this 2003 Xterra used with 100k miles. Had it 3 months now and only complaint is poor gas mileage (about 17 - 18). I have a 4dr F250 that gets better mileage. Other than that its great. But dont expect much extra headroom if you are over 6 foot tall!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Ride

by Xterra Girl from Hickory, NC on Sat Jun 17 2006

This car drives extremely smooth. It has tight steering that is easy to steer and the brakes on this car are wonderful. The seats are comfortable & it has all the amenities.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome SUV

by Xterraman1127 from San Antonio, TX on Thu Oct 10 2013

Really awesome SUV I love the exterior design and the simple interior look. Only issues with it I found was the available performance. Nissan could of done better with there 4 Cylinder engines and added some kind of performance option like a turbo, supercharger or a ECU upgrade to give the 4 Cylinder engine enough power to do the things I do with my Xterra. Also didn't like the fact that 4WD is not an option with the 4 cylinder engine, but can be easily fixed with a transmission swap out of a Nissan Hardbody pickup (both vehicles have the exact same 4 cylinder engine). The interior is very stylish and easy to work with. Love how simple it is to remove the interior to do any interior modifications. Its a awesome SUV can't complain about. I plan on keeping my Xterra for a long time

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

By far most reliable rig I've owned

by Xterra for life from Monmouth OR on Mon Mar 05 2018

Paid $1600 for a 189000 mile 2003 sc with bad supercharger never a problem after replacing sc love this rig would recommend it to anyone with adventurous lifestyle or a family

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by Rose from on Thu Aug 21 2014

My first car ever and I don't ever want to let it go. I'm going on 150k miles and I've only had to do a tune up and routine oil changes here and there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Versatile

by Rdf63 from Ambler, PA on Fri Feb 24 2017

2003 Xterra XE with 139,000 miles and still running well. Love the height that I am driving and handles very well in snow and rain. A lot of space especiallty in the back which is convenient especially for travel. Use it for work, fun, beach, put my 2 dogs in the back and reliable. No complaints and happy with this 14 year old car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great mid sized SUV

by Doggymom71 from Palm Coast, FL on Sat Aug 12 2017

My biggest grip is the interior display. The gauges sit back & are not well lit & neither is the audio equipment. I LOVE that there are lots of charging ports, but no waste of space on an ashtray. I like that the cup holders are removable, as are the back seats. It handles well & gets decent gas mileage for a truck that size. Plenty of power & plenty of leg room. The only reason I gave it a 4 on reliability is bc it *OLD* now!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

nice all around ride

by fishfinder from Georgia on Wed Aug 07 2013

Good power, good reliability, room for gear, kids, etc, overall I am very satisfied with the vehicle.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

198k miles and still going strong

by watchingsurf from Stillwater, NY on Mon Aug 04 2014

I bought this brand new, it was been everywhere from the Adirondack Mnts, to the NC Beach. 198k miles and I have only replaced the timing belt, starter and normal things like brakes and rotors. Best set of tires for it Nitto Grappler, expensive but worth every penny, 85 miles on the tires, Mnts, Sand and road. AMAZING. I have also been re-rended Twice and each time, barely any damage, other cars totaled! She is a tank

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2003 Xterra

by Xterra Driver from PA on Mon Feb 05 2007

I bought my 2003 Xterra new with 16 miles on it. I now have about 45k on it. I have the XE 4x4 package. Overall, it is a good vehicle. I love the styling and off-road capability - you must go with the 4x4, 4x2 is useless in any snow/slush or even loose dirt going uphill. The roof rack is handy for snowboards/christmas trees etc. With harder seats and small back seat, it is more of a college/young adult vehicle. I like how you can just sit right in (I am 6' tall) - harder for my wife to get in. Drawbacks are poor gas mileage (16mpg) and less than desirable power for large hills. The interior is cheap plastic that rattles alot, but I just turn the CD up. The only problem I had was a leaking transfer case and that was repaired with the warranty. Would recommend to a younger, active crowd. you will never get stuck anywhere in the mud/snow with 4wd low!!! Will probably keep it til it dies, which is hopefully 200k miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2003 Nissan Xterra

Nissan markets its Xterra sport utility vehicle as a hip, hard, inexpensive alternative to more sedate SUVs.

But is it really?

December seems like a good month to find out.

Last year, the Xterra benefited from new front end styling and an optional 3.3-liter 210 horsepower supercharged V-6.

For 2003, non-supercharged 3.3-liter V-6 models get a 10-horsepower bump to 180 horsepower. Torque gets a 2 foot-pound bump to 202 foot pounds of torque. Vehicle Dynamic Control with traction control is a new option on all Xterras.

A 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine is available as well, but its 143 horsepower rating would seem to be too meager for the vehicle's weight. A five-speed manual or four-speed automatic transmission... Read More