1999 Alero

Consumer Reviews
1999 Oldsmobile Alero

Change Vehicle
3.6 out of 5 stars

3.6

19 Reviews
3.9 out of 5 starsComfort
3.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by JC from LAKELAND,FL on August 23, 2008

I HAVE READ A LOT OF REVIEWS ABOUT THIS CAR, MOSTLY NEGATIVE STUFF. I HAVE OVER 142,000 MILES ON MY CAR AND EVERYTHING IS STILL ORIGINAL ON THAT CAR, BY THE WAY IT IS A 99 ALERO GLS. THE ONLY THING EVER TO BE WORKED ON IS THE REAR DEFROGGER, A/C, CHANGED THE SERPENTINE BELT ONLY 2X, AND WINDOW REGULATOR WAS REPLACED AND ALSO THE POWER STEERING PUMP AND THE PULLEYS. I THINK THAT IS NOT BAD AT ALL FOR A 9 YR OLD CAR.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Car

by Some Dude from Montana on January 26, 2008

Well, people are constantly complaining about how there's all these problems with their '99 Alero's. at least the ones who post online. You know what I noticed? Almost all of their problems happened before 75,000 miles. When I bought mine, it had 100,000 miles on it. Ran great then, runs great now. The person who had it before me put it through it's paces, so there's a couple of minor after-market upgrades (new gauge covers, stupid fake hood scoop), but no engine or performance upgrades, purely aesthetic. I haven't had a problem with my car since I bought it, 45,000 miles ago. Yeah, I work it hard, but it still runs great. I think that if there's problems, they'll probably be before 75,000 miles. If you find one of these cars over that, (as long as the mileage isn't insane), my advice would be to buy it. Oh, and if you're worried about finding parts for a car whose manufacturer who got canned by GM, don't worry. The Alero is the cousin of Pontiac's Grand Am, and parts aren't that hard to find. My one and only complaint is that the car doesn't deal with really cold weather as well as it could. When the temperature gets below -5, (Fahrenheit), the car engine looses power until it's warmed up and I have trouble with the power steering for the first 2 or 3 turns. If it doesn't get that cold where you live, well, you are lucky! (I live in Montana, and it'll go below -30 in the morning some times during the winter).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

decent car for the money

by Used_Cars 01!! from MA on December 3, 2012

I had bought my 1999 oldsmobile alero gls coupe 6 cyl with 86,000 miles on it, overall the car had decent pick up, decent options, Drove pretty smooth, never any major engine problems, although there were some complaints. shortly after purchase there was as issue with the ani-lock brakes, and right before summer the fan or blower stopped working for the a/c / heat. And for some reason unknown, the car would start up fine when cold, or not heated up, but once it was already running for a while, and then tried to start again, it would act like it would start but then die, you would have to rev the engine a bit to keep it running, after that it was fine. the previous owner didn't take care of the leather so they had lots of cracks all over them, and cosmetically the car started falling apart, such as the cloth on the ceiling was falling down in the back, not much, the dash board leather started to peel back, the sun roof would kind of stick but still open, and some expectable rust in front of the back tires on the sides. overall I would still recommend this car, these issues besides the engine not starting are all to be expected with the age of the car. like I said it still drove very nice and is a sharp looking car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Ride

by Dave from Pennyslvania on November 11, 2015

I found a 1999 Oldsmobile Alero GLS on Cars.com. It was for sale at a dealer about 20 miles away. Nice car, Few dents and scratches. 71,000 miles. It took a while, but I got it for the price I wanted. Not long after I got it the brake warning light came on, Turns out the cable from one of the front wheels was broken. No big deal. The car runs and drives really great. I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

fast for a tiny v6

by car enthusiast from jacksonville, NC on September 30, 2008

this car was bought used and i had problems with the radiator system. if you do buy this car and a hose or anything breaks with keeping your car cool and water/coolant from getting in the oil you will have to replace every related peice. keep your whole car maintenanced and use premium gas with octane booster(at least104) and it will keep up with v8 engines with added engine life and gas mieage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

oldie but a goodie

by DIRTY HARRY FAN from racine wis on May 14, 2015

i have owned 2 1999 oldsmobile aleros each a 2 door sedan the reason is because i had a friend who had a 2003 and it was i still think it is his baby seeing how much he loved it made me want one big sales regret on selling the first one i just got my 2nd alero yesterday from another friend of mine and it runs like new just some slight noise from under the hood but it is 14 or 15 year old car but i love the alero and i di grow up in an '87 ferenza as a kid oldsmobile is the style

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

One of the best I've owned

by slenderman from SouthCentral PA on January 13, 2013

This is my 80 mi. RT commuter. Bought as a GX coupe with 33k on the clock from a GM dealer, 4 Cyl. 2.4L LD9 engine, auto trans, manual windows, a/c. Sporty handling, good acceleration. Great Delco audio system. Since I've had it, replaced front wheel bearings, brake pads, brake rotors (these seem to warp easy), water pump, alternator. Be sure you keep the oil topped off on these; I switched to 10W-30 when the mileage was getting up there (it was starting to use a lot of 5W-30). Use a better quality oil filter on these also. Only electrical issue I've had involved the instrument cluster and the vent fan; it used to cut in and out randomly in wet weather. Now getting ready to put it to pasture; it's now got cancer behind the doors and 241,000 on it. (It still has the original spark plugs in it!)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My experience was good

by Armand from Milwaukee, WI on June 10, 2007

Bought it in 99 with only 4k miles on it. In the first few years I had to have the brakes replaced 3 times, but it was all under warranty and I believe one of the brake parts might have been on a recall or something. Other than that, I had a fuel injector valve replaced once last year as it approached 100k miles ($300), and the right front spring broke this winter just after 100k miles (replaced everything, don't remember the cost, but it was expensive). That's it. Other than that it has always performed well and looked great.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car with Lots of Pep!

by DRMCGOO from Chico, CA on June 29, 2017

Surprisingly fun car to drive. Great handling and lots of pep, this sporty little coup will definitely get you where you need to go. Strong V6 gets decent millage and the leather interior is quite comfortable. Interior styling keeps up with the times and looks modern even at nearly 20 years old.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sorry its time 2 go

by OnTheRoadUphill from on January 19, 2012

I had a v6 front wheel drive. For the money it was a comfy and reliable car. Started up in all weather. I put over 150k miles on it. Too many things to fix at the end so i gave it up (cracked windshield, broken mirror, battery died, other things not worth my trouble) otherwise would have kept it longer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 1999 Oldsmobile Alero