2003 Alero

Consumer Reviews

2003 Oldsmobile Alero

$490 - $5,694  MSRP Range
2003 Oldsmobile Alero

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

7 Reviews
71% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Oldsmobile Alero?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

The Alero is a solid car.

by Texas_Investigator from Houston, TX on Sat Jul 07 2012

I have owned my 2003 Alero GLS for six years now. I bought it used. The main reason I chose the Alero was it handled great; and the one I picked had a very clean, and quiet, running engine with reasonable power. The interior is a little cheap; but if that's what your looking for go buy a Lexus or something. The only mechanical problem has been the fuel pump. The tires seem to wear out a little faster on the Alero than the other cars I have owned. Seriously, the tires get bald quickly on an Alero (I drive a lot more than the average person however). I have had a few electrical problems with it over the years, but nothing serious -- the factory radio quit on me. It is a little annoying not being able to turn the headlights off sometimes, but again no biggie. It gets reasonable gas mileage as well. I bought it with approx. 35,000 miles on it. It now has over 200,000 miles and still starts right-up and drives like a new car. I wish they still made this car, it was a good one. On a final note, many of my street-racing, "fast-and-furious", friends would praise the Alero back in the day. They would always remark that it had one of the fastest four-cylinder engines available for under $20,000 (I believe only the Acura Integra is faster). Having owned one for many years now, I can verify that it is indeed fast for a four-banger.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wife wrecked her Alero

by The Happy Hubby from Dallastown, Pa on Fri Mar 22 2013

In June 2007 my wife and I puchased for her a 2002 Silver Olds Alero and she absolutly loved the car. But in the winter of 2013 she hit some black ice while on her way to work one morning, she spun off the road and hit a small diameter tree, she was not injured at all due in part to the well engineered constuction of the Alero, it really took a hard hit, and even though my wife was not hurt, the Alero that she named Buster was totaled. Buster was Busted. When we started talking about replacing Buster I asked her what she was thinking, she replied, I want another Buster. So I looked at different website and found what we were looking for on cars.com. There it was a 2003 Silver Olds Alero. The same identical car just one year younger and with 30,000 less miles on it. I went and checked it out and because I did all the maintenace on the 02 I already knew the car inside out. It passed my inspection and we purchased the car for Ben,s Platinum Motors in Hanover Pa. we got an excellent deal and the difference in price from what the insurance paid us was only 400 bucks, so for only a few hundred we have another Buster or as she calls him, Buster Jr. The Olds Alero is an excellent value with very nice styling and plenty of V6 power. In the end, my wife loves her new-er car and that makes me one happy hubby.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars I've ever owned

by bcdaved from Boston, MA on Mon Oct 04 2010

I bought a 2003 4 door sedan in 2004 with approximately 14,000 miles on it and recently crossed the 137,000 miles mark. Routine maintenance (oil changes, brakes) and the car still runs great 6 1/2 years later.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car i have owned

by Car Person from Lansing, Michigan on Sun Aug 24 2008

This 2003 GLS coupe will be the third Alero in the Family 65,000 miles when purchased. I have a 2001 GLS Sedan with 240,000 miles, which I purchased new from the dealer, and have had no major issues. At 215,000 miles, the 2001, had a fuel pump failure and it was replaced at the standard dealer charge of ~$900.00 and the AC Clutch Coil went bad at 205,000 miles both are not unreasonable in Michigan. I am planning to have this 2003 GLS last as long as my 2001. I recently purchased my college bound son a 2001 GX Coupe with 45,000 miles on it. These vehicles are very reasonably prices as GM has discontinued the Oldsmobile line however the vehicles are identical mechanically to a Pontiac Grand Am so parts are not an issue. Great value for a well equipped vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my first vehicle

by Josh from Houston Tx on Sun Dec 06 2009

I bought a 2004 used alero about a year ago with 30000 miles on it i have 120 ooo miles currently and its still running amazing

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not a very reliable car

by Tweety from Baltimore on Sun Apr 02 2017

Hello I've had my 2003 oldsmobile Alero and I've had a lot of problems with the rack and pinion. Thus last go round I was told that the bolt where the rack mount to the frame has rusted and caused the bracket to brake. There needs to be a recall on the rack and pinion.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

junk vehicle

by oiece of junk car from dartmouth Nova Scotia Canada on Sun Oct 17 2010

this vehicle sholud have a recall as they have an electrical problem. Vehicle takes 10-15 minutes to get started in mornings. Replaced fuel filter 2 times and the egnition module Still nothing

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1