2000 Neon

Consumer Reviews

2000 Plymouth Neon

2000 Plymouth Neon

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Plymouth Neon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

very dependable

by Neonguy from New Hampshire on Sat Jun 23 2007

in the years i have owned my neon I have not had to spend a dime on repairs other than regular maintainace. I owned a 95 neon before and the 2000 neon is a huge improvment. my neon has been very good to me

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Heart of a lion

by Moe from Pittsburgh, PA on Thu Sep 16 2010

My wife and i bought our neon in 2003 with 35,000 miles on it for 6,000. This girl has been through five northwest Indiana winters and the last two years conquering the hills of western Pennsylvania. She currently has 149,000+ miles and runs as strong as the day we got her. I drove her every day 50 miles each way on the Borman expressway from Indiana to Chicago and she NEVER failed me. Over the years I had to replace the alternator, and both front tie rod ends. Did it myself for less than $100. Performed tune up at 100,000 - new plugs, wires, air filter, and ignition coil. As well as the normal oil changes, new tires when needed, and just two batteries. Just took her in for PA inspection last week and she passed the emission and vehicle inspection with flying colors. Still doesn't even have a rust spot on her. I will never sale my darling. I will drive her until she can no longer be repaired. Then I'm gonna keep the shifter knob so I can tell my grandchildren about her. I have owned Fords, Chevy's, Pontiac's at a total of 17 different vehicles. This little Neon by far has been the best car I have ever owned. If she died tomorrow, I'd find another 2000 Neon the next day.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Basic Car

by Bob from on Wed Dec 03 2008

Owned mine since Feb. 2000 and so far it has needed: oil changes, brakes, tires, and a 100,000 mile tune up. That's it. I wasn't obsessive about taking care of it either, so the average used Neon out there is probably going to be in as good a shape as mine.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car got me through college

by Neon Fan from Philadelphia, PA on Mon Mar 12 2007

I've had a Neon for 5 wonderful years and it's brought me to and from college every year. It's very reliable, and I've had little trouble maintaining this car. On the highway, it's a smooth ride and it is definitely not a gas guzzler. My car was bought used, but it ran like it was new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST car EVER!

by Karen from Arlington Heights on Wed Jun 01 2011

I've had my 2000 Plymouth Neon since it had 25 miles on it and brand new. 11 years and 155k miles later, it is still running strong. I expect to get maybe another 5 years from her. The ONLY issue outside normal maintenance has been a couple electrical issues (cd player replaced year 1, sun roof motor stopped working year 7, and speaker shortage year 8). If they were still being made, I would ABSOLUTELY buy another.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My first car

by Erin from on Thu Dec 22 2011

I've had this car for almost 3 years now, and it has been reliable. The only problems we have had are due to the lack on maintenance by the previous owner. When we first got the car, we only had to get a new battery and a part replaced. Other maintenance: oil, new brakes, realigned and tires. Due to weather problems and a tree, the windshield also needed replaced. It's a great little car, and it gets me where I'm going. I'm hoping that it lasts me through college, or at least half-way.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First car i ever bought, along with my boyfriend.

by Kona from Twin Lakes Wi on Wed Aug 15 2018

We bought it privately through a guy who claimed he was a mechanic. Once we got it home we slowly started realizing how much work would need to be put into it some more. Everything that couldve gone wrong with the car did, and we still slowly putting it piece by piece together. We have double what we paid for the car, to fix it up. All mechanical issues are resolved, but the cosmetics and comfortablity and monthly maintance is taking a toll on us financially. This is the first car I have ever purchased, and I got to purchase it with my boyfriend. At first we were excited, it was a new chapter in our book! The car has been straining and to be able to continue to make it cosmetically appealing would help us fix it up more to make it a more reliable car, or better luck selling the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2000 Plymouth Neon for 12 years

by Diva36 from Miami, Florida on Mon Oct 28 2013

I had my Neon for for 12 years before letting it go. My car drove very good, with the realistic wear and tear after 5 years and paying off the vehicle with my bank at the time. My car was excellent on gas and I only drove out of town 2 times in the 12 years that I owned my car. Would recommend to anyone to get one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best manual ever

by rocker from on Wed Jan 11 2012

This is the perfect first car, and first manual transmission. This car is the most reliable and comfortable car I've ever know and it is great on millage escpecially in todays economy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2000 Plymouth Neon

When the Neon first said "Hi" a few years ago, it said so with round headlamps that gave the car a high rating in the cute department. Credit Allentown's own Lee Iacocca with that one.

A recent book about the Chrysler Corp. tells how Lee insisted the round headlamps should be used over the more Japanese-style headlamps the stylists favored.

Fast forward to the all-new 2000 Neon, with its stylish new suit of clothes. Say hello to its oblong headlamps and less distinctive front end. If the look is less rounded, it's also more sophisticated and more in tune with the rest of the former Chrysler Corp.'s styling. If the old Neon wore jeans, the new one wears khakis.

Inside the vehicle, the increased... Read More