1996 Firebird

Consumer Reviews

1996 Pontiac Firebird

$1,937 - $11,001  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Pontiac Firebird?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Flaumer from Connecticut on Sun Jun 15 2008

The '96 Firebird is a great car. The performance is amazing and even the V6 has great pick up. I would definitely recommend this car with a standard transmission, as this makes it a lot more fun too drive. Overall, this is a great car for anyone who appreciates an awesome ride.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wow. No competition. My Dream Car.

by blkbrd96 from Los Angeles, CA on Sat Aug 07 2010

I love my car. I truly do. I just feel so BAD driving it. It gives a feeling that is indescribable when I am driving it. Not even Yamaha R6s can compete with me. It is amazingly astonishing have not even today's muscle/sports cars can keep up with me even though it is 15 years old! I am proud that GM is brought up on american soil. This car is a true classic that will one day be worth a lot. The only reason I don't recommend this car to others, because I want to be the only one with this beauty=]

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The face of the modern day muscle car...

by 96beasty from Los Angeles, CA on Sun Apr 11 2010

A true road hugging beauty! An instant classic collectible out of the factory. There is no car like it. This is not the car for you if you don't like being noticed! The only reason you will not want to drive this car is because you will HATE to rack up the miles on it!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

is the third convertible I own

by soccerdad from Roanoke Rapids,N.C. on Mon Dec 26 2011

I bought this car from a fiend of my wife. This couple seemed to have kept this vehicle sometimes in a garage.The body is in good shape and the convertible top is very well kept up. The car is automatic and has around 135k miles.I'm asking 5,500 and the only reason why I,m selling because I,m looking at a vette.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best car for the money

by no nick name from WI/MN on Sun Sep 02 2012

This 1996 Firebird only has 43,000 miles on it and it is like new. It has very good gas mileage 26 miles to the gallon on the freeway traveling at 72 miles per hour. It handles very well and has great power. This is the best sports car that I have owned and it is a keeper.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

fun and reliable

by rrrogers from ridgecrest on Fri Feb 02 2018

this a good auto its dependable runs great i just have too many cars. love to drive it although it does need someone to clean it up and tweek the interior

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Rare 1996 Transam.

by Wes from Saint Joseph, MO on Wed May 03 2017

In completed this car will be an eye catcher. It has won trophy's at car shows in the past. The engine is a 383 with all forged components.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite car

by Traytray from Duluth ga on Sat Aug 05 2017

Had it for 6months best car I ever drove I was 19 with a stick shift dual exhaust black on black coupe... Speechless

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

After sitting for ten yrs.runs great.

by Styling96 from Richmond va. on Wed Feb 14 2018

I love driving my t top firebird runs great and still looks good.only 97,000 miles on a 1996 would buy a new one if they still made them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1996 Pontiac Firebird

Hey, guys! Got a beer budget and a craving for all the power Detroit has to offer? Look no further than the 1996 Pontiac Firebird Formula with the new Ram Air package. You get a souped-up V-8 coupe that offers a ton of performance for less than $25,000.

But be forewarned: This much muscle isn't for everyone.

(Translation for female readers: You may be a woman who runs with the wolves, but the Ram Air Firebird may be too much car even for you.)

He: What a perfect complement to my new diet and exercise program! A bright red Pontiac Firebird Formula with the new WS6 Ram Air performance kit. I LOVE to feel that 305-horsepower V-8 throbbing under the hood, or those meaty 17-inch tires ripping... Read More