1998 Firebird

Consumer Reviews

1998 Pontiac Firebird

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

17 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Pontiac Firebird?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car, Excellent price...

by Where'sMyShakerHood? from Chicago, IL on Mon May 15 2006

The good: fast, agile, powerful and definately an attention getter. Decent gas mileage for a v8 (I get about 20-23 combined) T-tops are a must. Underrated HP, really 345, not 305. The bad: Only 2 real seats. Unless you're 6 years old, no one sits in the back. Stereo is average... nothing special, cop magnet. Buy used if you can find one, they're less expensive but rare nowadays.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Turns Heads

by bigNdpants from Illinois on Thu Sep 09 2010

I just got a red firebird recently, and the compliments I receive is nonstop. The greatest car I ever bought, and my favorite car of all time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1998 V6 Pontiac Firebird

by rj the car lover from Texas on Sun Nov 07 2010

I have a 3.8L V6 firebird. I bought four years ago as my first car. I love it. All of my friends says it looks and sounds like a Trans Am. It has fuel economy and a kick of power when i need it. The only problems i have is a few of the interior stuff like the dash and visors aren't very well made, but i have had no problems with the engine (it even drove over 40 miles with no water in the radiator in the summer). Although i've had to replace the altinator twice and the compressor went bad.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Car I Ever Owned

by ScorpioTA85 from Daytona Beach, Fl on Mon Jun 16 2008

I have owned many RWD cars, and I must say a Pontiac Firebird is my all time favorite. I have the 3.8L V6, and even though small in HP only 200), compared to newer models today, it is sill very fast and powerful. I still get turned heads, and people asking if it is a newer car, they are surprised when I tell them that it is 10 years old. I love it, and you will to!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Bundle of "Odd-ball" problems... trust me

by Redfox442 from Portage, MI on Thu Jun 29 2017

The Pontiac firebird was great for me in high school and college! Having T-tops was great for the longest time... then my windows stopped working and took all the fun out of that. The car is sporty, no doubt about that and the V6 gets great mileage for the torque and HP trade-off. I certainly wish it had been v8 and manual, but you know what I was probably doing myself a favor at the time, by not having that ;)

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Firebird 101

by Firebird rocks 101 from on Tue Jan 01 2013

It was an adrenaline rush I still can't get over. I wish they where still making the firebird if I could I'd buy each model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun and Reliable

by Steve.Henders on Mon Nov 20 2017

The Pontiac Firebird is a great first car. It's fun, stylish, and just enough power to get you in trouble.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a great car

by Firebird Bob from Freeport, Il on Fri Dec 24 2010

I bought this car (a Trans-Am) in Sept 1999. It had 4,600 miles on it. I have driven it nearly every day since and it now has 295,000+ miles. Except for a problem with fuel pumps which began occuring at @235,000 miles it has been far and away the greatest car I have ever owned. The performance is matched by very few cars costing much more. It delivers 18-22 mpg in city driving and 25-29 on the interstate. And it has t-tops. On warm nights nothing beats a drive with the tops off. If they were still made I would buy another one in a heart beat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best for the Buck (better than 5.0s)

by 98Bird from Virginia on Wed Dec 13 2006

345+ HP. Same LS1 Corvette motor. More restrictive exhaust, but Corvette has IRS which takes away more power (vs. solid rear of the Birds), so the Fbody Z/28 & Firebirds dynos the same. Drove my V8 convertible w/Auto from DC to CA and back sometimes at 130mph w/o any problems (+ 400 lbs of cargo). Average MPG at 75-85 mph was 26-27mpg. Best was 31.5 MPG on flatland cruising at 75mph in Nevada. City driving is around 16-17. But get on it, and it chugs down lots of gas real fast. ONLY comfortable seat is the driver's. Passenger is tortured by catalytic converter hump (knees to chest...I'm exaggerating, but it does suck). Rear seats? Haha. Car is very low and a pain to get in and out of if you're old or fat. Hey, it's a hiperf car. Body is VERY WIDE and long. Massive doors swings out and nails other people's cars. Parking it difficult and takes practice (to guess) since no matter what you do with the seats nor how tall you are, you will not see where the front bumper ends. Parallel parking? Only when no one is around to watch me. I don't beat the he11 out of it, but I do push it once in a while. The LS1 motor is tried and true. Acceleration is smooth. There are little things that are known to break in these cars (window motor, pop-up light gears, left turn signal socket, rear-end if dragraced with sticky tires). 6spd runs 12.8 - 13.2 stock!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1998 Pontiac Trans Am WS6

by Mr. IwishIcouldReviewEveryCar from Indianapolis on Fri Apr 02 2010

Bought this car used with 85k on it a couple of years ago. I drive this car hard about 45% of the time. It just asks for it. So do other cars near you that seem to want to race you. Fast car for the money! Very Aggressive styling with the Ram Air hood. Interior styling is ok, but quality of the parts is terrible. dash has a crack and I hear that's typical. However, it's expected. I knew for the price you're really just paying for the fun factor. Overall, fun to drive, agressive stance, cheapo materials, but engine is strong and reliable. Gets 18/24 if you feather the gas pedal. Premium gas is recommended. Worth it's weight in gold (by weight i mean performance fun factor).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1998 Pontiac Firebird

The lesson learned from the Chevrolet Corvette has been passed down to the Pontiac Firebird.

You can gain without pain.

For 1998, Pontiac has redesigned its Firebird sport coupe. Nothing major: a new hood, facia, fenders, popup headlamps and novel honeycomb taillights but attractive.

The major change is that the base coupe and convertible offer a 3.8-liter V-6 as standard, but the uplevel Formula and Trans Am sport a 305-horsepower version of Corvette's 5.7-liter, 345-h.p., LS1 V-8 engine to replace the 5.7-liter, 285-h.p. V-8. For '98, Pontiac has gone top shelf.

The 305-h.p. V-8 delivers 335 foot-pounds of torque at 4,000 r.p.m. versus 350 foot-pounds of torque at 4,400 r.p.m... Read More