Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1999 Firebird

Consumer Reviews

1999 Pontiac Firebird

1999 Pontiac Firebird

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

17 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Pontiac Firebird?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Sexxy Trans Am...looks perfect...drives perfect !

by alleycat from mount sinai, NY on Fri Jan 29 2010

Purchased this vehicle as a fun weekend toy...fell in love with the body style, especially my convertible...handles and drives like a 'Vette, only more practical...She's FAST, handles perfectly, and almost economical. Everyone seems to appreciate the car, from 18 year olds to 60-somethings...onlookers stare especially when the top is down...the front seats are perfectly comfortable, but the rears are only good for grocery bags and little kids...tremendous amount of features for the money...best value for a near-Vette experience, especially with the LS-1 motor...only problem I wish I were 25 years younger, as you must be a contortionist to get in and out...BUT, once inside, it's the best experience while sitting.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fierce Firebird

by American Muscle Man from New England on Sun Mar 08 2009

The Firebird V8 is powered by the Corvettes LS1 engine. This engine coupled with the handling package of the Firebird make a great combination. The first time you stomp on it you will know what I mean. Gone are the straight line days of this muscle car. I love the cruise ability with the t-tops off. I also love the roar this engine makes when approached by the little tuner cars. Great vehicle! Highly recommended for the cost:performance ratio!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

budget performance

by mikespeed from miami on Mon May 23 2011

The Pontiac Firebird Trans Am may just be a warmed over Camaro Z28, but appearance in this field counts. The Firebird T/a comes to you with the same Corvette LS1 that the Camaro does, detuned to 315 HP (around there at least) and the car definetly displays its blood lines with its blistering performance. The Trans Am also takes it up a notch with very strong styling. Strong character lines start and end with a commanding presence on the road. In short, the car has the looks and the performance to back it as its positive notes. On the negative side of things, The typical GM problems reside in the vehicle. By this I mean the interior, cheap plastics reside in the cabin, although the design is simple and comfortable. The Trans Am in todays world is the 5.0 Fox body of a couple of years ago, a cheap performance bargain. One can usually be found at around 10k in relatively good condition.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pontiac Trans Am - great performance on test drive

by Jason from Morton, Illinois on Mon Jul 24 2006

I drove this car on the interstate and through a small town...it accelerates smoothly and it was easy to make turns, go around cars on the interstate. Not a great car for my passenger with hump on the floor - not much leg room on passenger side. Driver side has good leg room and the interior controls are built with the driver in mind. Sound system was excellent. Great ride in a classy sports car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

better than a z28

by p-rod from nashville, tennessee on Thu Feb 01 2007

this car is a beats i topped mine @ 140 and i fet the hps on this baby. i also have a camaro but my firebird feels more comfortable and i would recomend this car to anyone who loves the rush and power of cars like this one. only one problem with this car... the view of the front is a little hard to get used to especially with a ram air hood, but u get to appreciate it after a while. its a good car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great decision!!

by foreverme from mill spring, nc on Mon Aug 29 2011

I bought this car a couple of months ago and I love it!! The more I drive it the more I like it. If you are thinking about getting one, I am happy with mine. It is made for driver comfort but passengers are not as comfortable, but it is all about the driver anyway right!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fast

by Firebird fan from Cleveland,TN on Sun Jan 29 2012

I have ls1 trans am it lookes good and is fast but if u are going for the v8 make sure it is mannal the 4 speed auto dosnt do it justic other than that awesome car

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Just plain sexy

by Muscle car fan from NY on Fri Jan 29 2016

I've wanted a 4th gen firebird since I saw the commercial many, many years ago with the T/A sitting at a stop just "breathing" and waiting to take off. I've owned a 2nd and 3rd gen and this one is my favorite. Great lines. Incredible handling. Just fun to drive and power to spare. Nothing better than cruising with the T-tops off. I just wish I could have afford it in 1999!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by R-ChemCo from Texas on Sun Aug 29 2010

Gets great gas on highway... Looks awesome... Next to the 300zx TT... The Ws6 has a unique and amazing body style... Drives great and handels well... Fast, Nice and Amazing body style!!! 3 Thumbs up!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

99 Firebird 3.8

by Hawksblood from Kennewick, WA on Wed Nov 17 2010

I bought this car used from a dealer in Yelm WA, overall the car looks great, but if you get into details, you find the little things that run up the cost of the car. Mileage wasn't bad for year, 114,900 about average, the body was in good shape still needs a few minor repairs and paint. Wheels were really rough, and will need to be replaced, tires were ok. The interior was in great shape, the instrumentation was so-so, I was used to a new car. For the money that purchased this car, it was a great buy. I really love it. I was a little hard on the rating, just to make sure that someone else looks hard at older cars. Happy Shopping!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 Pontiac Firebird

The hood scoops fed air to a beast of an engine, a 320-horsepower, 5.7-liter SFI V-8, which growled at idle and roared at speed.

It was raw, sinewy power, far more sexy than sensual. There was no finesse, no pretense, no seduction. There never has been with General Motors Corp.'s rear-drive muscle cars, of which this was one--the 1999, 30th-anniversary special edition of the Pontiac Firebird Trans Am Coupe.

The car was arctic white with broad blue racing stripes running fore and aft, interrupted by a T-top roof and its related glasswork. The wheels, 17 inches in diameter, were polished cast aluminum covered with medium-blue-tint clear-coat paint, giving them the look of gleaming blue steel.

White... Read More