2005 G6

Consumer Reviews
2005 Pontiac G6

Change Vehicle
4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

32 Reviews
2005 Pontiac G6
4.3 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for an affordable price

by Average Joe from St. Johns, MI on June 4, 2012

I bought the car about 5 months ago and I have absolutely loved it. I drive over 30 miles to work one way and it rides very smoothly and gets great gas mileage for a v6. Has great acceleration for merging and passing. Can get away from you a bit if you hit the gas too hard. Only problem I have with the car is that it does burn some oil. If driven aggressively it can burn through a lot of oil in 2000 miles or less. However I have no real complaints about the car, its a good looking, easy to drive, good on gas car that I think i'll keep for quite a few years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!!!!!!

by Beach Man from Chesapeake, VA on June 19, 2006

I love my G6. This is the best car I've owned. Before this I had a 1999 Grand Am, this blows it out of the water. The panoramic roof is so cool! I use it all the time. For those who want a car with great style, and is light on your wallet, the G6 is something you should 135% consider.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

pontiac g6 2005

by mare888 from Massachusetts on January 24, 2015

Bought my G6 new in February of 2005. only problem I have had is having to replace the brakes, windshield wipers, a/c and cd player, other than that it has been a very reliable car and now that its 10 years old I'm surprised it runs as good as it does. Thankfully I haven't had any major problems with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Spluxury Car I've Driven

by Ashley from Nova Scotia on January 27, 2007

As a consumer who regularly test drives cars for fun, I was completely impressed by every feature of the G6. It has the feel and styling of a luxury car on the inside, with the look and performance of a sports car on the outside. The cockpit is very driver-oriented, especially love the way the computer system tracks everything and alerts you when your fluids are low or its almost time for an oil change. I've owned the car for about 6 months now and have not had a single problem with it, not even in the middle of winter in Nova Scotia.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

a headache!

by disappointed from rochester, ny on December 26, 2007

I have had major problems with this vehicle - electrical, steering, etc. Can't wait to get out of my lease!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Tires and Brakes

by Jo Anne from New Brighton, PA on October 9, 2008

Purchased the vehicle brand new. The vehicle is on its third set of tires. The vehicle is going on its third set of brakes and rotors turned. This has to be a manufacture problem. Rear window motor broken. Radio had to be replaced. Car would not start had to be towed to the dealership. Purchased a new battery last month. New windshield wipers.......the list goes on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE IT! (so far)

by Scared Used Car Buyer from Orlando on January 30, 2009

I had never bought a used car and was very nervous to do so; however, the economy required me to look at used cars when my old Buick died a month ago. So far, I love my "new" 2005 Pontiac G6. Smooth performance & handling. Fantastic 6-speaker sound system. Sunroof. It's a bit smaller than my previous car so I'm not quite comfortable with the seating yet. I'm still not certain about gas mileage but seems to be in mid-20's around town. I did buy the extended warranty just in case. So far, I think I made a great choice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car for the money

by Snowman from Massachusetts on January 20, 2008

I have had this car for 5 months now and I love it. Love the full moonroof, power from the 6, power steering etc. Only thing wrong with it is due to the power of the 6 and my lead foot it does not handle well in the New England snow!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

worse car I have ever owned

by upset Alli from ohio from Cambridge ohio on August 6, 2014

I bought my 2005 G6 GT in the year of 2009.. 2nd owner of the car..I have had nothing but problems with it. I had to replace the start within the first month of having it..and since then I put in 3 other ones. I lose power steering going down the road..my CD player quit working after my battery died and I have CDs stuck in there. My car always tells me I have low coolant..when its not low. I HATE THIS CAR..I WILL NEVER OWN A PONTIAC AGAIN!!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

upgrade to the G8 or GTO

by ajsmith from Tacoma, WA on April 16, 2017

I've owned several pontiacs. This has been a disappointment. It doesn't seem 'tight'. It feels like a bag of nuts and bolts driving down the road. Opt for the G8, the GTO or just go toyota.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2005 Pontiac G6