2005 G6

Consumer Reviews

2005 Pontiac G6

$650 - $8,354  MSRP Range
2005 Pontiac G6

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

33 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Pontiac G6?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for an affordable price

by Average Joe from St. Johns, MI on Mon Jun 04 2012

I bought the car about 5 months ago and I have absolutely loved it. I drive over 30 miles to work one way and it rides very smoothly and gets great gas mileage for a v6. Has great acceleration for merging and passing. Can get away from you a bit if you hit the gas too hard. Only problem I have with the car is that it does burn some oil. If driven aggressively it can burn through a lot of oil in 2000 miles or less. However I have no real complaints about the car, its a good looking, easy to drive, good on gas car that I think i'll keep for quite a few years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!!!!!!

by Beach Man from Chesapeake, VA on Mon Jun 19 2006

I love my G6. This is the best car I've owned. Before this I had a 1999 Grand Am, this blows it out of the water. The panoramic roof is so cool! I use it all the time. For those who want a car with great style, and is light on your wallet, the G6 is something you should 135% consider.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

pontiac g6 2005

by mare888 from Massachusetts on Sat Jan 24 2015

Bought my G6 new in February of 2005. only problem I have had is having to replace the brakes, windshield wipers, a/c and cd player, other than that it has been a very reliable car and now that its 10 years old I'm surprised it runs as good as it does. Thankfully I haven't had any major problems with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Spluxury Car I've Driven

by Ashley from Nova Scotia on Sat Jan 27 2007

As a consumer who regularly test drives cars for fun, I was completely impressed by every feature of the G6. It has the feel and styling of a luxury car on the inside, with the look and performance of a sports car on the outside. The cockpit is very driver-oriented, especially love the way the computer system tracks everything and alerts you when your fluids are low or its almost time for an oil change. I've owned the car for about 6 months now and have not had a single problem with it, not even in the middle of winter in Nova Scotia.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Tires and Brakes

by Jo Anne from New Brighton, PA on Thu Oct 09 2008

Purchased the vehicle brand new. The vehicle is on its third set of tires. The vehicle is going on its third set of brakes and rotors turned. This has to be a manufacture problem. Rear window motor broken. Radio had to be replaced. Car would not start had to be towed to the dealership. Purchased a new battery last month. New windshield wipers.......the list goes on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

a headache!

by disappointed from rochester, ny on Wed Dec 26 2007

I have had major problems with this vehicle - electrical, steering, etc. Can't wait to get out of my lease!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE IT! (so far)

by Scared Used Car Buyer from Orlando on Fri Jan 30 2009

I had never bought a used car and was very nervous to do so; however, the economy required me to look at used cars when my old Buick died a month ago. So far, I love my "new" 2005 Pontiac G6. Smooth performance & handling. Fantastic 6-speaker sound system. Sunroof. It's a bit smaller than my previous car so I'm not quite comfortable with the seating yet. I'm still not certain about gas mileage but seems to be in mid-20's around town. I did buy the extended warranty just in case. So far, I think I made a great choice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car for the money

by Snowman from Massachusetts on Sun Jan 20 2008

I have had this car for 5 months now and I love it. Love the full moonroof, power from the 6, power steering etc. Only thing wrong with it is due to the power of the 6 and my lead foot it does not handle well in the New England snow!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very good value, reliable, VERY GOOD IN SNOW

by Bob-o from sharon, WI on Sat Mar 01 2008

this car is great for winter...good on gas. and great in the snow the car stops great!!! even on ice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

upgrade to the G8 or GTO

by ajsmith from Tacoma, WA on Sun Apr 16 2017

I've owned several pontiacs. This has been a disappointment. It doesn't seem 'tight'. It feels like a bag of nuts and bolts driving down the road. Opt for the G8, the GTO or just go toyota.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2005 Pontiac G6

Pontiac's new G6 sedan just might be the best-kept secret in the auto industry this year. Arguably one of the best midsize sedans on the market and a potentially formidable competitor to the best-selling Toyota Camry and Honda Accord, the G6 debuted this past fall as the replacement for the long-running Grand Am.

Despite a much-publicized event in which General Motors gave away 276 of the cars to the studio audience at an Oprah Winfrey TV show in September, the G6 has largely gone unnoticed by the car-buying public -- even though by Pontiac standards it's nearly a runaway best-seller.

Sales are on track to total more than 100,000 units in the car's very first year, but that's still far below the... Read More