2009 Solstice

Consumer Reviews

2009 Pontiac Solstice

$4,570 - $48,322  MSRP Range
2009 Pontiac Solstice

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

24 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Pontiac Solstice?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Fun, Fast, Fantastic!

by Hot Rod Granny from Indianapolis, IN on Sat Aug 11 2012

I bought a 2009 Pontiac Solstice GXP, & I couldn't be happier! This is not a car for those of you who want a marshmallow- soft, luxury car. The Solstice is a true, bare bones, no- frills sports car that's all performance! Sharp, crisp turns, great acceleration thanks to the turbo, and just pure fun in the sun! Wish they still made them! If you ever see a 2009 GXP Turbo for sale, snap it right up because it's a true enthusiast's dream!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty Coupe Delivers

by Solstice GXP Coupe Owner from Detroit, MI on Wed Jul 15 2009

The GXP version is a pocket rocket that won't break the bank. The vehicle turns heads everywhere I go. Turns in 0-60MPH in 5.5 seconds (quicker than a Porsche Boxster and for 1/2 the price). Purchase the accessory removable cloth targa top. It folds and fits easily in the trunk - the panel top doesn't. With 2009 as the only producion year, it's bound to be colelctible one day!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

nice car

by speed from waterford michigan on Mon Nov 02 2009

on sunshine days the car gets looks all the time..people come up and say we love your car it all about the look

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

on my second solstice

by love my solstice from CA on Tue Dec 11 2012

I previously owned a 2006 Solstice and now upgraded to the 2009 Solstice GXP. A major difference in power with the stronger 250 HP. I would take this car over the latest Porsche model any day. As "Car and Driver" magazine said about the Solstice - "It has all the sexy curves of Queen Latifah, but half the weight."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my BASE Solstice Coupe

by Joe from Columbus Ohio from columbus, oh on Tue Oct 01 2013

Mine is barebones, clothe seats, but has the monsoon stereo, and chrome rims. i also have the soft targa top. which i paid 1100 for worth every penny. This is one fun little car. I get looks all the time, and people come up and take photos of it ask what it is. I love the attention it gets. Even though it's not a GXP, it still is fast and nimble. And the value goes up on it. :) Love that.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Red Pontiac Solstice GXP Convertible 4750 mi

by Waterloo from Arvada, CO on Sat Jul 14 2018

Beautiful fun eye-catcher convertible sports car with chrome wheels and no flaws! Garaged and covered. Never driven in rain or snow. 4750 miles. New battery.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Miata Clone Done Well

by Maybery85 from Rayville, LA on Thu Jul 13 2017

Firstly, I know. It's an Opel GT. It's a Vauxhall Vx series. Who cares! The car was purchased used by my wife in 2010 when her 2002 Ford Explorer had to be euthanized after 2 transmission rebuilds. We found it at a used car lot with an aftermarket body kit (that was surprisingly tasteful and not "Fast and Furious" looking). It had an especially attractive silhouette with the top down and secured in the trunk. After a few years, she chose a new vehicle and I took over daily driving of this car. As a note: This was the base Solstice with the 2.4 liter, 180hp ecotec engine mated to a five speed automatic. Had I been choosing the car, it would have been the GXP trim with a 260hp turbo and the five speed manual. However, the power and transmission provided did not detract from the appeal. The car drove wonderfully in dry conditions. In heavy rain with summer tires, I did accidentally learn how to drift. Aside from those impromptu moments, it handled very well in turns at 8/10ths. Straight line speed is not what you are looking for in this car. Inside the cockpit- the basics and nothing more. Tach, speedo, radio, fuel guage. That's all you get and all you need. Satellite radio and one aux input were a part of the package deal. The seats were pleather, but attractive and comfortable. They were even moderately bolstered to hold you in place when the car accidentally goes sideways in the rain! As small as the car appears, my 6'2" frame was comfortable in the car and never felt cramped. With regard to styling, the aftermarket kit that came on this car added to the appeal as opposed to took away from it. The car looked more like it's Saturn brethren than that stock "dragonfly on PCP" styling, yet I still somehow found the stock model attractive. Over the duration of ownership of this car, about 3.5 years, only one time did it have to be taken in to be serviced. The sensor for the fly-by wire throttle faulted, sending into an emergency driving mode that decreases engine output by half (I'm not sure why). Two hundred fifty dollars and five hours at the local GM dealership took care of it. Gas mileage averaged 23-25 mpg combined. It had a 13 gallon tank. It will get you 200 miles up the road between fill-ups but plan to pack light if you will be gone overnight. Even with the rag-top up there is no room for luggage. I had to learn to pack for trips with grocery bags, or not be out of town in that car. As a daily driver for people who need to put anything more than themselves in the car, probably not a good choice. As a car to take out on a sunny day just for the heck of it? Absolutely!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my car

by Hot Moma in Red from Southwest La. on Tue Jun 10 2014

I have wanted a red sports car forever and we came across MY 2009 and I love it. And YES people do look at it a lot especially when the top is down. I am very happy I got it for my 30th Anniversary.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Amazing

by wanna have fun from on Mon Dec 16 2013

I love my Pontiac it an amazing sports car. Its really powerful vehicle with a lot of personality. This car really will give you a run for your money.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

by Black Beauty from Arizona on Sun Sep 09 2012

COMPLIMENTS EVERY DAY from strangers The white on black srtiping is striking and stands out above the rest

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2009 Pontiac Solstice


We come to praise a Pontiac today, not to write its obituary.

The car in question is the 2009 Pontiac Solstice GXP, one of the most unique vehicles we’ve driven. It’s a two-seat, rear-wheel drive coupe version (with removable roof) of the Solstice roadster. To say it has style is an understatement.

Add in a few facts of automotive life in 2009 and the GXP acquires more of a mystique:

1. It’s been discontinued, a victim of the worldwide auto crisis that claimed General Motors’ Pontiac Division.

2. Before production was stopped, only about 1,200 were built. That number, combined with the quality of the car and desirability of the coupe version, guarantees that this vehicle... Read More