2002 Sunfire

Consumer Reviews

2002 Pontiac Sunfire

$175 - $5,467  MSRP Range
2002 Pontiac Sunfire

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

18 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Pontiac Sunfire?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Cute Car

by jedoublefwithfries from KC, MO on Wed Nov 10 2010

We bought this for my wife. High mileage, but very nice looking inside and out. We have had only one problem and that is with the driver side window. Has its own mindset on when to go up. In research that seems to be a problem with this vehichle. Hoping it will be a simple fix.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

sunfires

by sufire02 from NY on Fri May 26 2006

ive owned two sunfires, a 1997 four door SE and a 2002 two door GT, i must say there are definite improvements, the power difference is remarkable, compared to my 97 the 02 is so immaculate its not even funny, i would reccomend this car to anyone, great gas millege, a reliable car, and for the price, compared to other american vehicles, they retain there value the best.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This car

by Avril sweets :) from Lancaster, CA on Tue Sep 21 2010

I have a 2002 Pontiac sunfire SE sedan and its almost @ 200 K miles and never had a problem with it. Just my fuel pump went out, but that was easy fix. Just need more after market parts ;)

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cheap to Run, Cheap to Buy, Cheap to Repair.

by Got'r Pontiac? from Alberta, Canada. on Tue Jun 03 2014

I've grown up around many Sunfires/Cavaliers and all I can say is, what an amazing little car! I myself own a 2002 Sunfire SE Coupe with the 2.2L OHV Engine and 4 Speed Auto. I get great fuel mileage wherever I may go even when gas prices are ridiculously high, I've maybe spent a whole $200 in routine maintenance so far and that's it, never any problems or malfunctions, it's got about 204000 kms on it now and it is still going harder than ever. These great little get-around cars are so simple and cheap to repair, it's honestly quite wonderful for those who don't have the money to be spending on parts. A good 85% of repairs can be done in your home garage if need be. I highly suggest trying to find and purchase a Haynes Full Rebuild Manual for Sunfires/Cavaliers 1995 to 2003 as it helps with the little maintenance these cars ever need. Parts are always cheap and plentiful at auto wreckers for these cars as well and parts from let's say.. a 96 Sunfire will fit on an 02 Sunfire, so they are quite universal with one another. If you're looking for something stylish, fuel efficient but very cheap and easy to maintain, this is the vehicle for you. They last forever! :) All you see these days are Cavaliers and Sunfires on the road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very good car & very reliable!

by blueyes12 from Independence, La on Sun Apr 08 2012

Best little car I've owned! Great for a first time buyer or younger kid-very sporty! Great gas mileage-no problems with the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and Fun

by Mustang Callie from colorado on Fri Apr 26 2013

We have owned this car for over 10 years and it has been awesome! It has only required basic maintenance items (brakes, oil changes...) It's a great car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

derek

by Sports Car Enthusiast from kitchener, ontario on Tue Jul 11 2006

its a good reliable car, handles well, good performance, nice sound system, very comfortable ride, one of the most sporty economy cars on the road today

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty and reliable

by waterskidonut from Stevens Point on Tue May 15 2018

I drove this car for four years and it never failed to start even on the coldest of winter days. Love the layout of the back seat and the space available with the bench seat folded down.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good for the Money

by LDRN from Milwaukee, WI on Wed Jun 18 2014

Purchased mine in 2006 with 43k on it. I've had to put a few sets of brakes on it, but with research, sounds like the issue with the car. at 115k I had to put a fuel pump on it and exhaust (living in the midwest, that's the norm), no real problems with it. I do have the window issue, but a new motor fixed it. Honestly, I commute to work, it's been a great car for the last 8 years. Now has 122k and the only reason I'll get rid of it is to fit kids into the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Value in Small Package

by Chi-town Mom of Two from Chicago, IL on Wed May 24 2006

This is a great starter car for teens or someone graduating from college on a budget. It has a sleek exterior, is reliable and gets good gas mileage. Not as much trunk space as I would like, especially since I now have an infant. His stroller will not fit due to the shape of the trunk opening. I would suggest paying the extra money for power locks and windows. It's worth the money. One feature that I like the most is when I'm driving on the highway, the volume of the music automatically goes up. The one thing that I don't like about the vehicle is that the dashboard shakes slightly sometimes and is noisy when going at high speeds.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2002 Pontiac Sunfire

The little Pontiac Sunfire, a sporty compact for the budget-minded, presents me with one of those good-news/bad-news dilemmas.

So let's start off with the good news. Mainly, it's the all new Ecotec engine, a twin-cam four-banger that arrived for midyear 2002. Strong, quiet and sophisticated, the lightweight aluminum mill propels the Sunfire with authority, accelerating nicely and cruising comfortably on the freeway.

At just 305 pounds, the 2.4-liter Ecotec is one of the lightest and most compact engines in its displacement class. It puts out a solid 140 horsepower, which is plenty of pull for a car that weighs just a whisker more than 2,600 pounds. Plus, gas mileage is right up there.

The optional... Read More