2005 Sunfire

Consumer Reviews

2005 Pontiac Sunfire

$778 - $5,722  MSRP Range
2005 Pontiac Sunfire

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

20 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Pontiac Sunfire?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Old reliable design

by Sunfire driver from Cleveland, OH on Mon Mar 09 2009

This car is basically the old Cavalier design that was used for a decade. As such, Pontiac knew what they were doing with this one. The low center of gravity, and streamlined design make for fuel efficiency, speed, and stability on all kinds of roads. The Opal engine, has quite a kick for a 4 cylinder! The interior is spacious and provides a wide view of the road, with plenty of leg room. For it's class of car, this is an excellent ride.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car

by Tall car guy from on Fri Jul 24 2009

I bought this car at a collision center, it got in a right side by the front impact. The people before drove the car in; the guys their did a excellent job rebuilding the car they do a great job working on cars. Even though it was in a wreck it works very very well. The only thing i have with this car is i am 6 foot 3 and it is hard for me getting in and pressing the brake i have to put my leg sides to do. The car handles great the exterior style is a cool sporty car, interior is nice but my car doesnt have cruise control or a keyless entry. The engine in the car sounds fantastic for its sizes.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

pretty nice car

by biff from bel air, md on Mon Jul 20 2009

Bought '04 model 36,000 miles in early 2009. Have put about 10k miles on it in 4 months. A bit sportier looking than the Cavalier, getting around 31 combined mpg. The 4 cylinder is surprisingly peppy when passing. Appears to be built well. No problems to report.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sunfire

by Pontiac Owner from New Canton, IL on Sat Feb 22 2014

Although some people don't like the Sunfire, my experience was really good, I bought it used at 48,000 miles and the car lasted to over 200,000 miles. When the car was young it looked great ,had get up and go, and got great gas mileage. The car served me well.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Perfect Sporty Economy Car Ever

by boogians from Salisbury, Missouri on Thu Apr 28 2011

Love the overall style, with the exception of the interior placement of cup holders, which tend to interfere with ac/heater controls. The sporty front end design looks tough yet classy. Reliable 2.0 engine has quick response while maintaining 31+ mpg. Back seat area will comfortably seat 2, but with it's low inlayed design, entering and exiting can be difficult, especially for older persons. With a few design upgrades it would be the perfect package. Hope Pontiac continues to manufacture the Sunfire.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable like others I have owned.

by lv sprt kr from Modesto,ca. on Sun Nov 07 2010

This car has a very nice body style,comfortable sitting behind the wheel,and good factory paint job.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2003 Pontiac Sunfire- First Car

by Musicnerd from Gower, MO on Thu Oct 24 2013

This is a very good car, I've had mine for a month and a half and it runs great and gets exceptional gas mileage. The exterior of the car is sleek and nice looking but the interior isn't the most attractive. The car drives smooth and the seats are comfortable to sit in not to look at. I would recommend this car to a friend.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by stylist from ny on Sat Aug 09 2008

I got the car used it's a '05 but only 13k miles on it!!!and got a really good deal on it. it's fully loaded. so far I love it, drives and handels great, it has great pick up, nice features ( radio/mp3), overall its a great car for me

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car yet

by Richoll from Plainview tx on Fri Jul 07 2017

This car has been turned to a boat a few times dew to flooding and a few other things now has 153000 miles still going strong

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great value

by kris from Phoenix Arizona on Mon Jul 24 2006

I like the stye compared to the cavalier and for the price it is a great car. I have had no problems with mine since new.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2