2008 Torrent

Consumer Reviews

2008 Pontiac Torrent

$2,936 - $9,844  MSRP Range
2008 Pontiac Torrent

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

27 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2008 Pontiac Torrent?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

80,000 miles or flawless reliablity

by SD Family from Yankton, SD on March 6, 2011

We just traded our 2008 Pontiac Torrent with a little over 80,000 miles on it. During the 3 years that we owned it has provided my family with perfect reliablity with only regular maintance and new tires required. Only mechanical complaints I had was the turing radius was too large and the fuel tank could have used about 2 more gallons. While fuel economy on the highway was ussualy the EPA rated 24 or better the range always seemed a few miles short. I have always found the Torrent to be an great vehicle and would recomend it to anyone looking for an SUV with respectable fuel milage and great AWD surefootedness.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love my torrent

by SUV Really? from Kansas City Mo. on June 13, 2015

Did not want another pickup but needed more towing than a sedan offers. Looked at many suvs and kept coming back to the gxp torrent. It handles good and has great power. Much more fun to drive than a pickup yet has lots of room to haul things. The MPGS is better than I thought. I get low 20s in the city and up to 28 on the hwy. Very happy so far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Missouri man from Kansas City on September 8, 2008

I love my Torrent. Geting 22.6 mpg overall, up to 26 mpg on the highway. It is very quiet, comfy ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Be specific with the year and type

by Teencar from New Lenox , il on May 27, 2017

Some are more prone to issues. Make sure you watch the year and trim. We have a 2008 and not the highest trim upgraded version. Google the car and " common issues" and most are listed, by year and type . If can avoid any 2006. Read you'll learn .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a quick note

by milani from philly on September 16, 2013

Just a quick note to thank you for the excellent service that you provided me :)))))))))))))))))))))

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

euns excelent

by ken from peoria az on August 24, 2018

best vehicle I ever owned, seems like it will run forever , easy to transport all the kids friends , great gas mileage , ice cold a/c

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Torrent 3.4 22mpg average

by Christine LOL the lights are bright from Las Vegas on May 21, 2008

Stable overall, refined interior, several options and setting are available in the DIC functions to accomodate any driver. Overall the mpg is decent considering that it is not a hybrid. SUV is very solid and appears to be identical to X-3 and Lexus. Good Pontiac great transition car while we all wait for the Hybids to be optimized.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the car for the most part.

by GM SUV/car loyalist. from Napoleon, OH on July 15, 2008

I really like the way my Torrent handles. The gas milage is very good, I've gotten 26-28 mpg on the highway. My only problems with this car has been the alarms and bells. They do not always work and involves the stereo also. The mechanic is having difficulty diagnosing the cause for this.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by Binky from Syracuse, NY on February 25, 2009

Bought it brand new. Got a great deal. I love the styling. Has pleanty of room to carry things. Split rear seats come in very handy. I get 26 MPG on the highway and 18 - 20 MPG in the city. Front wheel does well in the snow, but I would recommend getting all wheel drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good car had done me good!!

by Sarah from Mechanicsville, va on March 14, 2017

I have had my 2008 Pontiac Torrent for five years now and just paying it off it has done me good the whole time I've had it never had any major problems only thing I've had to do is normal wear and tear maintenance such as brakes,oil changes, windshield replacement,wipers, the basics,but never had any major issues with it I would recommend this truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Pontiac Torrent


Decent fuel economy probably is the main reason that crossover utility vehicles such as the compact Pontiac Torrent are being snapped up by consumers, just as sales of traditional truck-based sport utilities decline.

The Torrent is among the best of the current crop of compacts, but because it comes only with V-6 engines, its EPA ratings are not quite as good as those of some competitors that offer a four-cylinder engine.

There is a choice of V-6 engines, however, and they give the consumer a choice between average and impressive power.

The base model, with a starting price just under $24,000 (including freight), comes with a 3.4-liter V-6 rated at 185 horsepower and 210 foot-pounds of torque.

New for... Read More