2008 Torrent

Consumer Reviews

2008 Pontiac Torrent

$2,368 - $10,144  MSRP Range
2008 Pontiac Torrent

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

28 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Pontiac Torrent?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

80,000 miles or flawless reliablity

by SD Family from Yankton, SD on Sun Mar 06 2011

We just traded our 2008 Pontiac Torrent with a little over 80,000 miles on it. During the 3 years that we owned it has provided my family with perfect reliablity with only regular maintance and new tires required. Only mechanical complaints I had was the turing radius was too large and the fuel tank could have used about 2 more gallons. While fuel economy on the highway was ussualy the EPA rated 24 or better the range always seemed a few miles short. I have always found the Torrent to be an great vehicle and would recomend it to anyone looking for an SUV with respectable fuel milage and great AWD surefootedness.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love my torrent

by SUV Really? from Kansas City Mo. on Sat Jun 13 2015

Did not want another pickup but needed more towing than a sedan offers. Looked at many suvs and kept coming back to the gxp torrent. It handles good and has great power. Much more fun to drive than a pickup yet has lots of room to haul things. The MPGS is better than I thought. I get low 20s in the city and up to 28 on the hwy. Very happy so far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Be specific with the year and type

by Teencar from New Lenox , il on Sat May 27 2017

Some are more prone to issues. Make sure you watch the year and trim. We have a 2008 and not the highest trim upgraded version. Google the car and " common issues" and most are listed, by year and type . If can avoid any 2006. Read you'll learn .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Missouri man from Kansas City on Mon Sep 08 2008

I love my Torrent. Geting 22.6 mpg overall, up to 26 mpg on the highway. It is very quiet, comfy ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

euns excelent

by ken from peoria az on Fri Aug 24 2018

best vehicle I ever owned, seems like it will run forever , easy to transport all the kids friends , great gas mileage , ice cold a/c

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a quick note

by milani from philly on Mon Sep 16 2013

Just a quick note to thank you for the excellent service that you provided me :)))))))))))))))))))))

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this vehicle

by Dawn G from Long Island NY on Tue May 15 2018

Pontiac's are among my favorite vehicles. They have always been reliable and given me bang for my buck. This SUV is special. One of the roomiest in the class, packed full of features and a smooth ride. It is a lot of fun to drive and I feel secure knowing I have a vehicle with great safety ratings. I hope to have this for years to come!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

one of the best i owned. leave it to GM

by bike guy on Wed Jul 18 2018

from day one never had a problem with this car. decent gas mileage, decent performance and handling. Too bad GM got rid of the brand.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Red Pontiac Torrent

by TGSandy from Fort Lupton Co on Tue Apr 24 2018

We were looking for a small or intermediat sized SUV. Joel went out of his way to us get a car that we both like.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2008 Torrent

by Italia617 from Boston, MA on Wed Jul 19 2017

I loved this car. I may have beat on it too much by loading furniture, building and other supplies, but I've had it with out any major issues since it hatched onto the dealer's lot.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Pontiac Torrent


Decent fuel economy probably is the main reason that crossover utility vehicles such as the compact Pontiac Torrent are being snapped up by consumers, just as sales of traditional truck-based sport utilities decline.

The Torrent is among the best of the current crop of compacts, but because it comes only with V-6 engines, its EPA ratings are not quite as good as those of some competitors that offer a four-cylinder engine.

There is a choice of V-6 engines, however, and they give the consumer a choice between average and impressive power.

The base model, with a starting price just under $24,000 (including freight), comes with a 3.4-liter V-6 rated at 185 horsepower and 210 foot-pounds of torque.

New for... Read More