2008 Torrent

Consumer Reviews
2008 Pontiac Torrent

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

26 Reviews
2008 Pontiac Torrent
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

80,000 miles or flawless reliablity

by SD Family from Yankton, SD on March 6, 2011

We just traded our 2008 Pontiac Torrent with a little over 80,000 miles on it. During the 3 years that we owned it has provided my family with perfect reliablity with only regular maintance and new tires required. Only mechanical complaints I had was the turing radius was too large and the fuel tank could have used about 2 more gallons. While fuel economy on the highway was ussualy the EPA rated 24 or better the range always seemed a few miles short. I have always found the Torrent to be an great vehicle and would recomend it to anyone looking for an SUV with respectable fuel milage and great AWD surefootedness.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love my torrent

by SUV Really? from Kansas City Mo. on June 13, 2015

Did not want another pickup but needed more towing than a sedan offers. Looked at many suvs and kept coming back to the gxp torrent. It handles good and has great power. Much more fun to drive than a pickup yet has lots of room to haul things. The MPGS is better than I thought. I get low 20s in the city and up to 28 on the hwy. Very happy so far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Missouri man from Kansas City on September 8, 2008

I love my Torrent. Geting 22.6 mpg overall, up to 26 mpg on the highway. It is very quiet, comfy ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Be specific with the year and type

by Teencar from New Lenox , il on May 27, 2017

Some are more prone to issues. Make sure you watch the year and trim. We have a 2008 and not the highest trim upgraded version. Google the car and " common issues" and most are listed, by year and type . If can avoid any 2006. Read you'll learn .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a quick note

by milani from philly on September 16, 2013

Just a quick note to thank you for the excellent service that you provided me :)))))))))))))))))))))

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Torrent 3.4 22mpg average

by Christine LOL the lights are bright from Las Vegas on May 21, 2008

Stable overall, refined interior, several options and setting are available in the DIC functions to accomodate any driver. Overall the mpg is decent considering that it is not a hybrid. SUV is very solid and appears to be identical to X-3 and Lexus. Good Pontiac great transition car while we all wait for the Hybids to be optimized.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the car for the most part.

by GM SUV/car loyalist. from Napoleon, OH on July 15, 2008

I really like the way my Torrent handles. The gas milage is very good, I've gotten 26-28 mpg on the highway. My only problems with this car has been the alarms and bells. They do not always work and involves the stereo also. The mechanic is having difficulty diagnosing the cause for this.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by Binky from Syracuse, NY on February 25, 2009

Bought it brand new. Got a great deal. I love the styling. Has pleanty of room to carry things. Split rear seats come in very handy. I get 26 MPG on the highway and 18 - 20 MPG in the city. Front wheel does well in the snow, but I would recommend getting all wheel drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good car had done me good!!

by Sarah from Mechanicsville, va on March 14, 2017

I have had my 2008 Pontiac Torrent for five years now and just paying it off it has done me good the whole time I've had it never had any major problems only thing I've had to do is normal wear and tear maintenance such as brakes,oil changes, windshield replacement,wipers, the basics,but never had any major issues with it I would recommend this truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Torrent not a Equinox 2008

by Qui, Qui from Mission BC Canada on January 8, 2009

At the time we were just going to to buy a good used SUV but it turned out this vehicle wasn't much more in payments. It is easy to drive,parellal park,has good pick up,and so far its been very reliable. The exterior design is very appealing,and has kept up with even the high end SUV's. The carrying space is an inch too narrow for eg. a buffet but big enough for my paintings. The slant roof in the back has also proved to be a problem. The park brake handle and the storage armrest are too close even for my small hands. As with most cars,there isn't a space alloted to put my purse. My first new car, so I like it and feel like I got a good deal.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2008 Pontiac Torrent