2017 718 Cayman

Consumer Reviews
2017 Porsche 718 Cayman

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

13 Reviews
2017 Porsche 718 Cayman
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Pricey but impeccably good

by BrandonR on September 18, 2017

The Cayman has inarguably evolved from the poor man's 911 to the smart man's 911. I have driven all generations of the Cayman and although the 718 has a new flat-4 and enthusiasts are crying about Porsche dropping the naturally aspirated 6, you'll be hard-pressed to find any normal person who has driven both vehicles to prefer the old Cayman over the 718. Interior design and material is outstandingly better and I can't think of a vehicle in this price range with better driving dynamics or engineering perfection. I am confident that the standard 718 is all you need and a $15k price jump can't justify the couple hundredths of a second you shave off by upgrading to the 'S' model. Change the color of your seatbelt or the material of the air vents...the options are endless...but so is the price. The biggest dilemma for me would be deciding between the absolutely perfect 6 speed or the endlessly satisfying PDK. Sure for the same price you could probably own a plastic Corvette or a raw Alfa 4c...but you'd be throwing your money away in depreciation in one and medical bills for back surgery in the other. Save yourself the grief and buy a 718.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

718 Cayman -- Base w/ Sport Chrono. Love this Car!

by TZ from Chicago, IL on April 22, 2017

Bought my 718 Cayman in early 2017; base version with PDK and Sport Chrono package. The car has seriously surpassed my expectations. Handling and performance is exceptional, interior/exterior styling is beautiful, and exhaust note is something I could listen to all day long (especially in Sport mode)... I rarely use the radio because I love just listening to the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exhilirating

by Legacy07 from East Islip on September 5, 2017

The Cayman S is everything it's cracked up to be. Extremely quick and handles the road better then anything I've ever owned. Having a blast driving it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

718 cayman s Miami Blue

by Miami Blue Cayman s 718 from Indio Ca on July 3, 2017

When you decide to buy a sports car look at the Cayman s. the handling is better than a 911 and $40000 less. Gas mileage is unbelievable a corvette 16/25 a Cayman s 25/32 and I drive this car every day. The Cayman s is 20 horsepower less than the 911 but is 1559 pounds less. It is much faster and has better cornering. This car is just fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing performance and value

by VeloD from Riverton, UT on March 19, 2017

The performance of this car for the price adds up to a great value. It's genuinely fast in a straight line and the handling is better than anything I've driven. I love the looks of the car both inside and out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most capable 4-cylinder car I've ever driven

by Big D Sports Car Guy from Denver Colorado on September 11, 2017

One of the great things about the Porsche 718 Cayman. Is the ability that it has to produce such power in only a limited amount of cylinders. The vehicle with its mid engine layout. Rivals that of others in its class. Even though the vehicle lost two cylinders from its previous generation. In the absolute sonorous sound that it used to produce in its V6 counterpart from last-gen. It makes up for in suspension handling and overall technology. This vehicle had a 16 second faster time then it's last-gen on the Nurburgring. You will be doing yourself a favor driving this vehicle one the great gas mileage. The also the amazing driving Dynamics. I am currently in process to sell my vehicle in order to purchase this. Never what I thought that I will be selling my four door coupe sedan in order to purchase this vehicle. This is now officially my dream car and I will have it before the year is out.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Performance above 60 mph is phenomenal!

by Pats Fan from Boston, MA on March 19, 2018

This car handles and performs like no car I've ever owned. Everything about it is incredibly terrific. At speed, its ability to accelerate and pass is almost too good to be true. Additionally, the 718 PDK Cayman gets excellent mileage in the mid to upper twenties. It is so much fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Porsche Happiness

by Porsche,( Burma) from Rochester,Mi. on January 13, 2018

I truly enjoy this vehicle The handling and the design flow are a work of art.I look forward to years of pleasure, and adventures with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

718 cayman s Miami Blue

by Miami Blue Cayman s 718 from Indio Ca on July 27, 2017

The Cayman s is a great performer due to being mid engine. Great gas mileage, cornering beats a vette, breaking and handling is magnificent.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most fun to drive

by Need for speed from Los Angeles, CA on June 26, 2017

High performance, beautiful style & most fun to drive, catch me if you can! Its perfect if you don't have any baggage, its for driving not bringing anything with you. It's fun to see peoples reaction when you arrive in high performance style

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2017 Porsche 718 Cayman