1999 Boxster

Consumer Reviews
1999 Porsche Boxster

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

31 Reviews
4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

No regrets

by Bo from Myrtle Beach, SC on June 13, 2010

I have owned sports cars most of my adult life. The Boxster far surpasses the overall enjoyment of the British models I loved to drive. The handling is unmatched. The performance is spirited. The design beautiful. Heads turn whenever you pass a car enthusiast. The wife many times has asked for an evening cruise. (never happened with my other sports cars) At the office the Boxster is proof of my mid-life crisis. If I ever have any mechanical problems it will be expensive but a lot less trouble than a women on the side.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Value For The $

by Easy Rider from Milwaukee, WI on August 19, 2009

I purchase my Boxster used a few months ago and have not been disapointed. It handles great, is nicely appointed and it is a head turner. I had driven other cars in the two seat convertible class and when I drove the Boxster I was sold. The car is at it's best when the top is down. What a great way to travel!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Unexpected pleasure

by Bison-Trader from Las Vegas, on March 18, 2016

I have owned 4 Corvettes, 2 Mercedes sport coupes, and a couple of Japanese sports cars. Bought the Boxster with 84000 miles, and it now has 113000. It is the best handling car I have owned. The only caveat is the repair cost can be hefty. If you buy one drive it don't let it set in the garage. Driving it is very enjoyable and it will not let you down.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great car

by D from Fort Lauderdale Fl on April 2, 2009

Boxsters are just about the best handling cars on the road today, they stick to the road like glue. The quickness around turns is awesome.Top speed isnt to bad either at around 170. Driving this vehicle with the top down is a real head-turner, especially at the beach,everyone loves this car. Tire wear is something porsche owners just put up with,and its worth it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value going for a sports car..

by C58 from western ny on June 30, 2016

I bought a 1999 Porsche Boxster w/ 85K on it. The car is beautiful. Runs like a dream. The shifting is flawless. The motor sound great. Has kind of pitch through acceleration that you would expect from a very high end sports car. The horizontal 6 does not disappoint. Gas mileage is good. Down side, have to run 93 octane. Wish I had done this sooner..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Performs on the road, Handling is superior

by kenpasha from PAC nw on April 22, 2018

I would recommend the car for Porsche fans who for the moment may not have the budget for a 911. The mid-engine design ensures great handling, fuel economy is not bad, and long-distance touring can be done (as long as you don't have too much luggage!). The interior is the same as all 911s of the same time-period. A fun ride.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Biggest bang for the buck!

by Boxster Bro 86 on August 23, 2017

I own a 1999 manual Boxster 986. The only really costly or difficult items to replace is the soft top and the coolant resivour tank. Both common failures on these older models. The notorious IMS bearing failure is less common on 1997-1999 models, mine has 99,000 miles and is still going strong. Most parts range from cheap-moderate in price. Doing your own maintainance is vital for keeping it's value. Porsche dealers do good work but put their kids through college with the bill so things like oil changes etc can easily be handled at home. The car's are long lasting and absulutely a blast to drive in any configuration. The new 718 although nicer in interior and techniquely faster has a turbo 4 instead and misses something the original H6 has.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best road and car match ever!

by Dragon Slayer from Nashville TN on May 23, 2018

Love to drive a well designed car on an exciting road? Ever thought about driving a small but powerful Porsche Boxster convertible around the infamous 'Tail of the Dragon' circuit in Tennessee/North Carolina? Think about it, 318 lightly banked curves in 11 miles, all in the Great Smoky Mountains region! Pick the right day and you will be joined by either by a multitude of similarly inspired drivers or have the whole route pretty much to yourself. The Boxster's neutral weight distribution makes the curves a 'piece of cake' and there is enough horsepower available in the 2.5L, six cylinder engine to easily handle the nearly 2000 feet of elevation change on this famous route! Ultimate fun machine for this kind of road!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1999 boxster

by jackman from medford nj on August 4, 2010

I bought my 1999 boxster new. Great fun after 11 years. Always garaged. I wish I could have afforded a 911, but I think for 1999 the boxster was better looking than a 1999 911. Reliability is very good. in all my 11 years I had to replace ignition switch, some kind of air mass sensor, tires and add rear speakers. The sound system was terrible. I added a short-shift linkage, BIG help. I would guess I spent around $4,000.00 in all my 11 years of ownership repairing, changing oil,tires, plugs, coils, etc. 43,000 mi. so far.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great fun

by Boxter fun from Dallas, TX on November 3, 2010

I got mine 1999 (auto) from the salvage yard with 75K miles and small damage to the front. Fixed it myself and now own a piece of automotive excitement. Note to owners: this car is really easy to work on. Basic maintenance can be done by anyone that can turn a wrench. The car drives like a dream. It takes few days of driving to really appreciate this thing. Dealer test drive does not do it justice. This is my secondary car but it is comfy enough to use as a primary car (I owned Miata for years which is a different story). 2 seat convertibles are blast to drive but with Boxter you get refinement and sporty drive. My automatic works great. Don't be afraid of it. Manuals are great but for daily drives my auto works perfectly. What a car!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4