2008 Cayenne

Consumer Reviews

2008 Porsche Cayenne

$7,345 - $23,113  MSRP Range
2008 Porsche Cayenne

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

29 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Porsche Cayenne?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My next new Automobile !

by Thor from Virginia on Sat Nov 10 2007

I own a 2006 Cayenne Turbo and star wise, I would rate it the same. But, when I drove the 2008 Cayenne Turbo I was very impressed with the improvements (power, lack of lag, suspension and that Sport Button). I drove a Cayenne S extensively for two days and was really impressed with the improvement to the S model for all of the same reasons as the Turbo. The new GTS is really sharp and the new colors are very nice additions. Great automobiles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CAYENNE TURBO IS AMAZING

by TURBO08 from Miami, FL on Thu Apr 17 2014

The Cayenne Turbo is an amazing vehicle. Drives like a dream, crazy fast, stable, reliable, fun and looks awesome. Have only changed oil, tires and breaks. Solid vehicle. Worth every penny.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Cayenne

by Cayenne Dude from on Tue Oct 11 2011

I looked at all the Cayenne's in the greater Houston area, and I ended up buying the car sight-unseen from an internet-only dealer in Florida. I am really happy with the vehicle, primarily since you can get so many optional features in a used luxury vehicle without really paying for them. I love the nav system (although the user interface is a bit clunky), the oversized wheels, roof rack, wood steering wheel, Bose Audio system and of course the proximity alarms which keep me from hitting anything while parking. In retrospect, I probably should have gotten the S model, but the base model is plenty fast. Really happy with my purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A amazing blend of comfort and performance

by MrMatthewB from Ft Lauderdale Florida on Sat Nov 18 2017

After I test drove my Porsche Cayenne I simply fell in love with all the well thought out interior design and comfort. The drive provided a sports car suv that handled as good as it looked with a elegant smooth all around great Prestigous feel with head turning looks . I totally recommend anyone who is in the market for a affordable sport suv to seek out this vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun and reliable car I have ever owned!

by kevin90210 from Beverly Hills, CA on Mon Apr 09 2018

In a nutshell, this car ROCKS! Its fast, the handling is simply beyond amazing! The only drawback is that it is a V8 and it does require 91 fuel... and it loves to eat fuel. Aside from that... tires are costly... no major issues ever. Love it. The interior electronics does look a bit aged and out dated. The ride is a bit stiff... since Porsche after all is a high performance sports car co... not a luxury car company :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sports Car in and SUV

by Double Porsche from Denver on Tue Jun 19 2012

This is now my third Cayenne, and actually own two right now. It's the complete balance that I love about the Cayenne. If you are searching for a sports car, but really need the practicality of an SUV it doesn't get much better than a Porsche Cayenne. From a sport perspective, the Cayenne's handle like a sports car (ever seen an SUV drift?!?!), brakes are incredible and the feel from the extra thick steering wheel is solid and predictable. The sound from the exhaust is intoxicating, and the acceleration will make you smile. From an SUV perspective the Cayenne is very capable, but you may need to change tires as the sporty Cayenne's come with very wide tires (like a performance sports car), and thus are horrible in snow/ice. However, a simple change to less wide all seasons or even snows and the Cayenne turns into a winter weather beast. Cayenne's can even come with a factory tow, so it's no stranger to pulling. The rear seats are comfortable, and it actually as more room than an ML (which we had for 1 year and traded to get back into the Cayenne). Styling is a matter of opinion, but I feel the Cayenne just looks fast. It maintains the sports car look/feel with a sleek hood, slanted rear window, and wide rear quarter panels (this SUV has "hips"). Overall, for me it's the swiss army knife of SUV's, actually having the Sport, which many Suv's overlook. One of the only vehicles that I can have spirited drive on my way to Home Depot, to then load it up and take bags of mulch, lumber, etc home.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Used 2008 Cayenne S 90k

by JAT from Narragansett RI on Fri Oct 28 2016

Bought this car about a month ago. Car runs and looks new. Handles like a dream, very fast. Mixed highway and city milage about 17mpg. Prices on the used market very reasonable if you shop around. Haven't had to fix anything yet, but I undestand repairs are very expensive. Oil change, 9 quarts and filter about $150.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A luxurious 4x4

by 4x4 enthusiast from Salt Lake City, Utah on Sat Jul 28 2007

What I like about this car is the performance, size, off-road handling, and features. What I don't like about this car is it's seriously expensive, the looks could be bolder, and the car could be a ittle bigger actually. But overall it's great car to drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great! You forget you are driving a SUV.

by Cayenne V6 from Long Island NY on Tue Sep 02 2008

Pure Porsche. Sports car DNA in the body of a SUV....this is a Geat value & you get great performance for the price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

no

by no from on Tue Aug 23 2011

Great car...unbelievable torque ....good power..excellent handling....beautiful interior...rock solid build

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Porsche Cayenne


The sports-car SUV enters its second generation this month. It's the 2008 Porsche Cayenne, the vehicle that gives consumers the most fun you can have driving a family vehicle.

Just the fact that the little German sports-car maker would even have considered creating a sport utility vehicle is surprising. But the company did just that with the launch of the first generation of the Cayenne for 2003.

And as Porsche vehicles go, it has been quite successful. In fact, more than 150,000 of them have been sold since production began in the Leipzig, Germany, factory in 2002 - 60,000 of those in North America alone. That makes the Cayenne the best-selling Porsche model, allowing the company to set sales records... Read More