2016 Cayenne

Consumer Reviews

2016 Porsche Cayenne

$31,463 - $69,579  MSRP Range
2016 Porsche Cayenne

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

20 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Porsche Cayenne?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Swiss Army Knife of SUV's

by Second Porsche Cayenne from Dallas, Texas on Sun Mar 22 2015

I drove every new 2015 SUV in the market and this vehicle does it all - very well. It drives like a smooth car, sits up high, has a flawless interior, is all wheel drive, but gets very good gas mileage. ( I average around 20 MPG around town and 23 MPG on the highway). It sits four comfortably, is quiet, and handles like no other SUV out in the market. Could not have been happier with my purchase. I traded in a 2008 Cayenne S, and a 2009, 911S, and went down to one vehicle. This car is as perfect as one can get - pricey, yes, but you definitely get one of the best, most solid driving and handling vehicles out on the market today!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Four Door 911

by SUV Nate from Grand Prairie, TX on Fri Sep 30 2016

Since I was not able to lease a Caymen for 3 years and my VW dealer wrecked my T_Rex, I decided to kill two birds with one stone. The Cayenne solved both problems. I did not get the air suspension as I had on the T-Rex but the open road ride is good. A little bumpy at low speeds but ok. The base engine rev.s good and the gearing is great. The interior is awesome. Porsche did a great job and did not use plastic. Fit and finish both inside and out is great... Yes, you know the handling would be one of the best in the market for an SUV. Audio, base 19" tires and truck space is great. Neat how the rear seat can move forward as well as sectional. Love my 4-door Porsche.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Porsche Cayenne is one of the best SUVS!

by PorscheEnthusiast187 from Westborough, MA on Tue Aug 29 2017

Perfect balance of comfort and performance. This SUV is reliable, fun to drive, and just the right size. The timeless design of the exterior and interior truly make the Cayenne one of the best SUVs on the market today. With multiple trim levels you can go with a base model up to the Turbo S so this model really caters to many drivers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect combination of performance and utility

by Jack B from Wakefield RI on Sat May 26 2018

Perfect combination of performance and utility. Plenty of room inside for four big guys, Best handling, and acceleration of any vehicle I?ve owned. No comparison to BMW, I Would never purchase a different brand of vehicle again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding performance and comfort

by Jon from Albany NY on Tue Jul 10 2018

Great driving car, solid and quiet. Can?t even tell it?s a diesel. Tremendous range of 700+ miles per tank and very comfortable seats make you think you could go that distance non stop. Excellent fit and finish. Nicest car I?ve ever owned. Highly recommended if you travel long distance or need to haul some gear.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome vehicle!

by PorscheOwner on Wed Apr 18 2018

Has the feel of a sports car with enough room to accommodate my kids. I purchased the Cayenne with the diesel engine, the get up and go is unreal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty practical strong spacious:

by Radman from Eau Claire, Wisconsin on Fri Sep 28 2018

This car gets consistently 33 mpg diesel mileage at 70 mph. Good exceleration. Quiet and comfortable. I have the Pasm air suspension and it lowers for easier entrance and exit. This has the 18 way sport seats which have high sides making exiting more difficult. I find the 14 way seats more comfortable. This is my 3rd diesel Porsche Cayenne. I would keep buying the same one. These are expensive with the desired accessories.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best car I have ever had the pleasure to ride.

by LOU from Honolulu, Hawaii on Thu Aug 17 2017

The Porsche Cayenne is one the most stylish and comfortable cars and the design is out of this world. I wish that they can come out with a new style and design that will fit a king. But overall it is just perfect the way it is. Lou (ALOHA)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nancy's new car

by izzy from va beach,va on Mon Oct 05 2015

replaces bmw 6m. Had a cayenne s prior and had to come back!!!Most fun car to drive i have ever owned including the 911 covered up in the garage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sports car in SUV body

by Non-Turbo Fan from Hartford CT on Sat Jul 08 2017

Our Cayenne (300HP base) with the sport chrono, sport exhaust and fully adjustable air ride package on Turbo II wheels feels and drives as well as the higher HP models, minus a couple seconds from 0-60, which you will never notice or really "need." This car, in sports plus mode, feels faster than and is much more fun to drive than all our other cars, including some true sports cars, yet its an AWD SUV with room for four plus some gear! Family loves riding in it. Porsche is selling more of these than any other models for a reason! Issues with the first generations seem to have been worked out. Reliability is good, but its still relatively new. Warranty is 5/50K. Consumer/auto journals have this model as the #1 Luxury SUV tied only with Lexus. Trust me, the Lexus is zero fun to drive and is no comparison to the Cayenne. The BMW X5 is also of no comparison, unless you splurge and go up to the M. Our Cayenne is hands down the funnest car or SUV to drive that we've ever owned. Way to go Porsche! My only complaint is that we heard that naturally aspirated Cayennes are no longer being made after 2017, since Porsche is going with Turbos and smaller engines in all their cars. Nothing personal against Turbos, I've owned a few, but I much prefer a larger naturally aspirated engine over a smaller one with a Turbo any day, even if the latter is technically more efficient and more powerful (but only in full boost).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2016 Porsche Cayenne

Editor's note: This review was written in July 2015 about the 2015 Porsche Cayenne. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2016, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

On a winding road or racetrack, the 2015 Porsche Cayenne will go toe-to-toe with a lot of performance cars, but its annoyances as an SUV will test just how much you care about that.

Heavily revised for 2015, the five-seat SUV comes in twin-turbo V-6 (Cayenne S) and twin-turbo V-8 (Cayenne Turbo) drivetrains; we drove the latter. There's also a turbo-diesel V-6 in the Cayenne Diesel, plus a Cayenne S E-Hybrid that pairs a supercharged V-6 with an electric motor... Read More