2009 Cayman

Consumer Reviews

2009 Porsche Cayman

$15,901 - $46,681  MSRP Range
2009 Porsche Cayman

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Porsche Cayman?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A Car For One Purpose

by DRAT63 from Johnson City, TN on Tue Mar 27 2012

If you want a car that you can drive in a sporty fashion and get some time on the track, this is one of the best for the price. The Cayman S is worth the extra price compared to the Cayman if pulling G forces and "riding on rails" is what you desire while getting over 20 mpg. This is a car for a singular purpose and I love it!!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the corners......and date night!

by Shlow Moe from Denver co on Mon Aug 07 2017

As everyone that knows about Caymans says, the car is so perfectly balanced that in the corners the car drives better than most 911's. What is surprising tho is that during everyday driving, the cars headroom and ease of getting in and out really make you appreciate the car. You expect the car to be fast, you expect the handling, and the comfort but the room for a 6'2 guy getting in and out everyday is really amazing. The car has also been very reliable and has not been in for much more than regular maintenance.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Porsche Cayman

by Lion of Flanders from Durham, NH on Tue Sep 06 2011

Wanna make commuting more enjoyable? The Porsche Cayman is an awesome sports car - fun to drive, good on gas and has eye popping style. Have you ever had someone drive up beside you to take a photo of your car - with a Cayman you will!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a machina

by Shady from TN on Tue Aug 19 2014

The 09 cayman is simply an incredible machine. I've had cars with almost twice the hp and Tq but the driving pleasure of the cayman is unparalleled. It's mid engine chassis balance is like few in the world along with light weight. The shifter is smooth and the exotic sound from the perf exhaust raises goose bumps. I hope to keep this gem forever and pass it on to my son or daughter one day!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Balance

by Ty,s Cayman from Cortlandt, NY on Fri Nov 08 2013

I traded in my 2011 Audi TT for this 2009 Cayman because I wanted to feel like I was actually driving a car as opposed to a car driving me. I have the base 265hp model and it is everything that my wife and I could ask for. Excellent build quality, outstanding handling but most importantly the numbness that I felt in my Audi is no longer present. Fuel milage isn't quite as good as the TT, but I don't care as the performance is on a different level. If your tired of numb sport coupes and long for something that can give you smiles on the road as well as the track look into a Cayman. You won't be disappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Well-Rounded, Everyday Sports Car

by DH912 from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Jul 18 2017

A surprisingly low-maintenance and convenient commuter car. Though obviously intended for more spirited driving, the suspension on the Cayman base is not as harsh as expected in daily, city driving. Having 2 trunks and a slim pass-through from the rear hatch has allowed me to transport multiple, albeit smaller, odd-shaped items. While the sleek shape is highly attractive and occasionally garners unwanted attention, the price point gives the owner some confidence to leave the car in a parking lot or on the street with little worry. On weekends, the car is highly capable for mountain roads and road trips with its precise steering and excellent brake feel. The Cayman S will give more power, but with a stiffer suspension that could make daily commutes tiring. Overall, the amount of fun, the convenience (considering it is a 2-seater), and its price point make this car an excellent value.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Cayman Awesome Except for Blown Engines

by Ol Smokey from North Carolina on Sat Dec 03 2011

I overextended and bought the dream car of my life. It would blow a large white plume of smoke on startup and the dealer claimed it was normal. However, if you google 'Cayman Engine Failure' you'll see that this is a common problem and many engines not only smoke but blow up. Don't take my word for it, do your research before you spend this much money on your dream car. Porsche will not support you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

16 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the finest Porsches ever made.

by Dixonoak from Oakland, CA on Tue Jul 31 2018

Motor Trend's Drivers Car of the Year for 2009. A safe, reliable, fast, superior handling car with room for a week's worth of luggage. Eye-catching curves in Macadamia metallic brown.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best entry level Porsche for the money

by Stan from New York, NY on Fri Sep 22 2017

Bought my 2009 Cayman used with about 70k on it. It a a base 2.9 engine, but it has plenty power to mach exelent chassi. Handling is very neutral with very nicely weighted steering feel, provided by hydraulic power streering. Stock shifter felt a little sloppy, probably because of the milage. I switched it to oem Porsche short shifter, now it feels great. Interior is comfortable with plenty of small storage. My only gripe about the interior is that center console is easily scratched and plastic is peeling on some of the interior surfaces. Seat are very comfortable and "frunk" and rear hatch provide plently luggage storage.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2009 Porsche Cayman


Feeling a little better about your 401(k) retirement account these days? Porsche hopes so. Luxury and performance vehicles are a tough sell during a recession, and the sooner well-heeled customers start spending money again, the happier Porsche dealers will be.

The company has invested some money in its potent mid-level sports car, the Cayman, which debuted in 2005 as a 2006 model. Four years into the model run, Porsche has freshened the 2009 Cayman with a mild restyling of the front and rear - headlights and taillights mostly - and has added power.

The base Cayman gets a larger, 2.9-liter six-cylinder engine, with 265 horsepower. And the uplevel Cayman S now has a 3.4-liter six-cylinder engine, with... Read More