2012 2500

Consumer Reviews

2012 RAM 2500

$14,852 - $47,304  MSRP Range
2012 RAM 2500

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

32 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 RAM 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2012 Ram 2500 st Crew Cub 8Ft bed

by olddude65 from Forney, Texas on Sat Jan 11 2014

I bought this truck to tow a travel trailer. The comfort and space inside is amazing. I could not have gotten more value with another brand. The performance of the 5.7 liter hemi is wonderful. I drove my 1998 ram 1500 for 15 years and 217000 miles and never had a major problem. I hope to get the same results with this truck. I am a very pleased with my purchase. Thank You cars.com

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

HEMI Power to Spare at 264,000

by Big Hemi from Georgetown,SC on Wed Dec 30 2015

This is my 5 Dodge/Ram truck since 1995 body style change. Ran the 1st 3 trucks to 100k and selling off my 2006 MegaCab 5.7 Hemi 4X4 w/264k after finding a 2012 2500 MegaCab 5.7 Hemi Laramie for a sweet price. The '06 has been a peach of a truck. The SLT package had the right set up for a working truck and comfort to make 200 mile drives go by fast. No major issues as far as repairs, just stay on top of oil changes ect. Even had a sheriff's deputy ask me why I was pulling a semi with a trailer with my truck on a 4 lane one day! Because he needed to get out of the intersection with his blown driveshaft. These trucks have Power to Spare.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ram 2500 6.7 l gas ,fuel efficient rocket

by BillRaces from Troy ny on Sun Jul 08 2018

I purchased the larger gas engine to tow occasionally. Then put a Leer cap on the 8 ft bed. 70 mph and 17 mpg. Flew across Kansas. This truck rocks!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable truck I've ever owned

by Drhogg1969 from Dickinson North dakota on Wed Aug 02 2017

This truck has lots of power and everything I need it to do ..... it has tons of power and plenty of leg room

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Toughest Pick up I've ever had

by JP from Chandler, OK on Wed May 03 2017

Great truck, will pull anything you want. Not as impressed with the 5.7 Hemi as I once was but it continues to do the job.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I ever owned.

by Love it from Chardon on Tue Jun 19 2018

I had a 2012 6.4L 2500 hemi, and I love the truck, comfort issues, but it is also a truck so not going be as comfortable as a Cadillac, but I drove it for work and had more than 90,000 miles on it and never had a issue. I really recommend this truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 Ram 2500 Limited 6.7

by Auto Enthusiast from Colorado on Thu May 30 2013

First big truck after driving and pulling our boat with SUV's. Bought the ultimate version, the Limited, and it has every bell and whistle including theatre for the kids. Interior is extremely comfortable and very high tech electronics. Exterior is ok, not sure how much one can do with a 3/4 ton truck. Presently have 8500 miles on the Cummins and mileage continues to improve, with an average of 16.3 as measured by the computer with 90% of that in stop and go traffic. It has an automatic. I'm averaging about 11.5 when towing a 6000# boat. Towing the boat is what initially got me to look at a truck as our SUV struggled mightily getting it over 10k' passes in Colorado. With the Cummins 2500, there are absolutely no issues, although with 800#'s of torque, there better not be. Love the exhaust brake when going downhill, absolutely wonderful. It's proving to be the perfect set-up for packing up the kids, loading the boat, and going wherever we want. Throw a movie on, let the kids use the wireless headset and go. Nice and quiet ride for my wife and I, and you don't even know the boats on the back. Nice and safe in town, the only drawback being it is a large vehicle as far as parking - although the excellent back up camera does help with that considerably - it just takes up alot of space. It's our first diesel, so was unsure but took the leap. So far, we are very glad we did.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck Ever

by Happy guy from Fairbanks Ak on Tue Jan 08 2013

I just bought one in Idaho (Dave Smith), and drove it back here to Alaska. I wanted to upgrade to a bigger truck I had a 2004 1500. I got the the Hemi and it is even more powerful than my old one. Almost zero maintence cost with these except the normal wear items belt/brake bads/etc. No lack of throttle response and the new tranny snaps right into place when needed. 15 mpg's from idaho to AK 2200 mi. I got the ST package and it is the nicest standard model rig Ive ever seen, I paid less for this one than I did my 2004 1500. It pays to buy in December.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Product

by Ram Owner from Sacramento, CA on Thu Jan 17 2013

This is my second Cummings Diesel Ram-I'm replacing a 1991 that it has become more difficult to find replacement parts. The 1991 was very reliable and I hope the new truck will be as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Got it right

by Truck Guy from Texas on Fri Jan 25 2013

Ram got it right on the 2012, good power, already getting great gas milage with only 10k miles and the interior is extremely quite!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4