2005 9-2X

Consumer Reviews

2005 Saab 9-2X

$1,623 - $9,583  MSRP Range
2005 Saab 9-2X

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

17 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Saab 9-2X?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great alternative to Subaru Impreza

by Saabaru 2.5i Driver from Northern New Jersey on Fri Mar 11 2011

I bought this car brand new in 2005. Back then I was looking at the Impreza, but Saab had employee pricing with tons of rebates so I couldn't go wrong. For the same price as the Subaru ended up getting the same car with: Leather, heated seat/mirrors/windshield, Xenon Headlights, Sunroof, all of which are things that were not even offered on the trim I was looking at. Now, to the reviews... Comfort: The seats are really firm. They provide plenty of lateral hip and back support, but they're not all that comfortable. You start to notice them quickly on long trips. The overall layout is very nice though. Performance: All wheel drive is great. 165hp is enough to get you around, nothing special. Gas mileage is pretty weak for a 4 cylinder, I average 26 mpg. Exterior Styling: I like it, especially for a wagon. Interior Styling: I LOVE the way the interior looks, absolutely LOVE it. The dash is real nice too, not the super cheap hard plastic you get these days with Mazda and Chevrolet. It's actually plush to the touch. The center bezel is plastic, but it flows nicely and looks like it belongs. The seats in the back are cramped, would not recommend for adults. Amazing how much stuff you can fit into a wagon, especially with the seats down. Value for the money: If you're looking for an Impreza, consider this instead, if you can find one for sale. Reliability: I'm currently at 90K miles. Had to replace a wheel bearing at 60K (common occurrence) and the valve cover seals at 80K (another common occurrence). Outside of that and regular maintenance, in 5.5 years the car never left me stranded and nothing else needed to be replaced. Overall Ratings: I would buy it again.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A stealth hot rod for Seniors.

by Larry Z from Cortlandt Manor, NY on Wed May 28 2008

The Saab Aero 92x is just the thing for senior citizens who want to recapture their youthful love affair with high performance automobiles yet not flaunt their second childhood in front of their neighbors. Encased in an attractive, upscale yet conservative, body lies the mechanicals of the firebreathing Subaru WRX. This implies wonderfully responsive AWD handling, breathtaking midrange acceleration, near felony range top speed, and good reliability. And when you park the car you go back to being a responsible member of society. The only giveaway is the turbo scoop on the hood. There are few downsides except the requirement for premium gas. This is the penalty for the adventure. Favorite Features: Good looks, very high build quality, excellent performance, unexcelled AWD handling, service at Subaru, Saab and GM dealers. Suggested Improvements: Could use a few practical accessories as stock items. These include driver's arm rest, better cupholders, cargo bay rubber mat, additional 12 v. outlet. All are featured on comparable Subaru models. Low end torque needs improvement to decrease initial acceleration turbo lag.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Linear is Fun to Drive, Reliable & Great on Gas

by Car Geek from Virginia on Wed Apr 11 2007

This is such a fun car to drive. I especially like having the All Wheel Drive to get me to the slopes! I have driven many subarus and although my 9-2X Linear is a rebadge job of the Impreza, it's no subaru (except in the reliability category). Although the Linear is a non-turbo it has a noticeably peppy engine (great for the commuter) and the suspension is way better than the WRX that my buddy drives. The WRX has a "buggy" kind of feeling, almost jeep-like. My stock 9-2X has a well-tuned suspension that softens the ride without compromising cornering and overall handling. The fuel economy that the Linear has over the WRX and Aero models makes the Linear an even more attractive model, especially since you HAVE TO USE PREMIUM FUEL IN THE TURBO MODELS...now almost $3.00 a gallon in Virginia! Ouch! I remember asking myself when I first bought the car, why didn't I just get the Aero or the WRX? When my friend with the WRX said he wished he had bought a Linear over his WRX, it was clear I made the right decision.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Utilitarian Go-Kart with Umph

by Middle aged enthusiast dude from AZ on Mon Nov 14 2011

I bought an Aero version with the 5MT with 55K mi and have had it for 4 months now. Car is totally stock with cold weather, moonroof, and 17 in wheels. The Aero handles like it is on rails and transmits excellent steering feel through the steering wheel. It is fine for everyday driving, but really excels in the twisties where it installs a perma-grin on my face. It is a fun car. It does have some punch, but only when the tach is over 3K and the turbo kicks in. This is my first experience with turbo-lag, and while it takes some getting used to, the learning curve is manageable. There is a noticeable kick when the turbo spins up and engages. I try to keep it up in RPMs generally, which has not led to any tickets yet, but the potential is there. The 5MT is good, but not great. Feel is positive, but not quite as crisp as a Mazda or Honda. I would love to have a 6th gear for freeway cruising. The interior is decent, but to be really nice I would have preferred to have the leather. Even then it is not luxury car level. It is very solid, functional and sporty. I do like the moonroof. The marriage of subaru guts and saab tuning and styling is pure fun. I highly recommend.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best AWD sedan value in USA

by zuke from Wisconsin on Wed Jan 29 2014

This car is a secret that will save you a forutne for a hig perfromance, gas saving AWD sedan. The car was a high priced sleeper that no one bought, and no one knows how great they are. the caris really a legacy, totally, completely. Warning- only buy models with the automatic transmission, 2.5L NON turbo engine. these cars will run 300,000 miles if you change the oil and anitfreeze regularly. Do not buy manual tranmission or turbo models, they are all beaten, unless you can buy one for dirt cheap and have the ability to replace the engine.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fun,little wagon

by nenerikan from orlando,fl on Wed Oct 23 2013

luv my saabaru,other them regular oil change and brake job is been very reliable i have the car or 2 year now and is been trouble free.mpgs are not all that,but them again is all wheel drive and it has a big 4 cilinder engine.and the best thing i love about the car is that is something different,not like the 3 billion civics and corollas out there, that bring a smile to my face.i have a linear worry about gas go for the linear, want a litte more fun go for the aero. but either way u can go wrong.awd a plus in the rain,great handling.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It's A Racecar

by JM94 from Germantown,MD on Sat Aug 19 2006

Had my 92x Aero for 14 months, drove it in everything from 105 degrees to snow, commuting and road trips. The 92x is the best handling vehicle I ever owned, especially in the rain. Turbolag is rough, it is very slow off the line, but from 30-75 in third gear, it is an F16! It's a very fun car to drive and on an open winding road, unbelievable. The problem with the 92x Aero is that for every day life, it can be draining. The clutch is heavy, it rides rough, it's small inside and can flat out beat you up. I took a 5 hour drive to Pittsburgh and was amazed at how well it did on the highway in terms of performance and mpg. Even at 65, there was plenty of power to blow by others. The downside: By the end of the trip, my back, neck and shoulders were killing me. Bottom line: Performance and handling are superior, if you commute in stop and go traffic, might not be the best car for you. Overall, I really enjoyed it, but needed something bigger and more practical. This could be the perfect weekend or second car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Saab 92X Aero

by Renn90 from PA on Mon May 07 2012

Essentially a rebadged Subaru WRX with an STI steering rack offering very strong performance in the Aero model and standard all wheel drive. Produced by Subaru in Japan. 92X includes limited body parts specific to the 92x including front fenders, hood, headlights and taillights, front grill and bumper cover, and rear bumper cover; as well as license plate area of rear hatch. Slightly better than the WRX due to additional options and STI steering.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A WAGON WITH A STYLE...

by COOL92X from ROCKVILLE on Mon Feb 18 2008

IT IS THE PERFECT COMBINATION OF A FAMILY AND SPORTS CAR. THE HANDLING IS SUPERB AND RELIABLE. THE ACCELERATION, THANKS TO THE TURBO IS LIKE A MOTORCYCLE.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

saab 92x

by alex from on Mon Jan 02 2012

great car, 4 wheel drive works great. Not too spacious at all, or comfortable on 2hr+ drives, but very dependable.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2005 Saab 9-2X


I admit I try to do it all. I'm a wife and a stay-at home mom who squeezes in a career as an automotive journalist and business owner between diaper changes and play dates. Like all moms out there, I have a full plate. I fantasize about escaping it all for a quiet weekend of R&R at a B&B. I can't have that as much as I'd like, so I have to take what I can get. This usually includes a few moments of motorized meditation while my two young daughters have drifted off in the car. I take a deep breath, turn on some relaxing music and enjoy being present.

Unfortunately, this isn't possible in the all-new 2005 Saab 9-2X Aero. The base model arrives with a five-speed manual transmission (automatic is available... Read More