2009 9-3

Consumer Reviews
2009 Saab 9-3

Change Vehicle
4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

17 Reviews
2009 Saab 9-3
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great European Value

by dmk from Chicago,IL on May 14, 2012

The Saabs are one of the best kept secrets. This is my 3rd in 8 years. They are a much better value than the BMW 3 series, C Class, or A4.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

better than my 2008 mercedes 300 sport

by car enthusiast from wantagh on December 20, 2009

2009 saab aero convertible.Tight, rattle free, no shake,quivers.Very quiet top up or down.Solid ride.Assembled with care,and it's a soft top.Isn't that what convertibles are all about? Great performance.280!! and safe too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR!

by 9-3 Be Free from Indiana on February 19, 2011

I have the Lynx yellow 9-3 convertible and really love it. It is plenty fun and incredibly practical. It handles well in the snow and ice. The top comes up and down quickly (20 seconds) with just the push of a button and no manual latching. The convertible works even when you are driving less than 20 mph. It gets good gas mileage on the freeway and decent in the city. Lastly if you crash you will live. It's wonderfully safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this 2009 Saab 9-3

by Bsquare from Rochester, NY on January 1, 2013

Had this Saab for 1 year and have loved it. Great performance from the 6-speed with much better gas mileage than I had expected. Near 30mpg for commuting and got 37+ mpg on a trip. Comfortable for short and long distance and thankfully have had no issues at all with the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Saab 93 Aero Convert

by N45Jhave from orlando, fl on February 2, 2012

Fun, fast, sporty and reliable. This comfortable and practical car is great! Never any problems, a real champ.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Different But Good

by alskare from Sacramento, CA on May 30, 2010

I bought this car (4 cylinder Aero) new in Sweden as an export care that I took to California. It handles really well and predictably, is smooth and quick, very stable at high speed, and i get 29-30 mpg on the freeway. For me it has enough of the new techno stuff without having too much, and is sufficiently fast despite the small displacement. It has also been reliable but for an episode where the "immobilizer" anti-theft mechanism was activated by a low battery. I've heard the new 4-wheel drive version is even more impressive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful, the short time I've had it

by Saab Diehard from North Central Kansas on December 20, 2012

The Sportwagon is a fun crossover for me, the owner of 3 Saab sedans over the years. The passenger compartment is neat and comfortable. Saabs are great little performers and, out on the highway, can make you feel like you're on the Autobahn. Responsiveness and "get-up-and-go" are the hallmarks of Saab. The 6-cylinder, all wheel drive gets slightly less MPG than my most recent sedan, but I don't mind. Most of my driving is within the confines of my small town, so MPG is less -- whatever the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Saab 9-3 Aero

by MK from Chicago, IL on October 29, 2008

I pounded Cars.com and looked for new and used Aero's and with GM Employee Pricing, I got a brand new one. I test drove Inifinti's, BMW's and Cadillacs. None had anything special to offer for all the extra money. The Aero is powerful and handles great. There may be more backseat room in the others, but outside of a few times a year, mostly kids are in the backseat. For the money, this car should be in your set when looking for fast sedans.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

GREAT AWD WAGON OPTION

by EJJAMS18 from Burlington VT on June 18, 2012

Auto Purchased: 2009 Saab 9-3 Sport-combi Aero Pros: Good Power, odd styling, nicely appointed, AWD, Decent MPG Con: Lack of upgrades/accessories, replacement parts are tough to source.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SAAB 9-3 XWD Born of Jet Engines.

by Carlos0822 from Albany, NY on April 13, 2014

My 1st SAAB, have owed Volvos before. Great car, feels like a European car. Can not wait for 2015 SAAB to return to American market.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2009 Saab 9-3