2008 9-7X

Consumer Reviews

2008 Saab 9-7X

$2,461 - $11,689  MSRP Range
2008 Saab 9-7X

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

14 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Saab 9-7X?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite suv ever !!!

by Rosie from Raleigh,NC on Tue May 04 2010

I shopped many different models and makes of suvs before choosing the Saab. It is extremely comfortable, holds all my "stuff " and handles like a dream. The downside are the poorly constructed cup holders, but all other finishes are beautiful. The nav system is very user friendly, a huge plus for a technophob such as myself.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by SUV Guy from Toronto ON on Fri May 23 2008

This SUV is great. I purchased an 2008 5.3 and couldn't be happier. Handles great, Nav and Bose system are excellent. If you require a real suv, check this out and drive it for sure. Don't listen to the critics who say it is a rebadged trailblazer. This drives nothing like a trailblzer or envoy. This is no more badge engineering than Lexus is to Toyota or Honda to Accura, etc...Blows away the competition with standard features. At least 10-15k below other similarily equipped luxury suv's. Current deals are also amazing. Not may on the road which makes it unique. Like I said, check it out, drive it and compare. You will be pleasantly surprised.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best SUV in it's class

by Sports SUV Enthusiast from New York on Tue Sep 16 2008

I have the 6.0 Aero and it's amazing! Very much fun to drive as the handling is super and the power delvery is smooth and very, very fast. Saab handling all the way as they designed the suspension, shocks, springs, sports car like brakes, etc. A lot more affordable than a Porsche Cayenne S faster and more unique. Very solid with no shakes or rattles definetely a SAAB and I know I've had a few of them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

What a cool car

by RandR from Ontario, Canada on Sun Nov 14 2010

My wife and I love the Saab 9-7X Aero. It is a great car, but not perfect. Fuel mileage is terrible, but for a performance vehicle acceptable. It does have some detail problems, but is a better SUV than the Trailblazer SS. Some options are a little dated if you compare it to a Cadillac. Quiet, fast, great handling, nice engine rumble and most of all fun to drive. It was way too expensive new($42,000-$50,000), but used for a 2008 is just right($21,000-$26,000).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent performance and comfort.

by Butch from Cleveland, Ohio on Thu Feb 03 2011

My wife and bought the 9.7 about 7 months ago with 37,000 miles. We have the 5.3 liter V-8 and love the performance of the vehicle. It is very nicely appointed and the heated leather seats are the most comfortable I have ever had in an automobile. I have had a couple of minor hardware issues that were taken care of under the manufacturers warranty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Saab 97x

by h8ful2 from Chesterfield Township, MI on Sun Feb 24 2013

Extremely comfortable with a sporty feel to the suspension. Sure-footed AWD perfect for all weather conditions.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bought Used

by CoolSaabgirl from Mount vernon,NY on Tue Jan 21 2014

I bought my saab 4.2l 9-7x used on christmas eve2013, with 95,000 miles on it.So far I've put 500miles on it and I have no complaints.I am very happy with my saab. Since it is a used car there are minor things that are annoying.Like a squeaky drivers seat. But overall mechanically this car is great.The interior is in great condition.It was a one owner car,but I have been in other saab 9-7x's that weren't one owners and older. The interior was in great condition.It is bigger than most suv's and lower to the ground,but the handling is better. I do not sway when turning like in a jeep grand cherokee.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This SUV is a sleeper.

by lemmy from Austin on Thu Dec 13 2012

i have owned escalade and ever other SUV out there. The AERO is the best SUV i have ever owned. It handles great and has all the options. The BOSE system rocks and it has huge power. I got 18 & 26 MPG which is better than the rating and when you pass somebody it roars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Saab upgrade of the Trailblazer

by tkar from Annapolis, MD on Mon Dec 18 2017

GM was on the right track if only they could have made a more distinctive SUV. It has the amenities that the Trailblazer lacked, with much better styling. Great for towing with either engine

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most fun I have had driving an SUV!

by proud 5.3L 9-7x owner from York, PA on Tue Jan 14 2014

I love the power and the handling it has along with the comfort for long trips, we make frequent 8 hr trips to new england. It is almost as much fun to drive around twisty back country roads as our 9-3. I have had it for 3 years now and put over 40,000 miles on it with minor issues and it still brings a smile to my face when I hit the gas passing a car on the highway. P.S. the sound system does rock too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2008 Saab 9-7X

Editor's note: This review was written in January 2007 about the 2007 Saab 9-7X. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what details are different this year, check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Don't let the sleek styling fool you: With its truck-based underpinnings, outdated drivetrain and drab interior, Saab's all-wheel-drive 9-7X is an archetype of yesterday's midsize SUV — powerful and comfortable, but inefficient and rough around the edges. Its frontal crash-test ratings leave something to be desired, too. It's no surprise drivers are leaving this segment for car-based crossover SUVs, which offer similar utility but better road manners and... Read More