2012 xD

Consumer Reviews

2012 Scion xD

$5,520 - $11,784  MSRP Range
2012 Scion xD

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

14 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Scion xD?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Fun Little Gas Saver

by Holla from Los Angeles, CA on Wed Apr 04 2012

I purchased this car as my frequent trips to the gas station to fill up my truck with high priced gas for my 30 + mile drive each way to work was getting old. I shopped around, looking at the Chevy Sonic, Dodge Caliber (better equipped but were dogs in the get up & go department) and the Toyota Yaris (too plain wrap). I really like the zip this little car has, it's fun to drive and I am getting GREAT mileage! I got the Release version which is a little bit of an upgrade from the standard so the interior is a bit "plusher", wheels are sportier, etc. ~ cute little car, looks kinda like a tie fighter from Star Wars! I'm very happy with it :)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the price!

by Tee from Phoenix, AZ on Thu Aug 02 2012

I love my Scion Xd. I brought it in October of 2011 after trading my 2009 Yaris sedan. Both cars are great, but the Xd had more features, awesome audio system, cruise control good on gas because I travel alot for my job and I love how it drives. I get compliments on my car all the time. It is just an all round fun hatchback to drive and very sporty as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good economy vehicle

by Eggman from Corssville, TN on Thu Oct 10 2013

I bought this Scion after a friend, who owns a Scion XA, and I loved her car. I was able to buy the last 12 in stock. I'm not crazy about the silver colour but other than that I like the size and convience, easy to park etc. It get about 34 MPH on the road and 28 in town. With the price of cars, even little ones, today the Scion is a fair exchange for your money

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great on gas avg 36-41mpg

by virg from denver co on Fri Oct 12 2012

great small eco car to get to work and great mpg great feel inside I'm small and wanted a small car but the fit and yaris were too small great car love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite car ever.

by Loopy from SoCal on Wed Apr 03 2013

In twenty five years of driving, this is my favorite car. It is feels sporty for this type of vehicle. It is easy to drive, park, and gets great mpg's (28mpg in sporty city driving). The A/C works very good on the hottest days here, the radio / BlueTooth are very good, and the driving position feels high and easy to see out. Only complaints are the HVAC controls are lame and clunky, wish it had the new Yaris controls. Secondly, the turning circle is as large as a Camry (no joke), when it should be like a Yaris or Corolla. I put 215/55/16 tires on it and it looks better, and drives smoother.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just bought

by blaze2 from Los Angeles, CA on Thu Mar 21 2013

I enjoy driving this car, it has power for a economy car with great mileage. It's real fun to drive because it feels sporty. I love that I can utilize it when buying bulky items like a big chair or drawer, and I used to drive a Rav4. I wanted to switch to a small car but not lose utiliity of SUV. This meets both my needs for utility and for more economical and better mileage. I love the extras that come standard: USB for ipod with controls on the steering wheel, subwoofer, bluetooth with call/end button. It's pimp compared to other cars. I've read it's rated highest in reliability per consumer reports so it's perfect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by City Driver from Turnersville, NJ on Thu Jul 19 2012

I do love the car - it looks good, handles well, etc. One question/ complaint: why don't the letters on the gear shift panel light up at night? The letter is illuminated on the dashboard, but when I shift and look down at my hand, the gear I chose is not highlighted in any way. Somewhat unnerving.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by SEW from Lexington, KYY on Sun Dec 10 2017

Love this car. Definitely better for small stature people and is no tank in the snow, but a great all around car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by a_bruner from on Sun Mar 26 2017

This car is a great value because it gets excellent gas mileage, drives smoothly, and because it should last for many, many years because it's a Toyota. I've had no issues with my Scion Xd. Plus you can squeeze into any parking space, but it doesn't feel like a clown car inside!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Bang for the buck!

by sbrick from Fort Worth on Mon May 01 2017

Great gas mileage and super great for commuting. Nothing fancy but the reliability Toyota's are known for.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2