2016 ForTwo

Consumer Reviews

2016 smart ForTwo

$9,682 - $16,422  MSRP Range
2016 smart ForTwo

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

20 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 smart ForTwo?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Economical, and now witha little pep

by Red Racer from Atlanta, GA. on Fri Dec 02 2016

Bought 2016 "PRIME" for my wife since that model has heated seats which she likes. Performance a little sluggish form start, but once moving (about 10mph) it accelerates very well, compared with former models which were sluggish. 6 speed automatic not nearly as "clunky" as originals. Viewed youtube crash tests and as a former driver of race cars, really appreciate the all-around frame construction. Only minor problem is cracked plastic surround for shaft under shift knob, which should be replaced soon at dealer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One big small car

by Travelers from Carmel, IN. on Thu May 18 2017

Originally purchased to be towed behind our motor home, but has grown to be a family member. It is the sport car I wanted, local transportation, cruiser on a beautiful Spring day and our trip car. It is a super neat experience traveling up and down the mountains in Colorado and Utah. Our age prevents from hiking any more, but we still sight see with our little buddy taking us places that the motor home or a regular car can't go. It is a car for all occasions. Dennis @ Connie

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have!

by Gltcdhr from PA on Thu Apr 20 2017

I am extremely happy with my smart car! It's economical. Drives great! Don't let the size fool you. I got $300.00 worth of groceries in the back too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive

by Cute as a Button from Plano, Texas on Thu Apr 06 2017

Smart Fortwo is a joy to drive/park. I get smiles & waves everywhere I go. I'm short & the seat raises enough for me to see clearly above steering wheel. The sport shifting feature gives extra pep and smoothness in auto-shifting. Only criticism - I wish the moon roof was not as darkly shaded - would love option for more sun, as well as a pop up for fresh air. Christopher Peters explained all my options in my first leasing experience. He showed great patience in my wavering decision between a colorful model or a black-silver w-upgraded leather heated seats, audio-automated systems, moon roof. Chris also got me a great deal, was very friendly and not intimidating-pressuring. I give high marks for the MB Plano Dealership Team.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

as for me, it really was a smart choice.

by Dezonyc on Wed Oct 25 2017

Fun, reliable, affordable, safe, I feel great when I'm driving this little car. It's as fun to drive as my 59 vw bug.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Car

by Love my Mini from Houston, Texas on Tue Dec 19 2017

I had a 2009 Smart Car for 8 years - definitely needed an upgrade. The 2016 is great. Power steering makes it so much easy to drive. Can't feel the road bumps as much as I did with my old car. The digital screen is a great look and easy to use. The radio is exceptional. Bluetooth is always a plus. As you can tell - I love my little car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my smart fortwo

by BretlyTaylor from Mansfield, Ohio on Wed Feb 28 2018

This vehicle fits anywhere yet feels like a regular size car on the inside. The 5 speed manual turbo charged powertrain is quick and fun to drive! This car is a work of art and a conversation piece everywhere you go in it. Perfect for everyday use. Looking forward to many journeys in my new smart for two!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fabulous car I ever owned.

by momof4 from smithown ny on Wed Jun 28 2017

This car is so excellent. Smart, stylish, sassy! I cannot say enough about this little beauty. Gorgeous.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Funny-looking yet spacial, speedy auto

by My Baby Benz from Pennsylvania on Sun Aug 27 2017

I bought the Mercedes Smart because she made me laugh; I learned that she is spacious on the inside, speedy and solid on the highway, and a whiz to park.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bought a 2008

by Sparklemedic on Mon Aug 27 2018

I loved the car so much and found a great 2008, I bought it. Have had it a month and LOVE it. It?s perfect for one person or two. More room than you?d think!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2016 smart ForTwo

For 2016, Smart has improved the ForTwo's biggest flaws — transmission and harsh ride — but it remains an impractical car that's not designed for mass appeal. And it likely won't attain it.

The Smart ForTwo was a tiny car that, at one point, some of us couldn't recommend and others didn't see its charm. But, like anyone given a chance to rectify his or her faults — who cared to do so — Smart has tried to tackle its major problems and keep up with the small-car market.

Smart has spruced up the interior and tweaked the design slightly, making the car wider — but not taller or longer — for 2016. The coupe goes on sale first, and a convertible version is expected to... Read More