2009 Grand Vitara

Consumer Reviews

2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara

$3,359 - $9,263  MSRP Range
2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Review Score

3.2 out of 5 stars

3.2

6 Reviews
50% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 6 of 6 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Engine woes x2

by Kipsterswife from Wichita, KS on Sat Oct 26 2013

We purchased our 2009 Grand Vitara in February 2010 with just over 4K on it. Have kept it serviced at Suzuki religiously. In September 2012 with just over 50K on it the engine overheated and we had it towed to dealership as my husband found coolant in the oil. The head gasket had blown. Suzuki had it for just over 3 weeks waiting on parts from Japan. Last week I was driving home from work and my engine started overheating (car now at just over 70K) and it is just over a year since the head gasket issue. Pulled over and waited on my husband. When he got to me and checked radiator it was bone dry. We had just had it serviced last month and all fluids and hoses checked out. Had it towed to the dealership (now Subaru as Suzuki no longer exists in the states). They called the next day... Small block had cracked and engine needs replaced. They told me last year that engine problems like this usually only occur from misuse and on vehicles that are used for mudding and off-roading. I drive mine 40 miles round trip 5 days a week and no more than 50 or so on the weekends. Have driven it from Kansas to Texas once and Tennessee once... Never off-roading. I just hope this is the last of our engine woes.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Does Alot for the Money

by Good Deal from North Carolina on Sat Jan 30 2010

Great looking vehicle. Sized about right and roomy up front. Fuel economy could be better but its ok considering its off road functions. The luxury model was cut a little short on standard features.No temperature adjustment on heated seats, only open or close on the sunroof,few places for personal items all seem out of place in what is otherwise a fine vehicle. Removeable rear seats would be nice too. Plenty of pep and solid handling would actually bring this to a 4.5 star rating if it was an option here. Great bang for the buck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Horrible vehicle

by Suzuki Done Vitara from Dallas, TX on Mon May 11 2015

We bought this clunker in January 2010 at 8900 miles. From the get go, nothing but problems. The A/C went out before summer started, and the dealership repaired it. Indicator lights on the dash would appear and not go out, and had to be taken to the dealership to be reset. Last year, the A/C was blowing hot air. Come to find out, radiator fluid was leaking out, causing overheating, which shut the A/C compressor down. The fluid leaked out because the engine block cracked. Got the engine replaced. A few weeks ago, my wife was driving to Austin (from Dallas) and broke down on the highway an hour from Austin in traffic when the engine locked up. The timing cover broke and all the oil leaked out. Now we're on the second engine replacement in less than a year. We'll get some use out of this engine, then we're done with the car. It was a horrible investment.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sleeper

by Paul, US Army from Richmond, VA on Mon Apr 19 2010

One of the best cars I ever saw, drove or owned--for only about $15,000 bought at end of model year. Smooth ride, highest quality, plenty of room and 27 mpg. Suzuki is made as well as any other Japanese car. Great small truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

NOT A RELIABLE CAR

by Renancho from on Mon Jul 05 2010

This has been the worst car i ever had, I bought it new, at 2000k it began to fail, the power steering hose was very bad and had to be changed, at 4000k it started to make 4 mpg the dealer couldn't explain the problem and they couldn't't fixed, it has improved now it makes 6,7 mpg highway or city that's TERRIBLE. At 8000k it began to ring around in the car, the door panels, the entire tailgate, dashboard, to the airbag, but the real problem is that the car hit a lot over the bumps with the front suspension was not as strong as required to smooth the bumps. I get tired of the problems and decided to sell it but the problem was that nobody wanted to pay a reasonable price and end price given to a dead chicken

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I have owned for winter driving.

by Suzuki Driver from Elizabethville, PA on Sat Aug 12 2017

I really like the "Hill Descent Control" feature. That has been a lifesaver as I had to drive almost 70 miles just one way to work for 4 of the 6 years that I have owned the car. Winter driving can be a challenge at times in PA. The Suzuki Grand Vitara has been comfortable for me and dependable until I got around 135,000 miles and some throttle control sensors went bad under the hood. Great on snow covered & icy roads thanks to 4-wheel drive. The only part I don't like are the headlights. The low beams seem to be only the running lights; the big headlights do not come on in low beam. So unless you run the high beams all the time at night; visibility is not so good. I have had the bulbs replaced numerous times; but this does not correct the problem. Other than that it has been good.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara


Snow buried it in the driveway, but the Suzuki Grand Vitara shook off the thick white blanket and securely pulled onto the road.

Whether snowy or clear, Grand Vitara was in command.

For 2009, Grand Vitara offers a 4-cylinder, a 2.4-liter, 166-h.p. version rated at 19/26 in the base model; a 3.2-liter, 230-h.p. V-6 rated at 17/22 with 2WD, 17/23 with 4WD has replaced the 2.7-liter, 185-h.p. V-6.

We tested the 4WD version with the noticeably more spirited V-6.

Above average energy and exceptional control in snow.

But on dry, uneven roads, the suspension tends to jiggle. And, if traveling in steerage, leave your knees at home.

Also prepare for the headrest torture - they dig into your back if left down... Read More