2006 XL7

Consumer Reviews

2006 Suzuki XL7

$2,786 - $6,882  MSRP Range
2006 Suzuki XL7

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Suzuki XL7?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Enjoying so far...

by Arkansas Hillbilly from Arkansas on Mon Mar 31 2008

I have owned a 06 XL7 for 6 months now. It has been a great vehicle so far. The only complaints I would have would be the fuel mileage (of course), was told when I bought it that I would get 22-24 hwy, but only get about 18. Other complaint is that it doesnt really have the "get up and go" when taking off, like I thought it would. Otherwise, its a pretty good SUV. We have the 3rd row seat, but dont use it. The interior is pretty nice. The console between the seats is very small, but there's 5 cup holders. As with any vehicle, there are pros and cons, but my experience is that theres more pros to the XL7.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Quality

by Cold War from Canada on Wed Dec 19 2007

The Suzuki xl-7 is an honest hard working truck. I live in the northern region of Canada where winter hangs around 8 months of the year and the xl-7 has yet to let me down. The build quality is up there with the best. It's one tough truck that combines looks ride and durability.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle, reliable and safe

by CarGuy from Mifflinburg, PA on Tue Oct 09 2007

This is the 2nd XL-7 that I have owned. They are great cars loaded with features and are very reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Car now has 210,000 kms and still going strong

by WeTheNorth from Toronto, Canada on Tue May 31 2016

Own the car since April 2016. Minimal maintenance. Only one recall in May 2010.(Power Steering Tension Pulley). This car has been driven coast to coast in Canada without a single problem. You take care of the car and the car will take care of you. Couldn't be happier with this workhorse.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Rock Solid

by MTMountainman on Thu Mar 08 2018

Have owned since 2003, changed spark plugs once, change the oil and have done brakes, shocks, struts and tires as needed. It keeps going down the road. Currently have an air conditioner problem that isn't fixed yet (know what the problem is) and recently had to replace an oxygen sensor on the engine. That's been it. Have 176,000 miles on it. It is tough on tires but if that's all I have to replace and everything else keeps purring along, I'm a happy camper. A great vehicle -- sad day when Suzuki pulled its cars out of the U.S.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good suv for the size

by jeanette gem from florence, oregon on Tue Aug 22 2017

i have owned this gem for 8 years and bought it 2 years old 21000 miles . it now has 101000 miles and gets me all over jn good weather or bad. portland, or. to utah and all the way to san diego, ca. never gave me any problems. maybe because i keep it up on oil changes and all required maintenance from owners manuel. i get 21 miles average . long trips 26 mpg. and this is a honey. paint is still like new, because i wash it by hand and polish it twice a year.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2nd XL7 purchased

by Uncle from Omaha Nebraska on Wed Jul 22 2009

My wife bought her 1st XL7 in 2002 and she loved it. Now that she has bought her 06 model i must say their are some differances. The biggest one is the fan noise from the A/C. I also noticed it doesn't get the gas milage like the advertisement. Other than that a great little SUV.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

This vehicle is out of the competition.

by metava from Bremerton, WA on Tue Feb 20 2007

I drove a 2006 Suzuki XL-7 for two months as a company car. The best I can tell about this vehicle is it's just about average. The ride is uncomfortable, transmission unresponsive uphill, seats are uncomfortable, air conditioner fan noise is above average, and there is no climate control or trip computer. Stereo system is mediocre, interior and exterior styling not very attractive, and handling in turns is slightly above average. Worst of all: gas mileage is way below advertised rates. On the upside: It's relatively cheap and affordable, roomy and reliable with not much maintenace or repair needed. Road noise (a side from the fan noise) is better than average. In short, this is an entry level, no-frills SUV. I hope they have made some dramatic changes in the 2007 model, otherwise this vehicle is not a very attractive buy.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TOUGH

by GDJ from Canada on Sun Nov 23 2008

This my second xl-7 and both have proven to be extremely reliable. I tow the family fiberglass trailer with no problems. My gas mileage has been between 23 mpg and 25 mpg on the highway. The build quality is excellent. I would strongly recommend to anyone looking for a reliable SUV!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2006 Suzuki XL7

If you have a big family, you probably need a vehicle that can seat up to seven people. But to get that, you don't have to buy an expensive, gas-guzzling behemoth SUV, or even one of those mom-mobile minivans.

For your benefit, Suzuki offers the quite nice XL-7, one of the most-affordable SUVs on the market, and the least expensive model that also offers a third seat so you can take the whole family along.

Suzuki is the Japanese automaker that kicked off the mini-sport-utility craze with the introduction of its Samurai in 1987, followed by the Sidekick and then the Vitara and Grand Vitara compact SUVs. The company's vehicles are known for their superb quality and longevity.

The XL-7 was introduced in... Read More