2017 Model 3

Consumer Reviews

2017 Tesla Model 3

$48,849 - $55,393  MSRP Range
2017 Tesla Model 3

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

11 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Tesla Model 3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Tesla cars exceeds expectations all the time.

by bobby from Marlboro, NJ on Sun Mar 25 2018

Superb electric car with awesome range. Technology at its best. Got 320 miles range with average 55 mph speed. Autopilot is extremely good and very reliable

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

cool car

by jdc from chicago on Fri Jan 05 2018

next gen vehicle. no gas needed. no noise while driving. you won't even know it is running. definitely recommend it

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lovely vehicle to remove petrol costs.

by cosmic.composer from Indianapolis, IN on Thu Apr 05 2018

Lovely electric vehicle, easy to manage and drive. Simply tech to learn and become accustomed to, without spending any more finances on petrol ever again!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most exciting car I've ever driven

by EV2Mars from San Francisco, Ca on Mon Jul 30 2018

This car really is the future. The outside is beautiful, with a front grill that looks playful and ready to chew up the pavement. Once you get past the minimalist interior and the giant 15" touchscreen that holds all your controls, you realize you never needed all those buttons that clutter the dash of most modern cars. And the driving! This car will ruin you for any other mid-priced luxury car. The Model 3's Permanent Magnet Electric Motor charges up on-ramps, the tight suspension handles cloverleafs like a dream, and the sporty handling allows you to hug curves on windy mountain roads like a dream. It's really does make driving FUN! But... when reality kicks in and you have to sit in traffic on your daily commute, all you have to do is flip on Enhanced AutoPilot, and the car takes control. Although full self driving has a way to go with regulators, just the traffic adaptive cruise control and lane-keeping (along with all the safety features), makes it so easy to sit back and relax while you supervise the driving. It reduces road rage and the frustration of stop-and-go traffic so you can arrive at your destination with much more zen. Oh, and I can't leave out the sound system. The immersive sound is AMAZING! I've never heard a stock system sound so good. All in all, this is the best car I've ever driven, and I'll never go back to a gas car again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Model 3 is unlike any car you have driven!

by mikem from denver, co on Tue Feb 27 2018

The Tesla Model 3 bucks the trends of the common auto manufacturer. The car can be upgraded with a simple software upload and you have a brand new car each time. The car is very sleek inside and out and very nimble. The steering is very responsive and the car doesn't have typical body roll because of the very low center of gravity by having the batteries along the bottom of the car. I would recommend everyone get into one of these cars to feel the difference, and then of course buy one for your self. Once you get bored with the ground breaking technology and quick acceleration, you should upgrade to the flagship model S and really blow the doors off the competition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

$$$$$$

by The Big Ticket from San Francisco on Thu Jan 04 2018

Of course the benefits of this one will be you don’t have to wait for a year or two to receive the vehicle. They are charging much higher than purchase price, but it just may be worth it to have sooner rather than later. I personally enjoy the simple interior. The long range battery will certainly come in handy. Depending on how much you drive you could save a ton of money over a 5 year period of time. If you were to purchase for this price, however, your depreciation should be fairly substantial. Great vehicles though and no car in its class can touch the range.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a 2018 but cars.com only allows 2017

by juliem on Mon Feb 26 2018

The car is quiet, very quick and surprisingly comfortable even with a sporty (firm) suspension. Trying to convince my other 1/2 that he should have one too! Too new to know everything about reliability but Tesla has always been focused on customer support and treats us great regarding our other car; expect the same.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable car I ever had

by Tesla fan from Modesto, CA on Sat Mar 10 2018

It is really a treat. Compact but comfortable, longer battery range than Models Sand X. I can not wait for enhanced auto drive mode to be available in this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nothing else like it

by MX-5 Mike from Monterey, California on Sun Sep 17 2017

Let's be honest, if you're reading this review, you've already made up your mind about this car. It's the trendy car right now, it's loaded with features, free to charge at Tesla superchargers, and commands a hefty price. What you may not know is the visceral experience that is a Ludicrous Mode launch. There is nothing quite like flooring it from a standstill at a deserted on-ramp and knowing you went 0-60 at a rate of speed rivalled only by the ultra-exclusive Porsche 918, and doing it with almost no noise. The acceleration is intense, almost painful, and intoxicating. Here in Monterey, CA, I see 10 Teslas every time I make a trip to the store, but I get a little excited when I see that red P on the back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Old Tesla fanboy realizes what Tesla really is..

by OldTeslaFanboy from Denver, CO on Sun Jul 22 2018

Let me first say I used to be a fan of Tesla and Elon, now on my 3rd Tesla, I expected a great car. My model 3 spent over a month in the service department during the 4 months I owned it. Service was just part of the issue, the model 3 wouldn't start twice, leaving me stranded. They replaced the battery and it still had issues. Have a problem that needs to go above your service rep? Good luck!! They could care less about any complaints you have. The manager, even the regional manager. Worst customer experience I have ever had. Plus the car is not great looking! Put a Toyota or Nissan badge on it and tell me you would still buy it for $56k. THE AUTOPILOT IS A SCARY JOKE, would constantly steer me directly into vehicles. When I questioned Tesla on this, they said well it's a prototype and I should restrict my use to highway use only. WHAT A JOKE! Once real manufacturers start producing 100% electrics in full force, Tesla will be a long forgotten joke, I know they are already that way for me! You are fools thinking Elon actually cares about anything but himself, his brand, and staying revolent in the news. He donates money to republicans you fools! Piece out Elon Trump

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2