2017 Model S

Consumer Reviews

2017 Tesla Model S

$38,208 - $66,144  MSRP Range
2017 Tesla Model S

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

36 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Tesla Model S?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

300+ miles on single charge

by N2dzone from Portland, Oregon on Fri May 19 2017

This is my third Tesla, a 100D. Drove 308 miles up hill (3200' elevation gain) on one charge, drove 65-70. What a great car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like driving the future

by Htwn97 from Houston, TX on Thu Jun 01 2017

This car is a head turner everywhere you go. People will come up asking questions about how the electric car functions and all the cool features it has. The autopilot has been getting better so self driving is coming soon. This car is mainly used for in city so charging at home over night will fully charge it. The car has absolute quick acceleration and many safety features. The interior could have been designed better there are no large side storage pockets in each door nor is there simple things like coat hangers and lights for the sun visor mirrors. 9/10 I would buy this car again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Repairs and getting parts

by Monica from Denver on Mon Jun 11 2018

I love my Tesla with exception to two things. First, we were rear-ended and it has been months and Tesla doesn't get parts shipped out to have car fixed. Months!!!! Second, you will need to plan on getting new tires every year because the car is heavy and it wears them out.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great care but range is overestimated

by rjz from Phoenix, AZ on Wed Jan 24 2018

I have a 2017 Model S 90D that now has about 5,000 miles on it. Overall, it's a great car. The technology is very advanced and it looks stylish. It's also very fast off the line. For me, the actual range is about 80% of the posted EPA range. That's because pursuant to Tesla's recommendation, I charge it to 90% of capacity. Then, I actually only get about 85%-90% of that estimated range, even though I don't drive aggressively. So, although the EPA range is 294 miles, I usually can count on about about 225 miles of range. Also, since this is a battery-powered car, the battery loses range while it sits. Overnight, I have lost as much as 6 miles of range, but the average is about 4 miles of range per day. The battery also loses capacity over time. In 5,000 miles and 4 months, the car has lost about 3 miles of range. I'm not sure how this plays out long term, but at this rate the car will lose about 30 miles of range by the time I put 50,000 miles on it. That still will be enough for my daily commute, but it would limit any plans for long-range driving. Aside from the cool computer monitor, the interior of the car needs improvement. It shows that Tesla has not been making cars for very long or that they focus most of their resources on technology. The center console is odd and not that useful. Since the car is very quiet, you can hear rattles and creaks coming from the dashboard. Finally, 2 days after i picked up the car I was stuck in my office garage because there was a computer glitch. The customer service was great. They sent 3 technicians, after-hours, to get the car running again, but it was a little disheartening, especially since the cost of the car is pretty high.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tesla Model S

by mbcaffe from west hills, ca on Sun Dec 10 2017

One of the best cars on the road regardless of engine type. Handles great, quiet,and the best user interface.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great to drive

by Tesla tester from Rancho Cucamonga on Fri Aug 23 2019

great to drive and fun to own. never had any mechanical issues with the car in the past 3 years of owning it and recommend to others

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Tesla S

by teslafan from Littleton, Co on Thu Dec 14 2017

This is a great car. Has a lot of power. Beautiful inside and out. Very comfortable seats. Everything computerized - absolutely a blast for people who love technology. I have the 75 kWh battery - causes a little anxiety when getting closer to needing a charge - the charge does feel as though it drops down fairly quickly but plan to charge at least weekly

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I smile every time I drive it

by Mutantbee from Pembroke Pines on Sun Jun 17 2018

My dream car. High tech, comfortable, and insanely fast. Yet easy to control and very very safe. I get compliments almost every day. And I'm hella green.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A dream to drive

by aliupup from gaithersburg, md on Fri Mar 01 2019

Fun and fast. I have had BMW M3 and Porsche Macan S and this kills them both. Love driving it. Have had no issues with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best performing car ever!!

by Jerryapp from Palm City on Sat Dec 21 2019

The Tesla has exceeded all expectations and continues to be fun to drive after 2.5 years. The over the air updates continue to provide new and exciting features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4