2017 Model X

Consumer Reviews

2017 Tesla Model X

$61,952 - $101,920  MSRP Range
2017 Tesla Model X

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

15 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Tesla Model X?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!!!

by ElectricVehicleBeliever from Portland, OR on Thu Sep 07 2017

Best vehicle I've test drove so far! Handles great, fast, fun, little maintenance and it goes about 300 miles on a single charge!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best computer on Wheels

by Restaurant Expert from New York, NY on Mon Sep 18 2017

Magnificently Engineered, updatable software, BEST AUTOPILOT ON THE MARKET Comfortable, Smart (in Every sense of the word) Superb Handling Surprise the Corvette that just pulled up next to you!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pretty amazing car

by Scrphx from Phoenix, AZ on Sat Feb 17 2018

I've been interested in Tesla for some time now, so finally convinced my wife to take a test drive, then rented a 2017 Model X to take on a short road trip. There are lots of things to like about the car. The performance is spectacular for a car that can haul 7 people relatively comfortably (if 2 of the people are on the small side). It can also pull up to a 5000 pound trailer. And NO GAS! Better for the environment and the fuel is cheaper than pretty much any gas-powered car on the road. Especially if you use a referral code (steven48487) to get free charging at any of Tesla's 5000+ supercharger locations in North America (planned to be 10,000 by the end of 2018). Even though it is more expensive than any car I've ever owned, we have one on order and should take delivery in the next few weeks. What's amazing is that even my ever-practical wife was all for getting it after the two test drives.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun and safest to drive family around

by Rkr from Los Altos , ca on Mon Mar 05 2018

It met all my needs. The front glass dome is awesome when you drive to locations with natural beauty. Great acceleration from sticky situations and auto cruise with music makes any drive relaxing, safe and smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I am planning on buying another

by havarti from Saint Paul on Thu May 17 2018

I love this car. There are so many free charging stations about its almost as common as free internet. You can make use of teslas superchargers or the many free or low cost charging stations for other electric cars, or the tesla destinatinon chargers available in many hotels, parking ramps and public spaces, or the 30 amp plug from your kitchen stove, or the ones available at parks and rv parks and campsites all over the country, or even a 15 or 20 amp standard outlet at your house and every hotel or gas station across the country. I save 400$ a month on gas. I can go 200 miles easy before it needs a charge. It's silent as a cat, Freakishly sometimes. The front seats are tight if you are any larger than a size 16 woman and used to something like a minivan, but you can get used to that. the clean dash is lovely. simple, straightforward. The touchscreen takes a week to get used to and then you can do it in your sleep. The seat covers are a synthetic material that's supposedly amazing. having owned a Mercedes with leather seats and wood paneling this Tesla feels different with its synthetic leather and carbon fiber trim. But, as long as its washable I'm good. I appreciate the minimalist approach to this car. Many intuitive options, just what you need and no more. the screen turns into a large HD rearview camera great for safety and helping park. I love driving it. Floor it and you feel like a rocket. great for maneuvering in traffic because in passing and lane change there is no lag time while other vehicles need to shift. its so responsive. No stupid waiting in winter for your engine to warm up. no coolant or oil or transmission or exhaust system. Surprisingly, even the third row seats are spacious enough for adults, so can fit 7 comfortably. and the cargo space! with all seats filled it has as much cargo space as our former Toyota Sienna. fill the seats with children and still have enough room for two weeks of groceries. And the front hood pens up and there is more space there. I love the sensors on the doors. No more children opening doors and banging into stuff. Love the Autosteer. Im not one to go for the self driving and sit there hands off the wheel or anything, but it is very nice to help with lane keeping, high winds, and the occasional distraction like music change, settling a dispute between children in the backseat, sending a message or dialing a call. the navigation is real time, very large screen and nicer than most. I love this car so much we are going to replace our other diesel car with another of these. Drawbacks: I want the door handles to be something one actually grabs hold of. I dont care if they are retractable or not. but occasionally in the winter after a wet car cools down and freezes, the door seals have a touch of ice on them and no amount of pushing the touch-activated door handles or using the phone app will open it. so i have to hope it pops open a touch and then i pry the door open with my hands. stupid idea. I wish there was a dome light above the driver and passenger seats by the rearview mirror. There should be and could be but isnt. IF you want to do anything in the dark in the front seats, there is an obscene amount of dome light behind you but still dark in front. Stupid neglectful oversight. Why must i resort to installing little battery operated push button lights in my car because its missing dome lights in the most crucial of area? I understand why Youtube and video sites are blocked from use. but how about when put in park? Ok, so Tesla doesn't want all that data consumption. Ok, how about youtube red? or just play the audio not the video? I I love streaming my youtube playlist as music and not video. The streaming music feature is nice but several function issues make it cumbersome and although I use it they could take some lessons from the functionality of Amazon music or Pandora music for functionality. I understand tesla has only a few models so cannot make everyone happy with appearance but PLEASE put a regular looking grill type front on the X like they have on the S. The X looks Dumb without it. Like a turned up nose or some weird lips. Just stupid.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Model X is awesome!

by DanWA from Vancouver,Wa on Wed Apr 26 2017

The Tesla Model X is indeed a very nice and reliable car. It has a load of space and even when you want to take a break or talk to whoever's in the car you can turn on auto drive.You can open the doors without having to touch them. This car is awesome and I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

highly enjoyable to drive

by E007 from SCotland on Thu Nov 02 2017

This car is roomy and has a high drive position which is very good for my back problem, as I am able to drive it keeping my knees below the level of my bottom (not many cars can meet this demand) A great car, looks very understated, plenty of leg room and luggage space. As a car for local trips it is hard to beat, but for long trips I have to use a conventional car to avoid range anxiety. Will I keep this car yes, it is great fun.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Age techno car

by Tesla's time machine from Glen Allen, VA on Mon Aug 14 2017

This car has all the bells and whistles one would look forward to in future. Test drove this one and it took my breath away with its ludicrous mode driving and its power at the same time with its price tag too. If I had enough money I would have bought it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing ride and sleeper fast!

by Teslafan on Sat Aug 19 2017

Worth it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great and reliable car to use I really love it

by Trinity Hazell from Gilbert,Arizona on Tue Jul 11 2017

Love this car it is fast how I like auto pilot is very handing sometimes and its family friendly I love Tesla's.!!!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2