Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1996 Avalon

Consumer Reviews

1996 Toyota Avalon

$482 - $5,758  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
3.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Toyota Avalon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

No major repairs for 200K+ miles

by MJ from on Thu Feb 11 2010

comfortable, sturdy, easy to maintain. Only problems are standard wear and tear. Parts are more expensive, but they don't need many repairs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by Family guy from on Thu Sep 09 2010

This car is great for the money. I have had my car for 5 years and have added about 100k miles to it. It runs awesome still. I have had some work done, but it is just regular type of maintenance. No major issues. Would highly recommend this car to anyone looking for a good solid family car, but not a huge budget. Lots of room on the inside, lots of trunk space. Great gas mileage for this size car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Car

by Owner from on Mon May 04 2009

Bought used form another owner at 116k miles in 09 still runs incredibly well except for a leaky oil pan all is well

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I really like this vehicle

by Good Luv/Driver from Wilmington, Delaware on Wed Aug 02 2006

I have owned quit a few vehicles and driven a lot more, after renting some of the more quality vehicles in their class, I've come to the conclusion that the Avalon is by far the best in its class by a long shot and for the money I'd say if you like comfort and handling ,this is where you want to be.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Car

by Mary from Midwest, USA on Fri Dec 21 2007

We have owned an XLS for almost 8 years. Nice ride, a little noisy now because I think the seals are deteriorating. The driver's side seat is coming apart, but that isn't something that affects the reliability. It has been extremely reliable. We like the power seats, the sun roof and the Avalon has a ton of "get up and go," especially when the "power" button is pushed. Great gas mileage for the size. Our deal breaker that has caused us to trade is the rust, particularly above the windshield (? weird, I know) and it started to leak when it rained.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great car to own

by Mrnavy from NJ from 96-2000 South Carolina to present 2018 on Wed Apr 04 2018

Bought this car in 1998 from a friend who had it on a lease it now has 287K and has been a great car and still is it is my everyday car still and not afraid to drive it any where . Very few repairs R&L CV joints, R rear wheel barring ,alternator, valve cover gaskets, Think i am on at least 5th set of tires . 2ed timing belt & water pump, change transmission filter & oil just maintain it . If i ever do change cars it will be another Avalon I am 75 i think it will out last me .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Avalon

by Jendill from Zanesville Ohio on Sat Apr 22 2017

I bought my Avalon used 3 years ago with 204,000 on it I have not had anything major happen it now has 301,000 on it and still going the body and inside was not taken care of very well before me up if love it never leaves me stranded. Just put new parts under front end by axle started going so should be good to go for awhile. But I am buying a newer car but still going with a Toyota the last forever. Just bought a 1999 Toyota camry with 122,000 on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Would be amazing if i took care of it

by Dave from SAINT PAUL on Sat Apr 29 2017

I believe that Toyota's are always reliable but in my case i it was my first car and i didn't take good care of it. It has good mpg, its fun for the family, it get me from point A to point B and has been reliable when i least expect it. Although i did have some transmission issues i believe, it's considerably because of the Minnesota cold. I do have an oil leak in the vehicle but because the previous owner never mentioned the engine needed a new gasket. I have had to replace breaks and O2 sensor. I believe if you take care of your car it can go a long way and be reliable, specially in the Toyota and Honda brands, of course according to make.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned

by Gary from Hiram ga on Tue Jan 23 2018

This car has been all over the country 475,000 miles and still drives great. No real issues replaced transmission due to me not repairing leak.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned, reliable, solid.

by Avalon fan from Madison, CT on Mon Apr 02 2018

It's attractive (does not look its age), has been dependable, offers great legroom and head room (my husband is 6'8" and has loved driving it), is built very solidly. We bought it new and have taken great care of it. It's easy to drive, has great pick up entering highway, and is comfortable. Avalon is a great model--we bought another one!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2