1998 Avalon

Consumer Reviews

1998 Toyota Avalon

$498 - $5,490  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

22 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Toyota Avalon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1998 Toyota Avalon

by chiefdet01 from on Tue Jan 13 2009

This car is a low profile high-end winner. I have always driven either Lincoln or Mercedes Benz. This car is very nearly the equal of my last (2004) Towncar. Except for city driving (this 11 year-old car is noisy) this car has plenty of zip, acceptable mpg, outstanding reliability, and exceptional workmanship, and at freeway speeds is very quiet. I'd never heard of an Avalon, but it was billed by the salesman, whom I never trust, as a very good car. He undervalued this beauty. I have a 2008 Avalon, now because the 1998 has 189,697 miles on it (never a transmission, engine, or suspension repair or re-make) and I thought it wise to have a newer one to drive distances, though nothing about the 1998 suggests that I replace it. City mpg appx. 24;, freeway mpg appx 28. (I don't rabbit start or brake that much) I'm flummoxed by the car. 5 stars

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Built to Last

by Dr Pepper from Texarkana, Tx on Wed Jan 25 2012

Hello, if you're thinking of owning a 98 Avalon you won't be sorry. I bought one 3 years ago and have put around 40k on it. It runs great, very quiet idle, and very powerful passing. I've had it over 115 with room to go and if felt like driving 80. It gets an average of 26 mpg without streatching the truth & I don't crawl where I go. The car is comfortable, stylish & very dependable. If you find one with 150k, be prepared for another worry free 150K. And if not, just about every mechanic can fix them, so shop around & you'll find a very fair price for repairs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great

by ben from lagos on Sun Feb 19 2012

If you need a vehicle to get you from point A to B in comfort,the 1998 avalon will do the job perfectly and will be mild on your pocket. I bought mine used and presently has 220,334miles on it-miles not kilometers and is not showing any sign of giving up. I had an altima 2.5S 2002 before this car which spent more time at the workshop than on the road thus bought this car 2 years back.I am astonished by the ride quality. It handles better than the look. The only complain i have with the car is that any time i go to the car wash,the doors get filled with water,nothing serious, by the time you drive around and take 2 or 3 turns, the water comes out. I wonder if automakers still make cars this good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new old Avalon

by Marvelous m from Sweet home AL. on Mon Apr 22 2013

Recently purchased 98 Avalon 120000 k runs and drives perfect needs a little T L C. Awesome Auto !!!!!.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1998 Toyota Avalon XLS

by Volunteer from San Diego. Ca. on Tue Jun 10 2008

The Toyota Avalon XLS performs very well and the lather seats are comfortable and cleanable. This car has 115000 miles and looks and drives like a new vehicle. I would recommend this car to anyone. Oh, it delivers over 22 MPG on regular gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1998 avalon xls

by driver from cincinnati ohio on Sun May 29 2011

bought the car 4 years ago with 104000 miles and now have 189000 and have little problems ~replaced starter and power steering pump and pads and rotors and now need rear caliper thats all !! interior i think is a bit cheap (plastic) and they have problems with flex pipe on exhaust ~leak and let fumes come in cabin ( new flex pipe is 700$)drive it back and forth to work and get about 400 miles per tank of 87 octane

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

If you want to keep to keep your car for a while

by Fitman from Hatfield PA. on Sat Jul 28 2007

I think this car is an excellent car overall. Very reliable ,good on gas, it is roomy, comfortable, well made,this car sits outside year round and it is always there for me.Fit and finish excellent, engine and transmission are superb,I bought it used, now I have 119000 miles on it ,will easily make 200000 miles. My only complaint is the suspension, which was improved after the 2000 model year.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

260,000 miles & still going strong!

by Avalon Advocate! from Crystal Lake, IL on Fri Jul 25 2014

My brother-in-law in Huntsville, AL bought this car used in 2005 with 93,000 miles. I bought it from him in 2011 with 209,000. I have driven between Chicago and New Orleans regularly over the last 3 years and now have in excess of 260,000 miles - with no major problems or breakdowns! Amazingly, this vehicle still looks, rides and drives like new. It is without a doubt, the best built & most reliable vehicle I have ever owned!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable 13yrs of great service

by Cowgal from New Market TN on Wed Feb 01 2012

Would purchase this auto again, the body and interior have held wonderful. People get in the car and ask how old is the vehicle and can't believe I have drove it for 13 yrs and have almost 200,000 miles on it. Most reliable I have ever had.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

As good or better than expected.

by brennafishing from Moorefield, WV on Mon Feb 27 2012

Have owned car for a month and driven 2500 miles with no problems. Mileage is 122000 and car handles almost like new. ride is a little firmer than expected. All features function exceptionally well for a 14 year old car. Interior is very roomy and comfortable. Gas mile is 24-33 mpg depending on useage. Exterior does not show its age-- still a very good shine and only one small rust spot in rear wheel well. As good or better than I expected.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1998 Toyota Avalon

It must have been fate that brought us the '98 Buick Regal and '98 Toyota Avalon at about the time Ma Nature brought us snowstorm No. 5, or was it No. 6?

Regal and Avalon are somewhat similar, yet very different. Both are midsize front-wheel-drive sedans that cater to buyers with a little dough. Regal is the stop between Century and LeSabre.

Avalon is a move up from the Camry without having to move over to Lexus for an ES300.

Both are designed to hold four adults in room and comfort in fairly spacious cabins and their golf clubs or luggage in rather abundant trunks.

Both offer dual air bags and four-wheel anti-lock brakes, but Avalon goes one better by offering... Read More