Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1999 Avalon

Consumer Reviews

1999 Toyota Avalon

$51 - $5,183  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

18 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Toyota Avalon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Very Nice and Reliable Car and Easy to Work On.

by Mark501 from Wheaton, IL on Wed Nov 09 2011

Pros: Huge amount of back seat leg room and trunk. Powerful engine, fast, Very easy to work on, Basically a Lexus underneath the name plate and same parts, Looks best in Black, and Auto Climate control is comfortable. Body has durable paint. No rust anywhere on it in Chicago Salty Winters. Traction control is just okay in snow, but better if it is switched off for reasons explained below. Good heated seats. Great resale value!! Owned for 9 good years. Cons: Gas Mileage not that great, heavy car, very weak antennae built into back window, recommend replacing radio and speakers because the foam ages on the speakers and the CD skips. Alloy wheels coating comes off on the edges. Traction Control can get you killed if you don't know how to use it. If you are quickly pulling out in front of traffic and the front wheels spin a little, it almost stops in front of traffic with the anti-locks throbbing and me screaming! Yikes! Turn it off each time you start the car. Cops do the same with the Crown Victorias. Valve gasket, entire muffler, Struts, tie rods, rear and front bearings and New Tires make this car run like brand new at 160,000 miles! I expect 160K more... why not?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

luxury from toyota

by luxury lover from west hartford, Ct on Wed May 31 2006

this is a great car. no mater if you are young or old. amazing interior and comfort. a MUST own if you are looking for a nice car with little $.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ridiculously Reliable

by AlexS from Raleigh on Thu May 18 2017

Obviously very old vehicle now. Cosmetically its not the best anymore but 100% reliable. Has more features than a lot of current cars - at least the base models. Wish it had more drink holders but its also 18 years old. Biggest repair I have ever had to do on it was less than 300 dollars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

it was not a bad car.

by hukiyar2387 from kenosha wisconsin on Sun Jul 08 2018

id but this car again ! it was nice it is as good car ,very reliable it is really a car you can depend on

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've owned to date

by DAC from Minneaplois, MN on Thu Jan 22 2015

This is the last year this car was basically a Lexus underneath put on a Toyota body. I bought mine in 2003 with 11,000 miles on it...and I'm still driving it with well over 200,000 miles on it. It will probably go 300,000 plus. Only this past year did I have to replace the water pump still running on original alternator. Coming up on second timing belt change. Nothing ever breaks on this car. I put oil in it at manufacture recommended intervals and change the transmission fluid every 30,000-40,000. It is the most comfortable car for long road trips you can imagine. The month before I bought it I did a 2200 mile road trip in my old luxury car, over a long weekend, and felt like I'd been run over by a truck. The first month I had this car. I did the same road trip and felt like a new man. This car drives like butter. I put about 1,200 into redoing the suspension after 170,000. This fixed some design issues of putting a different body on the car than it was designed for. It rides even better than it used to. Still doesn't burn any oil. Mileage is about 22 town and 28 Hwy (hwy speed have increase since it was built). Put the seat heaters in because I live in Minneapolis. The premium sound system still works and sounds great. The climate control is awesome and doesn't start blowing air until it is actually warm, which is fabulous in the winters. FWD is also excellent.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best used vehicle I've owned

by Value shopper from Dallas on Sun Jun 01 2008

I bought an avalon used and have not had a single complaint. I would buy one again without a doubt. Great gas mileage for a mid size sedan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever!

by Avalon Lover! from Sacramento on Sun Jun 20 2010

The 1999 avalon Platinum ed. is the most recent vehicle I've owned. My dad bought me my first avalon (1996 xl) when i turned 17 and i have not switched to a different vehicle ever since!! i LOVE that car but unfortunately i got rear ended badly and that put my car to sleep forever. After that avalonwas totaled, i bought a 1998 xls. that car was also a great and reliable car, but it was not like the first one i owned. i hated the color, which was silver-ish blue. when it came for an oil change and smog check, i decided to sell it because i hated the color THAT much! i switched to the vehicle i have now and it works just as reliable as the first 2 avalons i've owned. they really are great, dependable, and efficient cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my first car

by zoom-zoom from Wilmington, DE on Mon Oct 10 2011

this was my first car i owned and i loved it. when i got my new car i was reluctant to let this go. a perfect reliable car i would recommend to anybody.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Problems from day one

by Night from NY on Fri Dec 28 2007

I had this car in the shop the first day I owned it, and repeatedly for the rest of the time I owned it. I will never own another Toyota product. The car was unreliable and would just die on the highway for no apparant reason while moving at 50mph. There were multiple electrical problems from the day it left the show room as well as many other problems too numerous to list.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CARS IN THE MARKET !

by JJJohn 68 from Fulton, Ms. 38876 on Sun Jul 09 2017

The V-6 has superb power and performance in this Toyota body style and model. The Toyota is a remarkable long mileage dependable automobile no matter which one of choice . I have owned Toyota cars sense 1993 and have had my best results from the driving ability of each and everyone of the different selective models I have owned or drove through-out the years. That makes me a happy camper and happy owner of Toyota cars. Thanks Toyota

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2