Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 Avalon

Consumer Reviews

2005 Toyota Avalon

$3,241 - $9,485  MSRP Range
2005 Toyota Avalon

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

39 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Toyota Avalon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

An all-around great car

by loyal fan from Binghamton, NY on Wed Feb 01 2012

Overall, the best car we owned over the past 55 years. Quiet and comfortable as a Buick, but handles like my old BMW 325. The most roomy back seat of any sedan we know of, a plus because we frequently carry lots of passengers. There were several recalls, but all were handled expeditiously. No significant problems for 106,000 miles, and we traded it in for a 2008 Avalon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent highway vehicle

by Bill in Cincy from Cincinnati, OH on Sun Aug 19 2012

Highway MPG is great for a car this large, avg 32+, city is low 20's. This is my second Avalon and hope to get another 200K plus on this one as well. Would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable highway car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car For The Price

by Ronnie B from on Tue Nov 30 2010

This is a larger car that surprisingly provides great power with highly respectible gas mileage. Very comfortable and quiet. Everything you look for in a higher end vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional Vehicle

by Value Conscious Driver from Kansas City on Sun Jan 25 2009

Excellent car. Typical of Toyota's history of excellence. For a full size, luxuriously appointed vehicle, it offers fuel economy, great acceleration, comfort, style and features. There doesn't seem to be a car on the market that offers as much as the Avalon. There is a reason they are hard to find and command high resale - their drivers keep them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressive

by Toybota from Kansas City, MO on Sat Nov 14 2009

I have my avalon for almost a year now and I am loving every minute of it. I bought a used a XLS Avalon with the Blizzard Pearl Paint and I think it is one of the sexiest cars on the road. I have done but routine maintaince. They guy that owned it before traded it in for a new corvette a local chevy dealer was pretty particular about his cars. He had all service records from new and the window sticker in the glove box. This car is fast for how big and heavy it is. Toyota is claiming 0-60 in 6.0 and I believe it will do it. The great thing about his motor is they test in the desert for 2 years before putting this motor into production so you know its right. The car is quiet and handles great and on a straight highway run i'm getting between 32 and 33mpg. What a nice a car. There are a few things that I don't like about the car. The intermediate shaft has a design flaw and toyota wants $350 to replace with the redisign one. It bothered me at first with the steering wheel clunking a little bit but know that I ahve gotten use to it, I don't notice it anymore. The other problem I had with this car was the mushy brake pedal. Every toyota I have driven up until this one had a really touchy brake pedal and this one never did. Come to find out the brakes that are on the car were actually desinged for and share the same componets as the 03-06 Camry's. I solved this problem by purchasing a set of drilled and slotted rotors and a nice set of cermaic pads from the pars store and it solved all of problems Great car and will buy another one

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

by Gber from atlanta, ga on Mon Mar 02 2009

This is a great car for the money. I've owned it for 2 years now and everything is great. They have 60K warranty on drivetrain, and I never had any problems with mine. I'm not a car freak, but I do keep up with my maintenance, so everything is great.And parts are cheap for this car, so it helps. Anyways, car runs great,very decent on long trips and very stable, interior has looots of room!!! I love it!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned.

by QUAT from Atlanta, Georgia on Wed Mar 02 2016

I bought my 2005 Avalon in 2010 with 60k miles on it. I commute 160 interstate miles per day and now have 280k miles. It still looks very good. I park in a garage at home and at work. No major mechanical problems. This is by far the best car I have ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top Gun

by Peter N. from Pittsburgh, PA on Fri Oct 09 2009

now, having over 40,000 miles and not one single issue with the car. i've changed tires since the originals have worn out. i have the Limited model with all the options. i like the adaptive cruise control, heated/cooled seats, and navigation setup, although the navigation system could be better in the software side. as far as fuel economy goes, i've never gotten below 26 mpg and when on long distance trips on the interstate i always get over 31 mpg. on a trip from Nashville, TN to NYC, i averaged 72 mph getting 32 mpg, only stopping for fuel. about the only thing i'd improve on are the outside mirrors, there's a huge blind spot on the driver's side and the seats could use some side bolsters on the backsides and contoured edges on the seating surfaces. it's a great touring car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A1 Very good value

by Don the owner from North Carolina on Sun Dec 20 2009

Normal maintenance is all it has ever required. Gas milage: town 24 to 28;highway 32 to 35 depending on speed.It is a joy to drive on long road trips and is very comfortable. The separate heating and a/c for driver and passenger is great. One thing that would be very nice to have is automatic driver seat adjustment for two.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a lexus in a toyota

by dirin dirti from lexington ky on Mon Sep 11 2006

I love this car. limited avalon has every thing you could want and more . I like it more than the maxima azera and acura tl. you pay more for dependabilty than others. the lexus es and avalon clash in price so toyota need to do something about that. 33.000 price for both add navigation and other optiona and 40.000 for a toyota is a bit much but i thinks it worth it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2005 Toyota Avalon

The Toyota Avalon full-size sedan is one of the few cars I've experienced whose backseat holds as much appeal as the driver's seat, if not more. Even though the Avalon's rear-seat accommodations are especially satisfying, some elements of the driving experience aren't.

The Avalon is, however, impressively quick, both from a standstill and at highway speeds. Toyota claims the Avalon can go from zero to 60 mph in 6.6 seconds, and that time seems entirely believable. Credit the free-revving 280-horsepower, 3.5-liter V-6 and five-speed-automatic transmission. The transmission has a clutchless-manual mode for those who wish to change gears themselves, but because the engine and transmission work so well... Read More