Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2009 Avalon

Consumer Reviews

2009 Toyota Avalon

$5,490 - $14,118  MSRP Range
2009 Toyota Avalon

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

20 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Toyota Avalon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by sudalh from Elkhart Lake, WI on Tue Sep 21 2010

Car rides like a dream and we get 33.0 mpg frequently. My only fair rating would be for trunk size because the speakers project downwards. Very quiet which especially nice if you're wearing hearing aides. Wish I would have found this car lots sooner!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Perfect car But....

by bmallek540 from Beaufort, SC on Fri Feb 20 2009

This is the perfect car. It handles great, rides very smooth and uses regular gas (in a 6 cyl). Vented seats are so, so my drivers side does not work well and I'll have to see a dealer for repair. the Nav system (gps) is horrible. Outdated maps and POI's, very cumbersome and the voice command is even more miserable. Other than that, if you don't need a gps system this is the best car going.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned

by Best in comfort mid-size car from Peachtree City, GA 30269 on Wed May 30 2012

I was sceptical about buying a car that I haven't seen or driven...but wow! What a surprise! I am so delighted! Thanks Toyota for an affordable luxury car!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Avalon Limited

by toy-fan from tx on Mon Apr 09 2012

We have updated our '02 Avalon xls and are very pleased with this pre-owned certified '09. It is in nearly perfect condition with 26k miles. It performs well up to our expectations and makes a wonderful road car. The only complaint so far is the entry control for setting input for the GPS system. It's done with the joystick and if not pressed squarely in the middle will just move the selection window and have to be repeated. The enter button needs to be totally independent of the joystick. Beyond that we are very happy with this car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2nd Avalon

by NC Girl from Rocky Mount, NC on Fri Mar 13 2009

Had an 06 now an 09....satisfied completely, comfortable, average 33 mpg on a trip....back seat reclines--easy sleeping!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value for the money

by Enjoy my Avalon from san antonio texas on Tue Dec 13 2011

This is my second Avalon with 85k ...used as my company car ...purchased it for personal use . Again great value for the money

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I have ever bought.

by l from SF from San Francisco on Sat Jul 26 2008

This car is great. It gets between 35-40 mpg all of the electronics are great. I do wish that Toyota would add the side trim on the higher end model and that the side view mirrors folded back. I would certainly recommend this car to my friends.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable, reliable.

by Yousif from Phoenix, AZ on Tue May 02 2017

I got my 2009 Avalon in 2015, I am happy with the comfort but its just too much comfort for someone aged under 40. The ride is very good, fast, but the suspension is not designed for fast maneuvers because of the comfort design. I guess this is why the target customers are ages 50 and up.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Car

by Anonymous on Thu Nov 30 2017

Very comfortable. Drives well, handles like it should. Traded for newer Avalon when lease ran up. Great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Interesting Ride

by Car Man from Sammamish, WA on Fri Apr 23 2010

this floaty yet reliable ride is a bit pricy, i leased this and has been a good experience. Maybe a new camry or four runner might be good, i just cant decide

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2009 Toyota Avalon

Around the office, I carry the reputation — if in jest — of being an over-the-hill man stuck in a young guy's body. My penchant for fogeyish jokes and power ballads doesn't help. Even less helpful, I'm afraid, will be my regard for the Toyota Avalon. It's roomy, efficient and comfortable. There were some reliability glitches when the current generation debuted for 2005, but it's since turned out to be relatively dependable. The Avalon is due for a redesign soon, and it is showing its age in some areas. But if comfort and quality rate high on your list, it's definitely worth a look.

For 2009, Toyota got rid of the sport-tuned Touring trim, leaving the base... Read More