2012 Avalon

Consumer Reviews

2012 Toyota Avalon

$9,124 - $18,588  MSRP Range
2012 Toyota Avalon

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

18 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Toyota Avalon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury at a modest cost

by RobbbWPB from Palm Beach, FL on Fri Mar 09 2012

This is my second Avalon, with my mint condition 2008 having been the victim of a crash rendering it totaled. Both cars are nearly the same, with perhaps slightly more wind noise in the later model. Subtle changes to the Video module make the sound/GPS system easier to use. The unfortunate change in "wood" trim in the interior makes this part truly cheap compared to the rest of the well tailoed interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 Toyota Avalon Limited

by bluebird from Twin Cities, MN on Sat Nov 09 2013

I bought this car for two reasons. I owned a same model 2004 and it was very reliable and I did not experience any mechanical, body or electronic problems. Second, I prefer the styling and ride of the 2012 over the 2013 model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I am glad I bought the avalon instead of the es350

by Rollingstone from Henderson,nc on Tue Jul 31 2012

I had a lexus rx350 which was nice but the avalon is smoother and plenty of power for me. Some sayed I down graded from lexus to avalon BUT I don't think so. It has the quality built in. After all Toyota makes it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth and efficient

by jbird from Michigan on Wed Feb 26 2014

I have owned 2003 Avalon and 2007 Lexus ES. Tryed Solara 2008 and Camary eco 2012..Came back to my Favorite ride. Avalon Limited 2012. Love this ride and very smooth even in Michigan high winds and snow storms.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Ride

by Yia's Toyota from South Georgia on Mon Feb 24 2014

Just traded my 2008 Cadillac CTS- needed more leg room for ALL passengers- boy what a difference- dont get me wrong I enjoyed my Caddy- but Im loving this Avalon- smooth ride, spacious cabin, trunk space, MPG- I could go on and on-

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hybrid really gets 40mpg City

by Ray DFW from Fort Worth Texas on Wed Apr 03 2013

We have 3k miles on our new Avalon Hybrid Limited. Extremely quiet, build quality is excellent. Friends seemed to be taken back by the interior styling, instrumentation and rear seat room. In the sport mode it has the feel of a European sedan with instant torque of the electric motors. The JBL stereo is very impressive. The Entune system needs updating for more compatibility with the Iphone 5. The limited now is a much better bet that the Lexus ES 300h, having better ergonomics, capacitive touch controls and a few more extras with the same build quality and reliability. Good job Toyota!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far so good

by Cowboy Geo from Alexandria, MN on Thu Nov 08 2012

So far,so goodl Have not had it long enough to really be able to say about the reliabiity. However, we have had two other Toyota Avelon's before this one, and and loved every one of them. Each new car gets better with mileage and comfort. This 2012 Avelon is the best so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

pretty good in its segemnt

by andrews from erbil,iraq on Fri Jul 01 2016

this car kinda rides well,its comfortable,this thing is tough as nails,and accelerates beautifully,throttle response is really good,but somehow the interior is a little bit on the cheap side,overall it is really good for being a cruiser,seats are comfortable,the air conditioning is nice but the car is tiny,I am a tall person,but a lot of legroom,little bit tight in headroom.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best riding and performance car ever!

by Steve from Orland Park IL on Wed Mar 29 2017

The Avalon is an extremely comfortable car. We have driven it cross country and it has enough power to enter and exit Highways as well as being comfortable throughout the entire trip. It is very roomy on the inside, especially the backseat. Anyone who is ever ridden in the back of our car always comments about it almost immediately. Do yourself a favor and check one out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bought at 72K

by Geoff on Wed Jun 20 2018

Very powerful. Smooth. A joy to own. No issues. Plan to keep at least 10 years. Handles superb. Windows came highly tinted, I recommend this. Automatic windows definitely a premium feature. Lexus maintenance so expensive. Used a local private shop for 90K maintenance. Less than $300.00.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2012 Toyota Avalon

Editor's note: This review was written in July 2010 about the 2011 Toyota Avalon. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2012, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Done right, there's something about a large sedan that's highly appealing. Good ride comfort, power to spare and plenty of room are attributes that defined the full-size American sedan for decades. That's the type of car Toyota now makes in the form of its Avalon, which got a number of significant updates for the 2011 model year.

The Avalon succeeds at transporting people in complete comfort and surrounding them with a host of luxury trappings. In short, it's the... Read More