1995 Camry

Consumer Reviews

1995 Toyota Camry

1995 Toyota Camry

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

26 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1995 Toyota Camry?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Owned

by JMF from Lexington, KY on Tue Nov 01 2011

I bought my 5-speed manual 1995 Camry Coupe in 1997 off lease and it has been a great car for the past 14 years. It's fun to drive, comfortable, roomy, sporty-looking, and reliable. The only major repairs (all when the car was over 15 years old) have been to replace the radiator (had a hole in it), exhaust system from catalytic converter back, and some brake and fuel lines due to rust. Never even needed a brake job and I still have the original clutch at 118,000 miles. Even the battery lasted 12-13 years. Drove my good old Camry on a 240 mile trip last week and it still runs and drives great. My only minor complaint is that the leather seat upholstery was not especially durable. I wish that Toyota still made this car. They have even discontinued the Camry Solara, which was its successor, and they don't make many Camrys with stick shifts any more. The new Camrys aren't bad but I prefer the coupe and the stick shift.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent first car!!

by n-conf from York, PA on Mon Aug 29 2011

I was given this car by my dad for my first vehicle. It had about 150,000 miles on it, still it ran extremely smooth. I have now had it for 4 years and have maintained it every 5,000 miles just like my dad did. It now has 206,000 miles and no major problems. EXCELLENT car... i predict new brakes soon but i have never had to change them so i suspect that's to be expected. Great car and extremely reliable

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyotas Rule

by Sprocketspinner from Calgary, Alberta, Canada on Sun Oct 21 2007

Never been disappointed by any of the Toyotas I've owned. This is no exception. Excellent car. Plenty of power, lots of room for two child seats, huge trunk, 4 wheel disc brakes are great. Well refined vehicle, first class all the way.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best car for the money!

by Toni from Tampa, FL on Fri Nov 17 2006

I have owned my Camry for almost 10 years. This car is an unbelievable value, very reliable, and a quiet, smooth ride. I only occasionally have to repair it, every couple of years. The only annoying repair was a head gasket which costs more for the labor than for the part. Otherwise, this vehicle wore beautifully. The trunk space allows me to schlep all kinds of gardening supplies across town, and the interior is roomy and comfortable. I can't imagine a better car and am loathe to let this one go!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

excellent car

by vf-guy from Phoenix, AZ on Tue Jun 17 2014

I purchased this car in 2008 with 93,000 mile on it for $1500. It was in good shape, but had some electrical issues that needed to be sorted out. The wiring harness that goes through the front drivers door had some broken wires and I believe the seller just didn't know how to deal with it. I've put about $2000 into the car including the following: wheels, tires, brakes, timing belt, water pump, radiator, cat-back exhaust and miscellaneous items. Most of the work was done myself. The car now has 128,000 miles on it and is extremely reliable. I still have a few things that need attention like a leaking fuel injector and a bad contact in the fuse box that I need to take care of. It could also use new struts and springs, but the parts for these cars are extremely cheap. It's pretty easy to work on, although replacing the timing belt is not fun with the tight clearance to the engine compartment. I drive 52 miles each day round-trip to work with about 1/2 highway and average about 27-28 mpg. The best mileage the car achieved was 34mpg on a long-distance trip with one passenger and about 300 pounds of cargo. The car is cheap to insure and register. It is relatively quiet and is very comfortable to drive. It has a reasonable amount of power for a 4 cylinder. I do find that I prefer to leave the automatic transmission in "power" mode as it moves the shift point to a higher rpm. It shifts closer to what I would do with a manual transmission. I don't do jackrabbit starts by any means so this is the best acceleration/economy setting. The Camry might not be the most glamorous car, but it's cheap, comfortable, and most importantly, reliable transportation around.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First Car

by Alex from on Fri Oct 17 2014

I've owned my 96 Camry LE V6 for a year and a half now, it is my first car and I am very satisfied with the car! Engine, transmission and interior make it for a very quiet and comfortable ride. Suspension if very soft and it soaks up a lot of the bumps in the road if you like that. I have driven this car in the winter and it always started in the -40 temperature in Montreal. Very good winter car, heat and defrost functions work very well and hear will not make your throat dry like some cars. This car is exceptionally fast for a 19 year old car, the engine still has plenty of potential. What I don't like about the car: Very soft suspension, I would like a much harder ride but that's just me. Brakes also are not as powerful as I would like but then again, they work just fine for normal driving. Overall I am very impressed with this car and would not sell it. I am keeping this car until it can no longer run. I have driven other cars and they always make me miss my Camry! It will be a very sad day when (if) it doesn't run anymore but I can't see that happening any time soon!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by APS from Michigan on Tue Aug 14 2018

I adore my 1995 Toyota Camry Le American Edition with sunroof. It's had a bit of a hard life, but even with it's oil leak and quirks I doubt I'll find another car that has so much character and was still reliable after 200xxx. Even in severe cold weather, it's starts up with no hesitation. As I always say, "put oil in it and it'll go forever!"

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Toyota?s are built to last

by Steevet2000@yahoo.com from Birmingham, AL on Tue Jul 03 2018

It?s been a great car. It was used when we bought it 8 years ago. 135,000 miles then, now has 250,000 miles. During this 8 years it has been a great car; reliable, low maintenance, good gas mileage, a joy to drive.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i test drive the car

by dada from st loius on Tue Jul 06 2010

its a good car,1995 but still feels brand new,im looking for something reliable like this but small for my college son,if u have that cash grab it its a good car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

95% perfect

by dipstick from phoenix on Wed Aug 26 2009

Still amazed at how well this vehicle drives after 165K. Wear and tear items are all you ever fix.Reliable.Supreme value for what I have paid.Love this car and it treats me well.Looking for250K or better!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3