1996 Celica

Consumer Reviews

1996 Toyota Celica

$887 - $6,987  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1996 Toyota Celica?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

226,000 and going strong

by Rick from Olympia on Wed Feb 18 2009

I've had my Celica since its birth in 1996. This car was been hit by a semi on I-90 in 19997 and just kept on going with only $3k in repairs. Still have OEM everything. Replaced 5th gear in 2005, but the easy access panel on the manual transmission saved $1000 in repairs since they did not have to drop it out of the car. Gets 35+ mpg on highway and 500 mile range per tank. Drives like a rocket sled on rails in the corners (that's good :-). Can't wait till the Celica makes it come back in 2010/11.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Good; If You Can Find A Good One.

by Cheese from South Florida on Wed Apr 27 2016

So many people tout the reliability of Toyotas. I think any blanket statement like that means that they are over rated. It really depends on the model and even the year. Anyway, what is so special about mid-90's Celicas? The are among the few FWD cars with equal length half-shafts. As a result, you won't feel that sideways sensation of movement under hard acceleration. They go straight go the road. But that takes more engineering, so current FWD try other ways to mask that trait. Without frequent tire rotation, FWD tires wear alot faster than RWD. The Celica was an exception to this. Take a good look at the front exterior design. Just beautiful. The rear not so much unless it was the liftback. Those you find today are worth restoring if they've not been smashed or used to deliver pizzas for ten years.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Tax Lady from Ohio on Wed Jul 19 2006

A joy to drive, extremely reliable, 40-45 mpg, and looks good too. My detail shop makes "her" looks great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Tax Lady from on Fri Apr 10 2009

My investment in this car has really paid off. I would still be driving it if I had not been hit in the parking lot.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hope it lasts forever

by Paulac from UK on Tue Apr 07 2015

I have had my Celica GT for 4 years now and its great. Styling still looks contemporary; almost pretty. Reliability is brilliant with no major works done since new although I had the cam-belt done for peace of mind. I bought it because it had a full service history and a full set of paperwork for even the small items like bulbs and wiper blades and tyres. I don't do a huge amount of miles these days but I love to go out in it some days just for the pleasure of driving it. It still delivers excellent performance; corners well; and seems to thrive on being pushed into higher revs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by smooth trooper from on Mon May 05 2014

bought this car used with 101k miles on it. been driving it daily for 2 years now and over 45k miles. not a single problem with it at all. never done any "major" repairs. rebuilt starter at 130k miles but that was it. best car ive ever had. plan to give it to my newborn son when he is 16. i have no doubt it will last until then

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Koolest Car I Ever Bought

by New to Toyotas from Long Island on Mon Sep 17 2012

I got the 25th year anniversary edition Celica GT convertible. It's styling is way ahead of it's time, which was 1996 by golly! Actually, I wish Toyota still made this car---and KEPT the exact same styling. Some cars just NEVER go out of style! This is not, however, one of those "muscle cars," it just looks like one. Don't get me wrong, it HAS power, and plenty of it. Step on the throttle and you're going to get a "push back" into your bucket seat. Nevertheless, the hard core "bang-my-head-on-the-headrest-why-don't-you people" are not going to be jumping for joy. This is an in-between car that gives you the muscular look and feel but does not cost you those hard-earned muscle bucks! I always say: "Know what you're getting, then go for it!"

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

just like any other old toyota very reliable

by import magazine from chicago on Fri May 18 2007

the car may look nice and drive great very fun to drive. it gets sweet gas millage and if you drive with a heavy foot its still the same considering it not very fast. for a slow car that may look fast i still recomend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by Lightning from Springfield, IL on Thu Jun 12 2014

I used to own a 1996 Toyota Celica GT Convertible & it was off the chain. I'm looking for another one under 2,000 dollars now & can't find one so I will wind up getting a 2004 PT Cruiser my wife loves the Toyota & would rather get it but have no choice to get the PT Cruiser as I can't find a 1996 Toyota Celica GT Convertible automatic for sale.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

celica

by Sports Car Enthusiast from chicago on Mon May 29 2006

it doesn't look like how you think it is.....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2