2001 Celica

Consumer Reviews

2001 Toyota Celica

$232 - $7,376  MSRP Range
2001 Toyota Celica

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

23 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 Toyota Celica?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

No problems,No worries

by NYC/Long Island Driver 28yrs old from Long Island,ny on Mon Feb 23 2009

I purchased the 2001 celica gts brand new. It now has 140,000 miles on it and it runs the same way as day one.Its so fun to drive because the handle is so good. you can drive 55 or 95 and you will still have complete control over it.More importantly i have never had any problems with the car at all.Oil changes and brakes,thats it.The car is eight years old and still looks good on the road.Im getting 30 mpg highway which is another plus.I test drove an 05 mustang and the celica has more interior room than it.I also own a 05 acura tl and while its a more powerful car the celica's handle is way better than it.My wife always drives the tl and i drive the celica and i could care less.i love this car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car

by Love my car! from louisville, Ky on Mon Jul 12 2010

I have had my 2001 Celica since 2004. With 138k miles have only had to replace the temp gauge. Oil changes and cleaning are the most labor intensive thing I have had to do! When everyone else is complaining about gas, and buying gas friendly cars, I was laughing every 3 weeks when I actually had to get gas. Love this car! I will drive it until it falls apart.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable Car Still Going!

by CelicaFan from Montebello, CA on Tue Aug 08 2017

This compact car is fun and has a spacious trunk. Bought it new and still running at about 325,000 after 16 years. Never had any major work done on it. Very reliable and efficient. Low maintenance car! Going to see how far it can go.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Typically super perfect and reliable.

by GenesisBill from Holly Springs, NC on Fri May 26 2017

I bought this car new in 2001 and still own it without having 210,000 miles on it all original still running great I have the hatchback which you can load a surprising amount of stuff in so you can really use this card for moving boxes and bringing things back home from the hardware store and system excellent car keeps on running and is an excellent excellent design.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable and super fun to drive!

by Jimmy Jamz from Fairfield Ct on Thu Apr 19 2018

It's everything expected! It moves and it handles and gets decent gas mileage! I have owned other Toyota and this is clearly better then the sporty Carola and the Nissan Sentra spec v. I have had a Supra and this is a great runner up!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive, but unreliable.

by UltimateFighter from Milford, OH on Thu Apr 20 2017

I really loved my Celica, but every time I replaced a part a different one broke. It was lots of fun to drive, handled extremely well, was great on gas, and looked great. Only reason I took a point off the comfort level is I'm 6'4", and this is not a car designed for tall people. Shorter friends and family loved driving it, and the seats are actually very comfortable even at long distances. From what I've heard, I just got a lemon, as most of the problems I had were uncommon. As long as you have the vehicle checked by a mechanic you trust before you purchase it, I would recommend the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most stylish

by flick64 on Sun Jan 07 2018

the Toyota celica gt was probably the most stylish of all autos owned by my family. They should've kept this car in production.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome little peppy car!

by NannyC from Hilton, NY on Wed Jun 21 2017

I loved my Toyota Celica GT, It was fun to drive and was so stylish that it would turn many heads!! It had a lot of bells and whistles and a moonroof. I had over 150K on it when i was rear ended and forced to give it up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Outstanding classic Japanese sports car.

by Loving the 80's from Ohio on Sun Sep 03 2017

My 2001 Celica gt-s has almost 200k on it and it runs and drives great. It rides like a sports car from the 20th century but it has more style then anything being made today. Although it's not for everyone, I wouldn't trade it for a brand new Lexus even if you through in your mommy's BMW.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I have ever owned

by Rxdude from Texas on Sat Mar 06 2010

I have a 2001 Toyota Celica GT. I bought my car back in the spring of 2007. I still have this car today. I bought this car with 120,000 miles, and it has almost 200,000 miles today. I have NEVER had one single problem with it. Oil changes, tires, and a good wax job every now and then is all it has needed. Correction, I did have to replace the battery one time, but I don't think that really counts. It drives, and looks as good as the day I bought it. I would totally recommend this car to anyone looking for a reliable, fun, and low maintenance car. I wish Toyota still made these cars, I would buy another one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3