2002 Celica

Consumer Reviews
2002 Toyota Celica

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

20 Reviews
2002 Toyota Celica
4.1 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.6 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Puts some spice in a commuter car

by Kengel from Roxbury, CT on April 28, 2011

I just bought my 02 Celica GT on Tuesday. I'm using it to commute to school next year, naturally my father wanted me to get a Civic, Corolla, etc. however the Celica was a great middle ground for the two of us. It gets great MPG and has the famous Toyota reliability. I work at a garage and drive other peoples cars all the time, and I've never found a clutch this tight, not in brand new Imprezas or Mini Coopers. Not only does it have all the basic features of a good commuter car, but it steps out of the box and looks great, and drives like a dream. Also, being the 18 year old guy that I am this car is a great starting point for some basic modifications to make it really my own. In short, I couldn't ask for a better economy/commuter car, it's practical and sporty at the same time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second Car!

by Patrick from Kansas City, MO on September 28, 2006

When I got my driver's license, the first car I had was a 2004 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS with a 5 spd manual transmission. It felt slow, uncontrollable, and dull, as well as having poor gas mileage. I got tired of that car, and decided to give the Celica GT-S a try. Ever since the first time I took it out on the test drive, I have been in love with this car. The handling capabilities of this thing are off the wall. There is no better feeling in this car than taking a sharp curve, downshifting to second, then flooring it on the upcoming straight away to above 6k rpms. It pulls hard when the vvt-i lift system takes over. I can make great launches in this car and love driving it 45 minutes to school each day. It gets great gas mileage. It is the most enjoyable car I have ever driven. I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a great car to drive hard day-to-day.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by Toyota Lover from Cincinnati, OH on March 22, 2007

Wonderful car! Never had a single problem with it, dependable, sporty, great gas miles and comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car has a fan club!

by Tracy from Texas on August 24, 2006

Every time I drive my red Celica, people are constantly commenting on what a great car it is, they love the design! More importantly I love the design! This car has never given me a moments trouble! If you're looking for a fun car, with great gas mileage, no mechanical problems and that definitely turns heads, this car is for you!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Practical yet Sporty

by GT-S Driver from Brea, CA on July 15, 2009

Great gas mileage. Routinely get 35 - 39 MPG city/hwy combined. Car is very light and the handling is tight & responsive. The Action Package kit is very nice. Very reliable. Have had this car for 150,000 miles without any major prob. Here are the downsides: 1)Low torque. 1st - 3rd gear requires high rev if you want to challenge other high perf cars on the road. 2)Performance is hindered when the A/C is on. 3) My car has a chronic belt sqeak at start up. The belt tensioner was replaced, but the problem persists. Could be due to poor workmanship at the dealership.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Celica Enthusiast from Austin, TX on March 11, 2010

Found it at Cars.com 250-mi from here. Excellent condition for almost 100K-miles but Celicas are good for at least 250K without a major overhaul. This one gets over 30-mpg and hums right along. All the bells and whistles of expensive cars with leather seats, pwr doors windows alarm auto cold air etc. This is my first 7th generation Celica; used to have a '95. I love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Car

by TRD.Aaron from Miramar, FL on September 2, 2008

This car is absolutely amazing, gets me from point a to point b and a whole lot more! I get between 34-36 mpg combined city and highway, although thats granny driving its still better than a lot of hybrids out there. The sytling of the car is ok but with the trd package or tsunami package its awesome. The 1zz engine of the GT isn't spectacular but is fast enough for an 18 year old who likes to speed at certain times and have some fun on the highway. Last but not least the Reliability is legendary and stands true to the Toyota name.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect

by Shapeshifter_CRO from City of Zagreb, Croatia on January 4, 2012

I'm from a small state Croatia in Europe and I bought this car (VVT-i 143 HP) about a month ago with 110.000 km, 6-speed manual. Works fantastic! All 1ZZ-FE motors may have the same problems about the oil consumption before 2003. In my case: 1L oil / 7000 km. Normal. Toyota says that the normal oil consumption may be 1L/1000 km! Feeling is great, looks great, all mechanical parts works fine, economical. Few friends got the same model and two of them have TS (VVTL-i 192 HP) and none of them does not have any problems at all. Very good car! Greetings from Zagreb, Croatia!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Toyota Celica is a winner

by Sir Thomas from Marion, IN on July 10, 2013

We just purchased a 2002 Celica for our son, who absolutely loves it. The car gets great gas mileage, averaging around 30 MPG, and has styling like no other car on the road. He really enjoys the compliments his friends give on this unique, sporty car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Oil Burner

by stock car from Taylor, Michigan on March 10, 2015

Great car, oil leaker. I have taken good care, but forgot to check the oil during a trip and now I'm looking for a engine.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2