2002 Highlander

Consumer Reviews
2002 Toyota Highlander

Change Vehicle
4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

28 Reviews
2002 Toyota Highlander
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very dependable, great performance

by recruit307 from Washington DC on October 15, 2013

I have had this car for 12 years, still drives like new. Gas mileage is ok, not great, but that is what you get with a 2002 4WD 6 cylinder. Handles great, very dependable, good in the snow or dry pavement. This engine is a workhorse. I had the same engine in my Solara and Avalon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Pleased!

by Doug from Berkley,,MI on April 7, 2013

I recently purchased my 2002 Toyota Highlander from the Tom Wood Jaguar dealership in Indianapolis, IN. I'm very happy and pleased with the car. It had 104,000 miles and I'm anticipating having no problems with driving it for another 250,000 miles. The only complaint that I have is a small squeaking noise coming from the inside of the vehicle.The previous owner took excellent care of the vehicle. I have received many comments from friends and relatives stating that they can't believe how clean and nice the car looks. The carfax report was clean on the vehicle. I would not have purchased the vehicle without the FREE carfax report from the dealer, it was a must in my decision making process! On a scale of 1-10 of overall satisfaction of the vehicle and Toyota, I would give them both a sound 10.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by Denise from Burbank, CA on January 27, 2018

I waited for a 2002 because I didn't want to try the very first model. This car has been very reliable. A couple timing belts, an oxygen sensor and routine maintenance was all it needed to get to 290,000! Since then, it's started leaking oil. I spent $2000 on a repair (not at a Toyota dealer), but don't think it was done right. I'm adding oil as needed, hoping to make it to 300k! Then I'll buy another one!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Second most reliable SUV I've owned.

by An enthusiast of this vintage SUV from Olympia area on December 18, 2012

Just recently purchased... this vehicle should last me a few years even though it's 10 years old, it had one owner, with 47,000 miles clocked. It has the Base Trim with an "Option Package B"... installed during the manufacturing process, i.e. Leather; seats, steering wheel, shifter knob, door trim. Rear spoiler, six spoke alloy wheels with locks, roof rack, 8-way power seat w/lumber support, privacy glass. Came with new Michelin tires, new WeatherTech floor mats, 6-month power train warranty. Has a few scuff marks under front bumper and rear mud flaps otherwise in excellent condition. Exterior: millennium silver metallic. I'm happy! miguelito.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Highlander

by bern from Lincoln, RI on September 18, 2014

Best SUV i have ever owned-love Toyotas! My 2002 has 140000 miles and is getting tired but i hate to sell it. Ride is solid and roomy. Drives well in snow. Few repairs-nothing major. HIGHLY RECOMMEND TOYOTA. We also have a 2004 Camry that has been wonderful. Had a 1997 Camry before it and it was super too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great comfortable ride

by Bucke from on May 30, 2017

This car is very reliable. Only thing is it does not have great gas mileage since there is only 4 speed transmission.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable and comfortable car i own

by jgem07 from Hampton, Ct on June 27, 2018

is has plenty of room, comfortable and can position any way I feel comfortable driving it, is al very good at all weather types summer or winter.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good quality car

by top notch driver from Overland Park, Ks on April 7, 2013

Good quality car; for transporting kids to/from activities, along with carrying their equipment or school necessities.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

by Toby1312 from Bellingham on January 31, 2018

I loved my 02 highlander I drove it for al.ost 2 yrs, but had a accident t Totaled out the car. I miss it . Great gas mile per gallon, comfortable, smooth driving. I will be getting another highlander hopefully a t hird row, I missed that from my van. That's only downfall

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Sadly Disapointed

by tm from Chicago, IL on July 30, 2013

11 yrs ago, I purchased my very first new 2002 Toyota Highlander. I was told that Toyota vehicles last a long time. Sadly to report, not in this case. My vehicle started burning oil at 130,000 miles, burning between 4-5 quarts of oil between oil changes. The dealership told me that I need a new engine. Since, the warranty had expired replacing the engine is my responsibility. I service my vehicle as required therefore I don't understand why I need a new engine. Also experiencing issue with the window on the driver side. The window rolls down as I turn the car off and close the door. There is sometimes a delay when the window rolls down.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2002 Toyota Highlander