2002 Highlander

Consumer Reviews

2002 Toyota Highlander

$2,914 - $7,926  MSRP Range
2002 Toyota Highlander

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

28 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Toyota Highlander?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very dependable, great performance

by recruit307 from Washington DC on Tue Oct 15 2013

I have had this car for 12 years, still drives like new. Gas mileage is ok, not great, but that is what you get with a 2002 4WD 6 cylinder. Handles great, very dependable, good in the snow or dry pavement. This engine is a workhorse. I had the same engine in my Solara and Avalon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by Denise from Burbank, CA on Sat Jan 27 2018

I waited for a 2002 because I didn't want to try the very first model. This car has been very reliable. A couple timing belts, an oxygen sensor and routine maintenance was all it needed to get to 290,000! Since then, it's started leaking oil. I spent $2000 on a repair (not at a Toyota dealer), but don't think it was done right. I'm adding oil as needed, hoping to make it to 300k! Then I'll buy another one!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Highlander

by bern from Lincoln, RI on Thu Sep 18 2014

Best SUV i have ever owned-love Toyotas! My 2002 has 140000 miles and is getting tired but i hate to sell it. Ride is solid and roomy. Drives well in snow. Few repairs-nothing major. HIGHLY RECOMMEND TOYOTA. We also have a 2004 Camry that has been wonderful. Had a 1997 Camry before it and it was super too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Second most reliable SUV I've owned.

by An enthusiast of this vintage SUV from Olympia area on Tue Dec 18 2012

Just recently purchased... this vehicle should last me a few years even though it's 10 years old, it had one owner, with 47,000 miles clocked. It has the Base Trim with an "Option Package B"... installed during the manufacturing process, i.e. Leather; seats, steering wheel, shifter knob, door trim. Rear spoiler, six spoke alloy wheels with locks, roof rack, 8-way power seat w/lumber support, privacy glass. Came with new Michelin tires, new WeatherTech floor mats, 6-month power train warranty. Has a few scuff marks under front bumper and rear mud flaps otherwise in excellent condition. Exterior: millennium silver metallic. I'm happy! miguelito.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best overall vehicle I have ever owned!

by RevJewell from Zephyrhills, Florida on Fri Aug 10 2018

This vehicle was very solid in handling, was comfortable in all positions of the car. I pulled an 18 foot camper over 8,000 miles without any difficulties and received excellent gas mileage. If I could afford one now I would be driving another one. I put just over 150,000 miles and just had normal maintenance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car Ever owned.

by NSos on Wed Aug 16 2017

Drove it to 200 thousand miles without skipping a beat. Most reliable vehicle I have owned. I am scared to get a new car and be disappointed if it does not last the same amount of time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good quality car

by top notch driver from Overland Park, Ks on Sun Apr 07 2013

Good quality car; for transporting kids to/from activities, along with carrying their equipment or school necessities.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great comfortable ride

by Bucke from on Tue May 30 2017

This car is very reliable. Only thing is it does not have great gas mileage since there is only 4 speed transmission.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car purchase I've ever made.

by #1toyotafan from Twin Falls on Fri Jun 15 2018

I am an original owner of a 2002 Toyota Highlander and I am very happy with it. With 215,000 miles i'm told by the dealership that there is still a lot of life in it. The only repairs have been the thermostat, the timing belt, and most recently a transmission leak that was $1500. But after 16 years, that isn't bad at all. The finish is still glossy black.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

by Toby1312 from Bellingham on Wed Jan 31 2018

I loved my 02 highlander I drove it for al.ost 2 yrs, but had a accident t Totaled out the car. I miss it . Great gas mile per gallon, comfortable, smooth driving. I will be getting another highlander hopefully a t hird row, I missed that from my van. That's only downfall

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2002 Toyota Highlander

A few years ago, when Toyota announced that by 2001 the company would have no fewer than seven sport utility vehicles - including two sold by its upscale division, Lexus - many of us figured that would be about three too many.

We were wrong. While sales of the aging Toyota 4Runner have sagged slightly as the model awaits an update, the rest of the Toyota/Lexus SUV lineup is robust. There's a small SUV, the Toyota Rav4; two medium-sized car-based SUVs, the Lexus RX300 and Toyota Highlander; a medium-sized truck-based model, the 4Runner, and three big truck-based utes, the Toyota Land Cruiser, the Lexus LX470 and the Toyota Sequoia.

A few of these models, such as the Land Cruiser, sell in comparatively... Read More