2003 Highlander

Consumer Reviews

2003 Toyota Highlander

$3,509 - $9,277  MSRP Range
2003 Toyota Highlander

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

32 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Toyota Highlander?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 2003 Highlander Limited

by Nino Sforza Polo from San Jose, CA on Sat Jul 04 2015

I am a very satisfied customer. This car has to be one of the top five (5) smartest purchases of my life. After more than 195,000 miles this car just keeps on going. Sure, it's had its typical repairs: timing belts = twice, new brake pads = twice, A/C = twice, cleaning of the throttle body = twice, and new spark plugs ($600 for all, ouch) = once. But after 14 years it runs amazingly well. It is so smooth. It still has great get-up-and-go, and the gas mileage hasn't lost any of its frugality. And believe-you-me, I gave it some abuse. For example, I had to run almost a year before and oil change (life was too busy, in-between jobs, etc.). And I am embarrassed that I let the engine oil level fall to the last line on the stick. But I share these dumb events because I think it makes the car look more attractive because it runs like it is only a year old. So that's my story - I love my 2003 Highlander Limited.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Toyotas are the best

by Garrysgal from Crawfordville, FL on Tue Feb 28 2012

This is our third Toyota and before that we had Honda's. I wish the American auto makers could make a good used vehicle that was just as reliable as a Toyota. And one that we could afford to get into.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Irreplaceable

by WhoWouldSitInABucket? from Seattle, Wa on Sun Jun 25 2017

I have been trying to find an affordable, reliable used car to replace my Highlander for over a year. I am spoiled! I have a very bad back, and can ride in my Highlander Limited on extended road trips or city driving all day with no back pain. This is due to the highly adjustable driver's seat, the very comfortable flat bench back seat. I detest third row seats and bucket seats are excruciatingly painful to sit in for more than about 15 minutes. I do regular oil changes with synthetic oil, and apart from regular maintenance issues like replacing fuses and bulbs, battery and brakes, this car has performed like a dream machine. Has 209,200 miles. Engine and tranny going strong! I found out after purchasing the car from private party it had been t-boned and repaired, no frame damage, and didn't show up on carfax by the way, but I paid $13000 when it had 75k. It has been well worth it. I don't like what Toyota has done to the Highlander since then! They have ruined a perfectly fine car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great all around car

by SUV fan from Indiana on Tue Feb 22 2011

Very versitile, great space, very good milage. I have 125,000 miles on it and just had the brakes done for the first time, have never replaced the spark plugs. Still runs great, super car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love Toyota products

by golf nut from Lancaster, PA on Sun Feb 10 2013

The Highlander has more creature comforts than a 4runner that I had before. I sold my 4Runner with 281,000 miles on so if this does nearly as well, I'll be ahead of the game.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent ride

by thekeroffs from Urbandale, IA on Tue Jul 04 2017

Great vehicle - ride is quiet and comfortable, good gas mileage, great horsepower, love the heated and leather seats

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my hylander

by Michelle c from Thorndale Ontario on Tue Jul 31 2018

2003 no rust drives amazing ,good on gas , lots of room , I have 4 grandkids,so dependable I live on dirt road and put allot of kilometres on in a week and it takes a beating the poor shape of my road with pot xxxxx And all. But when I?m in city and it?s all washed up looks brand new. You?d never know it?s 2003 .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I ever owned, made 150000 miles

by GeorgeB from Farmington on Mon Jun 26 2017

No wonder that Toyota Highlander is the best SUV in its class as stated in to Consumer Reports. A lot of space for whole family, great on the snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It's still running well.

by Jes from Beaverton on Thu Aug 17 2017

It's been mostly reliable provided scheduled maintenance are performed timely. The service and parts at the dealership are kind of expensive but when they offer coupons, it's well worth it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressive Vehicle

by BD from Henrico, VA on Sat Jun 16 2018

This car met my son's needs. It will allow him to haul kayaks for fishing and his stuff from home to college. The four wheel drive will come in handy in the winter. We are very pleased with the Highlander.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2003 Toyota Highlander

If you're looking for an SUV and don't want to spend a lot of time running around looking at prospects, you couldn't do any better than to try the nearest Toyota store.

The esteemed fabricator has five variations on the theme, running from the inexpensive RAV4 "cute ute" (starts at $17,035) all the way up to the indomitable Land Cruiser (pretty complete at $53,595).

There are several interesting way stations on the climb through the ranks - the 4Runner (soon to appear in reinvented form), the Sequoia and the Highlander.

In many ways, the most desirable member of the family is the Highlander, rather like Mama Bear's porridge, not too big and not too small. It's roughly comparable to the Ford... Read More