2003 Highlander

Consumer Reviews
2003 Toyota Highlander

Change Vehicle
4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

31 Reviews
2003 Toyota Highlander
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I've ever had!

by Owner of a 2003 Toyota Highlander from Baton Rouge, La. on July 24, 2011

The 2003 Highlander is AWESOME! It's Great on gas and has a 4 star safety rating! This is THE BEST VEHICLE I'VE EVER OWNED!!!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Toyotas are the best

by Garrysgal from Crawfordville, FL on February 28, 2012

This is our third Toyota and before that we had Honda's. I wish the American auto makers could make a good used vehicle that was just as reliable as a Toyota. And one that we could afford to get into.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Irreplaceable

by WhoWouldSitInABucket? from Seattle, Wa on June 25, 2017

I have been trying to find an affordable, reliable used car to replace my Highlander for over a year. I am spoiled! I have a very bad back, and can ride in my Highlander Limited on extended road trips or city driving all day with no back pain. This is due to the highly adjustable driver's seat, the very comfortable flat bench back seat. I detest third row seats and bucket seats are excruciatingly painful to sit in for more than about 15 minutes. I do regular oil changes with synthetic oil, and apart from regular maintenance issues like replacing fuses and bulbs, battery and brakes, this car has performed like a dream machine. Has 209,200 miles. Engine and tranny going strong! I found out after purchasing the car from private party it had been t-boned and repaired, no frame damage, and didn't show up on carfax by the way, but I paid $13000 when it had 75k. It has been well worth it. I don't like what Toyota has done to the Highlander since then! They have ruined a perfectly fine car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great all around car

by SUV fan from Indiana on February 22, 2011

Very versitile, great space, very good milage. I have 125,000 miles on it and just had the brakes done for the first time, have never replaced the spark plugs. Still runs great, super car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 2003 Highlander Limited

by Nino Sforza Polo from San Jose, CA on July 4, 2015

I am a very satisfied customer. This car has to be one of the top five (5) smartest purchases of my life. After more than 195,000 miles this car just keeps on going. Sure, it's had its typical repairs: timing belts = twice, new brake pads = twice, A/C = twice, cleaning of the throttle body = twice, and new spark plugs ($600 for all, ouch) = once. But after 14 years it runs amazingly well. It is so smooth. It still has great get-up-and-go, and the gas mileage hasn't lost any of its frugality. And believe-you-me, I gave it some abuse. For example, I had to run almost a year before and oil change (life was too busy, in-between jobs, etc.). And I am embarrassed that I let the engine oil level fall to the last line on the stick. But I share these dumb events because I think it makes the car look more attractive because it runs like it is only a year old. So that's my story - I love my 2003 Highlander Limited.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best vehicle ever

by jonnybang from toledo oh on March 21, 2016

best vehicle I have EVER owned! i bought it when it had 92,000 miles on it and i now have 198,000 thousand miles on it and it hasnt givin me a lick of a problem ...best money ive spent on a car ever!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love Toyota products

by golf nut from Lancaster, PA on February 10, 2013

The Highlander has more creature comforts than a 4runner that I had before. I sold my 4Runner with 281,000 miles on so if this does nearly as well, I'll be ahead of the game.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent ride

by thekeroffs from Urbandale, IA on July 4, 2017

Great vehicle - ride is quiet and comfortable, good gas mileage, great horsepower, love the heated and leather seats

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It's still running well.

by Jes from Beaverton on August 17, 2017

It's been mostly reliable provided scheduled maintenance are performed timely. The service and parts at the dealership are kind of expensive but when they offer coupons, it's well worth it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I ever owned, made 150000 miles

by GeorgeB from Farmington on June 26, 2017

No wonder that Toyota Highlander is the best SUV in its class as stated in to Consumer Reports. A lot of space for whole family, great on the snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2003 Toyota Highlander