2006 Matrix

Consumer Reviews

2006 Toyota Matrix

$2,078 - $10,318  MSRP Range
2006 Toyota Matrix

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

29 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Toyota Matrix?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE this car!

by ohwise1 from St. Louis, MO on Sun Jul 16 2006

'06 XR w traction & stability control, electronic braking assist. Seats more comfortable than the Camry it replaced. Nimble, feels very stable on highway even in high winds - handles curvy roads like the tires were velcro. It's like a magic trick when you walk up to the compact exterior, open the door and find an incredible amount of interior space that you never dreamed could be found in the cute little thing... Other car is an Avalon and I opt to drive this on long trips (1700+ miles). Get 27-29 MPG in city and 30-36 on highway, depends on if I'm wearing the 'lead-footed' or the 'behave-yourself' shoes. Love the high seat position and the micro-adjustable heating/cooling dash vents.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for the buck!

by Zartan from Huntington, NY on Thu Apr 05 2007

I got a 06 matrix xr. Love the car! Pros - head room, flexibility with cargo space and mileage. The interior is nicely designed, but the materials are not that strong. The cargo space is the best - hauled a nice 2-seater couch and even a futon from ikea!! With the car fully loaded with 5 passengers and luggage travelled comfortably on long road trips. Nice car overall.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota hit the bulls eye!

by Matrix Expert from Orange County, CA on Sun May 14 2006

I recently purchased the Matrix XRS trim. I fell in love at first sight. Yes it is a different looking car, even my own twin brother hates the looks. But it is as close to a funcional sports car as you can get. First off, is space: Head and leg room is immense. My 6'5" father can relax quite comfortably in the passenger seat. Even without the rear seats folded down rear cargo room is insane. Toyota has made the most of every nook and crany for storage. 2 weeks after purchase, I was still finding nick nack storage. The XRS has great acceleration, even without taking it to the 8200rpm redline. Ride is quiet while crusing, but loud on accelation(which I like) and the engine and exhaust howls like a banshee beyond 6000rpm. Braking is very responsive and stable. Even with my typical youth driving, I still average 25 miles a gallon. For those interested in the base and XR: Funcionality and interior space is exactly the same as the XRS, the only difference is the drivetrain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Car You'll Grow To Love

by Alx from Mountain View, CA on Wed Mar 14 2007

Best car I have ever owned. Lots of cargo room with high gas mileage. You can't beat that. Better handling than an suv. You just cannot dislike this car. It has too many pros. I would recommend this vehicle definitely.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car for the money!

by El Chitester from Martinsburg, WV on Fri May 25 2007

I love this car. Not only does it look good it handles great. Even in the winter with icy conditions and a state of emergency declared I had no problem getting around in my XR!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A perfect car!

by Savvy buyer. from San Francisco on Mon Jun 26 2006

Very quiet, roomy & good gas mileage. I will definitely buy it again. My friend bought a 2005 Matrix after I picked her up from SF airport by my 2004 MAtrix. Both she & I found the Matrix very handy/spacious when we moved to our new apartments. I drive back from IKEA w/ a queen size bed frame & mattress in this car. The only problem is the rear passenger seats are not that comfortable because of limited leg space.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top Notch

by Driver from Ok on Mon Feb 05 2007

This is the best car to come down the pike in a long time. Inexpensive and fun at the same time, with Toyota's Customary Reliablity as a given, this is one you'll own for a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by big dogg from vallejo ,ca on Fri Sep 24 2010

great car all over ,good milaege, very comfortable ,and very reliable, ,and you can do alot with it ,hall the family and put do the back seats and go to home depot, mine is a automatic ,and it is a fast little car,and my wife and kids also drive it and enjoy it with no problems

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Gets pretty decent gas mileage and comfortable too

by Techwhiz95 from Tyler, TX on Sat May 06 2017

I think this car is a really good car that gets pretty decent gas mileage(28 city and 34 highway), I really like the way it looks especially the sloped and sharp styling that it has on the outside, and it's got plenty of room too although I wish the interior wasn't so cheap looking with everything being plastic instead of more premium materials like vinyl or something especially for a car that cost $17,000 back in 2006. It's not too big and it's not too small either so it would make for the perfect economy car! I also wished that the engine wasn't so underpowered but it's peppy, pretty reliable, and gets pretty decent gas mileage so I can't really complain and with just over 140,000 miles on it, it still runs great! Toyotas last forever as they say.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliability a Concern?

by Need Economy from Indianapolis on Sun Feb 21 2010

It must have been tough to find people who were afraid to rely on their Toyota because of recalls-- I can tell you that it's been about 20 years since I've owned a Toyota and I'm really happy with this car. The design, fit, comfort, economy and the overall dependability is great! I'm very satisfied with the Matrix, and I'd recommend a Matrix to anyone looking for a well designed car that gets good fuel economy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3