2009 Matrix

Consumer Reviews
2009 Toyota Matrix

Change Vehicle
4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

34 Reviews
2009 Toyota Matrix
4.3 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

It's Cute too!

by Economy can be fun from Asheville, NC on June 28, 2011

I love my Matrix! With a 40 mile rt commute and weekend traveling to play gigs, I needed to trade my '96 Tacoma (with 240K miles) in on something a bit more... umm... trustworthy. The Matrix is fun to drive and has the modern comforts like CD/MP3 player, remote, etc. that all the grownups already have! I have the zippy 2.4 L engine but it still gets 35 MPG on trips. Mine is bright red, so it's kind of cute too. I've had it for 6 months and still have quite a crush on it1

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I truly love this car

by Brian 1977 from Captains cove, VA on April 27, 2008

This car is simply fun. I cant think of a more versatile car, with more space and functionality, with better gas mileage. 31 mpg with sport utility space. If gas hits 4 bux a gallon, i have the best possible car buy on the market. Get the 1.8 liter engine and the base trim with the power package. It gives you every thing you need. its fun, sporty, and practicle. With a new baby, everything fits in easily. strollers, pack and plays, ... everything. And at the end of the day. its a toyota. In five years... you'll probably get half of what you paid for it in a traid. That allows you to easily move up the car food chain with each toyota purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Matrix

by Matrix Fan from Norman, OK on April 14, 2013

I am thrilled with the 2009 Toyota Matrix. It handles so well it is effortless. Quiet engine, smooth in every way. Interior great. Couldn't ask for a better vehicle for the price. Very glad I made this purchase. You will, too. The hatchback is fabulous. Great for loading/unloading groceries. Much better than a trunk.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very dependable and reliable car

by Kyle from Denver, CO from CO on May 26, 2017

The Matrix S doesn't have the best exterior looks I think. The car is great in the snow and not bad driving up to the mountains. No blind spots when driving the car, so that's good. Great car overall.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awsome !!!

by Andrew B from Suniside, Fl on January 8, 2014

A little sporty, a lot practical, amazingly reliable. Design is Clean & Simple, Driving is Balanced & Poised. Quick & smooth without being completely lifeless. A sport hatch for the pragmatic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible car

by Love good cars from lincoln ne on June 29, 2011

I have owned this car for 3 years and it is awesome. have had no problems. great gas mileage. fun, sporty, comfortable. easy 4 people ride. traveled 536 miles monthly and had incredible gas mileage...uppper 30s. loved my ac plug!!! could charge the computer, DS, cell phone, etc with no adapter. satellite radio cool. just a comfortable reliable ride for 3 years. my lease is up and i am purchasing the car. wouldn't trade it for the world(:

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

love it and 2.4 liter engine and manual makes it

by money saver from san diego on November 28, 2011

Love the matrix s model with 2.4 liter engine. got manual for more fun...Well built and quiet for small car...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wanna smooth ride

by Karenjohnson from Tacoma on September 10, 2017

This car was everything I was looking for. My boys had more room in back had more storage. It was easy to get in and out of. Never had issues with it.. Gois for going to the OCEAN with. Loved it for me and my family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Totally happy with the MATRIX...

by geneo from TEXAS on June 9, 2014

Beautiful car, economical and holds the road like glue. The ergonomics are very good, and the 5 speed allows for exceptional hyper mile driving ...!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great so far...

by RobertL from Portland, Oregon on April 22, 2008

Everything is really enjoyable, only minor complaint is a little road noise and feel through the floor. Love it so far...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2009 Toyota Matrix