2000 MR2

Consumer Reviews

2000 Toyota MR2

$2,899 - $10,595  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

8 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Toyota MR2?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Half price boxster

by Fred from Hernando Fl. on Tue Mar 22 2011

My wife said no motorcycle, so i got the next best thing, a go cart. The handling and brakes are superb. I never get bored with it's looks. The interior is a bit dated and shows some cost cutting. I've had the car since 11/04 and ALWAYS enjoy starting it up and hitting the road. Other then the check engine light being on for about 5 yrs. for an O2 sensor, nothing has gone wrong. I've never been under 30mpg for a tankful and thats running regular fuel. I plan on keeping it as long as possible for my weekend guilty pleasure.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great bang for the buck

by rjkpic from Southeast Michigan on Wed Nov 24 2010

I purchased my spyder for the sole purpose of reworking the engine to make it a true performer. All reviews that I read about it were extremely favorable as a roadster. The only negative was that Toyota designed it to just barely surpass the Miata in perfomance. Its weight, braking, comfort is excellent for any price range. I had mine professionally tuned to 400 bhp and all I can say is WOW! Its breaking, handling, and now exceleration is excellent. For bigger individuals, getting in and out of the vehicle could be difficult, especially if one is not very flexible, but the car is very comfortable once in place. It is not a utility vehicle. If you are looking for a nice looking, excellent handling roadster, at least test drive this car. I'm sure you will like it. You might even love it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonder weekender..

by Love cars.... from Glen Ellyn, Il on Fri Aug 09 2013

Finally found a fun car. This was a find that is very rare, but it can happen to find a older car with low miles and in excellent condition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Smiles per Miles!

by Painfully Honest on Mon Jul 09 2018

The third generation MR2 has stood the test of time. Even after 18yrs it still looks great with it's classic proportions and design. Sports car thrills with Toyota reliability!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Which way is it going?

by TacoFan from Columbus, Ohio on Thu Jul 13 2017

So for style it is just average IMO.. But the drive is a blast.. it handles like it is on rails, is low to the ground, the top is not only easy to use, but is easy to replace. The driving experience is amazing, it's a light weight toy.. the manual transmission is the only way to buy one, you could get the automated clutch version, but that wrecks the experience. Build quality is late 90's toyota solid. The 1zzfed under the hood is a JDM import of the corolla motor, the difference being forged internals, bigger and stronger bottom end, and some other electronic tweaks, this while it shares some parts with the corolla motor, is NOT the corolla motor.. In N/A form, it is fast enough for most, but mine had a small turbo kit installed, which made it crazy fast.. it weighs nearly nothing.. All that said here is what to look out for.. The frame is pretty tight on them, so any rattles or squeaks should be investigates, as they are typically an indication that it has been wrecked. The exhaust manifold on N/A 2000-2002 models had a catastrophic failure where they would create vacuum and suck the shrapnel of the catalytic converter back into the engine, which would cause major internal damage, cars with the stock manifold for this reason should be avoided, unless it is a very low mileage car. The front strut mounts used cheap nylon bushings, which over time deteriorate, this can and will likely cause noise in the front end over bumps, and in tight steering. You will need new struts, and all the hardware to resolve this issue, which installed expect the 2k dollar range of cost to have fixed.. Totally mint, top of the line cars will run you 7-9K dollars with all options, they IMO are the one's to buy, 3-5K dollar cars typically have high mileage, and while not a big deal in a 2 seater Toyota, the cost for some repairs can get expensive, and honestly in the long run it's cheaper to buy the nicer car. This car is the only small sports car i fit in, the miata, even in new trim, i am just too tall to drive, but the MR2 in all forms has always been a underdog champ of space for tall enthusiasts. Down sides; No storage space, and at highway speed it's not geared to do 70+mph for a long period of time. But it is a back-road champ!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2000 MR2 Spyder

by Staffshouse from Vancouver, BC on Mon Jan 09 2012

Parts VERY difficult to get in Canada. Dealers don't carry and auto shops don't carry a lot of the parts either. Poor reliability on parts - replacing Fuel pump and passneger side window motor. OEM parts are $500 and $800. Great little car bu expensive to keep up

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Sports Car Enthusiast from New York, NY on Mon Oct 08 2007

SOOOOO Reliable. I Love it. I want to keep it sooooooooooo bad. It accerlerates sooooooo fast. The price should be soooooooooo much higher.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun, fun, fun!

by DW from Raleigh, NC on Mon Nov 13 2017

I love driving this car with the top down, it's so much fun! It hugs the road and it's super responsive. I hate to have to let it go...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2000 Toyota MR2

According to the industry publication Automotive News, there are 1,314 car and truck models on the market. It's little wonder that few models truly stand out in this sea of sheetmetal.

The Toyota MR2 Spyder is one that does.

The MR2 Spyder was reintroduced to the American market for the 2000 model year after a five-year hiatus. That it is back in the market is news enough.

After all, there are few cars at any price with the MR2's layout: a two-seat convertible with engine mounted mid-ship. By mounting the engine behind the seats, but ahead of the rear axle, the car's weight is evenly split front-to-back. For the enthusiast driver, this perfect weight balance enhances the driving experience.

The only... Read More