2003 MR2

Consumer Reviews

2003 Toyota MR2

$3,800 - $13,776  MSRP Range
2003 Toyota MR2

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

28 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2003 Toyota MR2?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Looks more exotic than it is

by Grumpy from Charleston, SC on Fri Dec 14 2007

The MR2 is an outstanding value. Blending exceptional weight/hp ratio with eye catching exterior styling. The mid-engine makes for near perfect weight distribution. While it corners like it's on rails, watch out on wet roads. Girls and women always want rides even from a balding middle aged guy with a beer belly and wedding ring. Even my teenaged son's friends want me to drive them around earning me a 'cool dad' title. The limited number produced means you seldom see more than 1 in a parking lot. The roof goes up and down quickly. On the down side, as the front and rear tires are different sizes, typical tire rotation doesn't work. You can also find yourself having to order the tires. If you've picked up a nail, you could have a problem. I've had roadsters since my '77 MG. The MR2 has styling, handling and reliability that makes it a great deal.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite car!

by Airmail from Columbia, SC on Sat Jul 19 2008

This car is a wonderful blend of power, economy and style. Total strangers wave & tell how much they like it. It has a very 'Top shelf' appeal and attitude about it... people assume you have money. I can pull into the no parking lane at any store, park with the top down, and never have any trouble. I just smile and wave to people on the way out.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

hot

by sosclaude from montreal,canada on Tue Apr 17 2012

this is my second mr2 i wanted a semi auto but needed the six speed cause i do a lot of highway these cars handle like theay are go carts each curve is pure adrenalyn rush toyota reliability and esae of maintenance have convinced me too bad for my porsche but i do not have the patience to deal with such a picky and expensive third vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

by Ms2 from FL on Tue Aug 31 2010

This car will turn a corner and heads very quickly. MR2 was thought to be Midship Runabout, at least that is what is says on my car. If you can find one buy it and enjoy. Reliabilty can't be beat and it is great on gas. Whoever said money can't buy you love.... well they haven't owed an MR2.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Top shelf performance at a budget price

by Spyderman from Vail, AZ on Fri Sep 25 2009

Inside the cabin the fit is not unlike a T shirt that is slightly snug. The handling and performance on anything from a twisting mountain road to freeway blasting or city cruising in this head turner must be experienced. The top drops easily if you are inclined to catch some rays while cruising. The mid engine design and low center of gravity makes the car corner as if on rails. I have not yet been able to make the rear end loose grip on dry pavement when turning hard and fast. Could use about 20 more horse power, but I find if I rev mine up over 4000 rpms when shifting, it is still pretty fast because it is so light. I call it my poor mans Porsche.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mr2 Spyder 2003

by Pierrerialta from Joliette, Quebec, CANADA on Sat Mar 05 2011

Best exotic sport car for low money. Driven since one year without any problem. Cheap on gaz. Show over 120 000 miles and run like new. Remember, it's a Toyota.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Car

by Green&Tan MR2 from Raleigh, NC on Wed Apr 06 2011

I bought my 2003 MR2 Spyder in 2006, certified pre-owned. It's a shame that Toyota has stopped making these, because they truly are a gem. The leather seats are comfortable, acceleration is great for a 4-cylinder, the clutch has a nice spring to it, breaks are very responsive, and cornering/turning are second to none. And if you're on the short side like I am, and you often feel that most cars are a little too big for you, this one will be the perfect fit. I've spent nothing other than routine maintenance. The only negatives that you should be aware of are 1) between the loud engine and the air blowing over the canvas rooftop, it's a loud ride, and 2) the tires are EXPENSIVE and hard to find - they have to be ordered in advance. But these two things aren't enough to make me rate the car less than a 5. For comfort, luxury, and sportiness, you can't beat it for the price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Slip into a dream

by VA-Spyder from Reston, VA on Mon May 28 2007

Okay, so I wanted an Spyder since I first saw an early announcement for the vehicle. I drug my wife to multiple dealerships over the years, trying to convince her that this was the practical convertible that we both wanted. Finallly, we found a used 2003 MR2 Spyder with less than 5,000 miles and in a weak moment she agreed to buy it. This car is amazing, turn the key and the engine kicks into action. The manual transmission is smooth, but the overall handling is what makes the car so driveable. Each time we take the car for a spin it is like slipping into a dream. There is nothing like taking this car for drive under the stars on a hot summer night. This car is a head turner, most of the comments we get are from women, but the solar yellow color catches everyones attention. I just wish I had money and garage space for a black one too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Really Cool Car

by Cybastyen from Atlanta on Fri Aug 06 2010

I've now owned my Spyder for a little over four months now. It has been a great car. Excellent on gas, unique, very low to maintain & handles like a dream. I truly love my poor man's Porsche!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Totally reliable best ever car

by Weeksy from United Kingdom on Sat Jun 30 2007

Handles the road great the car is co comftable and never had any trouble the engineering of it. This car would last me for a good 10years. Would definetly buy another. 10/10

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3