2017 Prius

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota Prius

$16,586 - $34,714  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota Prius

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

110 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota Prius?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 110 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Do you like saving money on gas?

by MaesterBenham from Strathroy, ON on Wed Mar 22 2017

Then this is the car for you! Smooth ride, easy handling. Great on gas and it actually has good pick-up in power mode if you need. 950 km's a tank of gas that costs maybe $35.00. Gas costs reduced by 2 1/3's.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Prius for the Environment

by Mark from Berkeley on Mon Mar 20 2017

You can't beat 54 miles per gallon. Filling up the 10 gallon tank is financially painless and only happens every ~500 miles. You can't beat that for economy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Out of this world gas mileage

by Jim from Tinley Park, Il on Wed May 03 2017

Fantastic gas mileage in a stylish package. A nice quiet and smooth ride which I didn't expect in a small car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excited to be driving a brand new Prius!

by JP from Rhinebeck, NY on Fri Mar 10 2017

Wow, this car has everything: Satellite radio, variable cruise control, lane maintenance, blue tooth and it gets amazing mileage. Handles like a dream. Lots of pep. A BIG improvement over our 20006 trade-in. I don't know why we waited so long!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Prius

by StanleysB&S from Kingsport, TN on Tue Apr 11 2017

I love my Prius. I love how it looks inside and out. I really love the gas mileage. For some reason, some people think the Prius is a small car with no power. Those people are wrong. Test one Prius and you'll be hooked.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by lr51347 from on Mon Mar 06 2017

Our fourth Prius. Like the style inside and out. The car handle great and the ride is smoother than my other Priuses.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Who knew driving could be so much fun!

by LovemyPrius from on Wed Mar 29 2017

I treated myself to the new Toyota Prius Two. I didn't up grade for any extras but don't really need to. Toyota has made many of the features standard. I'm getting 56. 3 mpg and find it a lot of fun trying to see just how far I can go to better that score. The Prius makes it easy with it's computerized monitors for all of the car stats. I love the Hipersonic red and feel I've picked a winner. Can't wait to take it on a long trip somewhere.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

comfortable, reliable, and economical

by 3 time owner from Los Angeles, Ca on Tue Apr 04 2017

I've owned 2 other priuses and have been fully satisfied with each one, but the 2017 is the best so far. The gas mieage is fantastic (better than the EPA rating), it's comfortable, and I'm still getting used to all the safety features. It will never win a drag race, of course, but it's zippy enough to get me on the freeway without turning my knuckles white and I have to remember to back off the pedal before I hit 80. It doesn't have the "Wow" factor of cars like the Mustang, Porsche, or Tesla but at this point in life I only have to impress me. I'm happy with the car and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good, reliable, economical auto that can handle itself.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great car

by R&J from Rancho Murieta, CA on Fri Mar 10 2017

Just bought our 2nd Prius. Our '08 was the first hybrid. It was basically trouble free, so we opted for another one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best ever

by Music man from Sacramento, ca on Tue May 16 2017

Everything works-everything looks great-price was right-totally satisfied. Great car. This 2017 Prius is number four for this family. No doubt not the last. The dealership was honest and solid in their approach to the sale of the car. We have bought four new Toyota cars from the same salesman. We ighly reccoment both the dealership and the salesman.

out of 5 starsComfort
out of 5 starsValue for the Money
out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
out of 5 starsPerformance
out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota Prius

Editor's note: This review was written in December 2015 about the 2016 Toyota Prius, but little of substance has changed. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

With improved driving performance and interior design, the new 2016 Toyota Prius could be the first of its breed to attract people who care about more than just getting the highest mileage available — though the new Prius manages to get even better mileage, as well.

I drove several trim levels of the new Prius on roads and a small track to test the vehicle's dynamics. While there are still some rough spots, it's an impressive effort.

The Prius... Read More