1997 RAV4

Consumer Reviews
1997 Toyota RAV4

Change Vehicle
4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

21 Reviews
4.2 out of 5 starsComfort
4.4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1997 rav 4 4x4 5 speed

by betsy from texas on November 14, 2014

I bought mine a year ago with 242000 miles I now have 262489 miles on it have not done any thing to it but put gas in it took it on a 3000 mile drive last winter no problem took it to the beach tried to get it stuck and couldn't well the same day I bought the 1997 I bought a 2001 both run like champs so I went out and got my son a car will not buy anything but a rav 4 got him a 1996 rav 4 with 214000 miles on it all I have to say is that's the only car I will buy from now on

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'll will never give up one this one

by small cars fanatic from Cayey, Puerto Rico on March 29, 2009

First time I saw it I wanted one. My Baby car (2 doors) have been in a serious collisions(not my fault). I had it fixed, and I still have it. Its 12th year with me will be in June 2009.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is the best car I have ever owned

by My Toy from Syanford Kentucky on May 31, 2010

If something shouldhappend to this one I will have another one just like it Being from Ky. I have the blue one like the WILD CAT BLUE

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super reliable workhorse w/ comfort

by RAV4 lover from Sacramento on January 17, 2009

I've owned my RAV4 for 6 years. It is awesome. Never had any major service problems. It is versatile, good for city driving, highways, and back roads. Toyota did a great job putting this one together. Super for a family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievably reliable

by Cletus from California on April 29, 2013

I've had 2. One I bought new in 2000. Some drunk smashed into it in 2010. Totaled it. It was a completely reliable vehicle. I liked it so much I bought my 2-door '97 to replace it. It's still going strong, goes anywhere, excellent ground clearance. If a drunk totaled it today, I'd get another. Only complaint: after 16 years, some other new small suv's get better mileage...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by KLP from Brooklyn, NY on September 16, 2008

I have had my RAV4 for 11 years. I've taken good care of it (followed Toyota's recommended maintenance) and never had any problems. I love its size and reliability. I regularly get offers "if you ever decide to sell, let me know"! One negative, in this day and age, you need more than one cup holder, that's why it only gets 4 stars on interior design and features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever had.

by minion from Michigian on January 16, 2008

I like the toyota Rav 4 because it is nimble and sporty and my sister likes it because of the fuel econimy. It protects the people in it really good. My brother wants one too. he thinks it would be nice to have a hybrid model. he really likes the space in it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Owned

by CMR from Las Cruces, NM on December 20, 2008

What can I say, I have had my RAV for 8 years and LOVE it. It's reliable and comfortable to drive. I'm only 5'2" tall so driving comfort is an issue for me in many vehicles - not this one. I've been at home from the first time I drove it. To be honest, the only negatives are: only one cup holder and there is a good bit of road noise. For me, these have been easy to live with and the positives far outweigh the negatives. The only reason I am selling mine is to get a larger vehicle that will fit car seats a little better. When my kids are past the car seat stage, I hope they are still making the RAV-4 because I would definitely buy another one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great used car

by loghouse1 from ft wayne in on October 14, 2010

got it for my daughter for college, great buy and just an awesome used car she loves it. I would highly reccomend this Toyota model

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Overall, not a bad little vehicle.

by Patrick, D. from Edmnonton,Alberta on February 28, 2007

Had previously owned a '92 Toyota Previa 4 wd., but was offered a sum for it I couldn't refuse. I chose the Rav because I wanted another all-wheel drive and the practicality of a 5dr. The vehicle drives well -- a little jittery at times, and is reasonable on fuel. However, it can't compare to the Previa in either comfort or build quality; Granted, the Previa stickered for many thousands more, but I can't help but feel the Rav is a little "tinny". JUst trying to load a 4' by 4' sheet of hard board can be a chore. Currently, I have my Rav up for sale, and am back looking for another Previa.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 1997 Toyota RAV4