2001 RAV4

Consumer Reviews

2001 Toyota RAV4

$1,152 - $9,460  MSRP Range
2001 Toyota RAV4

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

19 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 Toyota RAV4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by Tonka Truck from Palm Harbor,Fl on Sun Nov 14 2010

Bought my 2001 used in 2007 for a cheap, reliable transport and to carry around my big dog. Its been a great car giving me no problems and is even fun and easy to drive. Though, it is a very small vehicle, it is perfect for shorter drivers. The rear door is a bit heavy and can be inconvenient if another car is parked behind you when you want to put anything in the rear. But does provide decent cargo space. It's a great little suv.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Fan

by Arizona Transplant from Knoxville, TN on Sun Feb 09 2014

Bought my Rav4 new in 2001 and now have 185,000 miles on it. It's been my best car ever, reliable, roomy, and has gotten 30 mpg the whole time -- unusual in a 4WD. Downside is that it's a 2L engine so doesn't have as much pickup in fast traffic, and is noisier at high speeds than I'd like. Overall, a great, reliable car, though, and I'm at a loss to decide what car I'd want to get next. IF this car ever gives out, I'll probably get another Toyota.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car ROCKS!!!

by Dishisno1 from Southeast US on Thu Feb 21 2013

Just bought an '01 Rav4 and LOVE IT!!! Sturdy and built to last, but stylish and eye-catching. Great features like over-drive for gas-saving and passenger room plus cargo area for just about anything. I have not found a prettier, small SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by SUV lover from Branford, CT on Tue Oct 15 2013

I bought a RAV 4 new and owned it for over 13 years with no problems - very reliable and stylish-looking SUV. Easier to park and maneuver than many larger SUV's and a more comfortable ride. Great on snow and ice. I'll never go back to driving a car now that I've owned an SUV - just bought a brand new one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great small SUV

by MK on Sat Jul 08 2017

This car has loads of little features that make it convenient and practical. It proved to be a very reliable car for 12 years, with only basic maintenance. Probably one of the best Toyota has made and got an average of 26 MPG.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good vehicle

by mandoguy from Minnesota on Sun Mar 16 2014

Standard transmission went out at around 80,000 miles, cost 1500 to get a new one. other than that, runs great and fun to drive. Great parking. Its so short I use it as my city car.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good buy

by keith from from Aurora, CO on Tue Jan 29 2013

The cars I looked at were clean and test drives were good. They were okay with me getting an inspection before buying, which is important with a used car. Everyone was polite and easy to work with.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A very good small suv

by jus marsh from virginia beach, va. on Sat Mar 18 2017

In producing the second generation RAV4, Toyota really produced a clean vehicle, just as this market in small utility vehicle's began to explode. The purchase price was inside of as $18,000 new and after 16 years of ownership and over 100,000 plus miles.......I would most certainly buy another one today

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Lasts long , very reliable

by agl4 from Appleton, WI on Sat Aug 12 2017

It has been a hand me down car between my parents, sister, and now me and it has been with us for so much and I am surprised at how great the condition for a 16 year old car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TOYOTA RAV 4 GREAT CAR.

by DAN from GRANDFORKS. ND on Mon Jul 17 2017

IT IS A GREAT VEHICLE.IT IS GOOD IN SUMMER AND WINTER.IT WILL PASS THROUGH THE SNOW WITH EASE.I CAN'T WAIT TO RENEW IT NEXT YEAR.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2001 Toyota RAV4

RAV4 was the first of the breed, Toyota's original take in 1996 on what was to become a brisk-selling portion of the sport utility market. It was small, lightweight, stylish and affordable, appealing to young people as a sporty alternative to the lumbering SUVs driven by their parents. Really more of a tall car with off-roading pretensions than a true SUV, the RAV4 spawned many followers in a segment of mini-SUVs saddled with the unfortunate label of "cute ute." Redesigned for 2001, RAV4 is still cute, even though it's slightly bigger and marginally more powerful.

Based on the Camry automobile chassis, RAV4 straddles the line between car and truck. With optional all-wheel drive (front drive... Read More