2002 RAV4

Consumer Reviews

2002 Toyota RAV4

$2,271 - $8,247  MSRP Range
2002 Toyota RAV4

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

26 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Toyota RAV4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

good vehicle less one pricey repair

by scott from on Sat Jul 11 2009

I like toyota products having owned a corolla for 230000 miles. picked up a 2002 rav4L a year ago. ran well till one day ( at 85000 miles) transmission started shifting erratically. started downshifting for no reason. took to dealer for repair . ended up spending $1300 on new transmission computer. This has effected a fair number of rav4's and toyota will not cover it. so buyer beware check the service on the tranny computer first. otherwise great vehicle !!!.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

43 out of 43 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

RAV takes all you can throw at it and wants more

by ADAM from Cotati Ca on Sun Feb 25 2007

I have had my 2002 RAV4 since I bought it new in 2002. It has served me well for 5 years and I have never had a problem with it. I consistently get 28-31 mpg and I can haul many many things in the cabin with the versitle seat configurations. I love my rav and will not be giving it up until it does.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

long-time Toy/Honda owner and Rav-ing "maniac"

by retired father trucker from auburn, al. on Fri Jul 24 2015

This lil' Rav o' mine just keeps on rollin'... bought it new in 2002, has manual tranny, and w/good servicing have had next to no problems. hit 220,000 miles this month - did replace clutch about 6 months ago, but this little unit refuses to quit! We plan to buy a new hybrid Avalon soon, but I'm keeping my "little mule" !!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A Nice (but bumpy) Ride

by Commuter from Sacramento, CA on Fri May 19 2006

I have owned a 2002 Rav4 for the past year, and have driven it about 8,000 miles. So far, so good. It is very reliable, and can haul an amazing amount of stuff with one or both back seats folded or removed. It's very easy to park, and has a great short turning radius. It's 4-speed auto transmission is smooth, and is mated to a pretty peppy motor. Only downsides are its somewhat choppy ride over rough pavement, and the amount of noise the 4-cylinder engine makes when you stomp on the gas. I would buy it again, however. It's that good.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best. Car. Ever.

by jscottj from Greenville on Sun Jun 18 2017

2002 Rav4-L. Owned since 98,000 miles. 300,000 miles, ten years, soon. New rotors & pads at purchase. Rebuilt transmission at 200,000 +/-. Squirt electronic cleaner into cruise control stalk when it acts up. Love the size, economy, utility, and reliability of this car. Plan on keeping it up, and keeping it mine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

LOVED It!

by JoC from KC, Mo. on Sun Jan 28 2007

Bought my RAV slightly used and drove it a lot. It was fun to drive, easy to park and cheap to run. It puts you higher up in traffic than a car without giving you the feeling that it would tip easily. 80,000 miles later, NEVER had a single problem inside or out. My only complaints were that the seats could be more comfortable and it didn't come with auto pilot.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

MOST RELIABLE CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED

by GREAT SMALL SUV from SHELBY TWP, MI on Wed Oct 05 2011

RELIABLE, SMOOTH RIDE, TROUBLE FREE,GOOD ON GAS AND I ENJOY DRIVING THIS SUV. I INTEND TO PASS ON TO MY SON THIS GREAT CAR IN NEAR FUTURE INSTEAD SELLING OR TRADING.AND THIS WILL BE MY SON'S FIRST CAR WHICH HE HAS DRIVEN RECENTLY AND HE LIKED IT VERY MUCH.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Rav 4 , still going strong!

by MLV from Farmington Hills, Mi. on Wed Aug 30 2017

My husband keeps asking me if I want to get a newer version of the Rav 4 ,but I will drive this one as long as possible. I love it! Great in all types of weather , really grips the road . I have never had any major problem with this car . Body doesn't have an ounce of rust !! I recommend any Rav 4 ! Great lil SUV!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still On the Road and Loving it after 16+ years!

by Milou from Provo, Utah on Mon Jul 30 2018

My wife and I have been driving a combined total of 136 years. We have owned cars from the American "Big Three" automakers, two German cars, a pickup truck, two Jeeps and a French car (don't ask and never again!). Our Toyota Rav4 is the most trouble-free, pleasant to drive, and inexpensive to maintain car we have ever owned. We bought it new over 16 years ago, it still looks good, drives well, gets great mpg, and we're saving to buy an upcoming Rav4 Adventure but will keep this 2002 Rav4 (now approaching 175,000 miles). My wife already dibs it in spite of the planned new car as she doesn't want to drive anything else because she loves it so much. We've driven it coast-to-coast twice and the only part we've ever had to replace in all of these years is the water pump. Incredible!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first car

by phiaps on Sun Apr 01 2018

super easy to drive, lots of space, looove the sun roof, the speakers get loud enough for some good jam seshs and theirs lots of tiny compartments to store things. very practical car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3