Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2015 RAV4

Consumer Reviews

2015 Toyota RAV4

$13,381 - $25,393  MSRP Range
2015 Toyota RAV4

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

288 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2015 Toyota RAV4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 288 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect balance between luxury and utility

by Phil391 from Cleveland, OH on Mon Nov 02 2015

I have had 4 other Rav4's and this is the first Limited. Very nice vehicle with my only complaint being the somewhat narrow bucket seats. Nicely appointed and all the bells and whistles I could have wanted.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

XLE 2015

by Roja from on Fri Mar 25 2016

I have Toyota XLE 2015 and other than interior design, I'm really happy with it. It's very good in Gas and very reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2015 RAV4 XLE

by Best RAV 4 Thus Far from Lake St Louis, MO on Tue Sep 22 2015

2015 RAV 4 XLE is a vast improvement over the previous model. Prior to our 2015 we had a 2008 which was a good car but the styling, rear swing open tailgate and 4 speed transmission let it down. Our transmission would hut and violently downshift and upshift when going uphill at 65 MPH. We took it to the dealer for repair 3 times and they had no resolution. The mileage was also poor at 22 combined. 2015 PROS: 6 speed transmission like our 2013 Camry, Swing up lift gate, 28 mpg combined in eco mode, Back up camera. Touch screen, Driving range CONS: Road noise higher than 2008 and MUCH Higher than in our Camry, Same fuel tank as Camry that shuts off at about 13GL. You can put 2 additional GL in both cars and increase range by 60 miles, Limited cubby/storage areas. Overall the best choice and value in the category!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

love it

by patsy from schuamburg, IL on Wed Jun 29 2016

I purchased my Rav4 used. I fell in love with it right away. It handles well, turns great. The A/C works great. I wish the mirror adjustments, and the switches for the windows would light up at night. I also think it is odd that I don't have automatic headlights. My last car was a 2005 and it had automatic headlights. That was disappointing. I love it anyway and would buy it again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love this car so far

by ravlover from NJ on Sun Nov 08 2015

I just have this car for 2 months and I love it. Driving experience is smooth and comfortable. Rearview camera is very very helpful for parallel parking and backward parking. Well designed steering wheel make it so easy to control the audio system while you are driving-you can adjust everything with you thumb, even answer a call. I always choose economic gas usage model so I spent almost the same gas money as I did on a Mazda protege before. The only flaw so far is a little bumpy when you drive on a not-so-smooth surface. That's probably the problem for all SUVs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

RAV4 for reliably

by Kelgirl from Folsom, Ca on Sun Aug 26 2018

Reliable ,hold their value and all-around great family car. Great for commuting, great for taking the family to weekend sporting events. Love the leather or cloth options.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

good, not great, car

by jmsms from on Fri Jun 17 2016

Body has tight, solid feel to it. Very easy and comfortable to drive and turning circle is small. suspension fairly stiff(l like that) rather than mushy. Very responsive to steering and brakes, really helped me avoid an accident. Fantastic blind spot sensors and rear cross traffic sensors on Limited and great high beam auto dimmer as well. Audio unit links pretty well and reliably with Moto-x phone. Audio system sounds pretty decent on the Limited and has separate bass, mid , treble for each audio input type. good lumbar support. good interior room for class. absolutely great/powerful A/C. cons: lots of road noise at higher speed. some areas of interior feel cheap and plasticky. lots of rattling around the center console in cooler weather-very annoying. only 3 band eq. no usb folder browsing-very annoying. accel just okay, would have been nice to have v6 option like they used to. other aspects, like no illumination in the door lock controls, no homelink, no lights or reflectors in the opened doors, etc., give the car a low-end feel, even in the Limited. Mileage I guess is about average for class, but gas tank seems really small, so I am refilling very often.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Good but Not Great. Poor Transmission

by DavidinMaine from Portland, Maine on Wed Mar 01 2017

Overall this is a good car but Toyota cut corners from the previous 2008-11 generation. My previous Rav4 was a 2009 AWD. The ride is improved and is quieter than last generation. A big complaint is the 6-speed transmission. This RAV4 is programmed to always go to 6th gear, even at 45 mph. That is about 1400 rpm and the engine has LOW torque. Also with 2 people in car at 70 mph on a 2% grade it cannot hold speed in cruise control and harshly downshifts from 6 to 4th gear revving engine to 4000. This occurs on every small grade. Cruise control also Downshifts on a downhill grade to slow the car and does not upshift for 5-7 seconds after you reach level ground. Just Wierd !! The integrated phone and audio system is good. The AWD system is very good and average mileage is 24+ mpg. This is the LE model but many interior items have been removed from the 2009 BASE model Rav4 to cut costs. Here is a short list: Only one 12v outlet inside, none in center console and none in rear area Delay wipers have no adjustment - 1 delay time only No eyeglass storage in headliner above front seats. Rear Seats no longer slide fore-aft and on and on. Toyota also refuses to give an accessible plug for rear lights for trailers. All Tacoma's and Tundra's have this plug under the bumper. All interior rear panels on RAV must be removed to install the adapter: cost is $300+ Overall I would not purchase another RAV4.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Small Tank Capacity

by Mkgolf from Toronto, Canada on Thu Dec 10 2015

First off I'm satisfied with most things on my new 2015 Rav4. However I am very disappointed with the gas tanks fuel capacity. For the last 3 fill ups which I let go down to almost empty, I was only able to get between 46-48 Liters into the tank. I've addressed this issue with the dealer and Toyota Canada and both still think it is my faulty statistics that are wrong. I have documented through receipts and pictures as proof that that's all I'm able to get into the tank. They say continue to monitor. This is totally unacceptable given the specs say I should be able to get close to 60 L in the tank. As a result I'm filling up every week of my city commute. Anyone else having this issue???

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best of the three Toyota's I've owned.

by Toyota loyalist. from Bronx, New York on Thu Jul 02 2015

The RAV4 has a great sound system and handles like a dream. I've been to Geargia two times in the safest and most comfortable SUV It handles great, sight line is excellent, smooth transition of the gears good on gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 29

Our Take on the 2015 Toyota RAV4

The 2015 Toyota RAV4 is a little like the jeans and T-shirt you wear every day; they get the job done, but just a little extra effort would take it from yawn to yay.

The Toyota RAV4 is one of the original compact SUVs — arguably the first car-based SUV, or crossover. Over the years, it's become an icon of practical people upsizing from practical sedans, like the Toyota Camry. The RAV4 is an interesting animal, though, in that its upper trim levels manage to incorporate all the individual features you'd want — and might even consider upscale. It just seems to be missing a little … something. Some joie de vivre, an unknown X factor, that mysterious thing that makes you... Read More