2016 RAV4

Consumer Reviews

2016 Toyota RAV4

$14,514 - $28,802  MSRP Range
2016 Toyota RAV4

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

117 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2016 Toyota RAV4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 117 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

3600 miles and loving it

by Rav 4 enthusiast from Dallas, TX on Tue Apr 12 2016

I bought a 2016 Toyota RAV 4 SE back in January and so far so good! The interior is plush and sophisticated and I love my standard sun roof on sunny days. The performance of the car could be a little better in terms of power but it gets me from point A to point B. I can see myself owning this RAV4 for years to come.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

58 out of 58 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellant

by Ranger from Ohio on Fri Jan 08 2016

We recently bought the limited edition, and couldn't be happier. The mileage is 27/31 MPH. It is beautifully designed, very comfortable, the options in the limited is worth the extra money. If you are looking for a new crossover and you don't try the RAV4 you will be cheating yourself. I did not mention reliability because Toyota's reputation speaks for it's self. If the limited is in your budget, you should drive it. We traded the 2013 RAV4 XLE which was very similar but the interior options are better in the limited.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding AWD Duel Economy

by Russ in Utah from Kaysville on Mon Apr 03 2017

We purchased the 2016 Rav 4 LE in AWD about 6 months ago and just went on our first long distant highway drive (250 no stop miles) and my wife and I were pleasantly surprised that we averaged 31.1 miles per gallon and I verified it by filling up with about 8.4 gallons of gas after completing the 250 mile drive. We were in Eco Mode and occasionally used cruse control and about 20% of the drive included a two lane canyon road with lots of climbing and descending. We mostly drive our Rav 4 to the grocery store and other in town short drives and in normal mode we can expect just under 24 mpg city driving which is the EPA estimate but 31.1 Hwy is 2 mpg better than the EPA of 29 Hwy. We owned a 2008 Honda Accord and on the highway we would average 29 mpg. My wife and I would have never imagined eight years later a SUV AWD would be more economical. I recently read in Cars.com in real world driving the Honda CRV 2017 Turbo was delivering just under 32 mpg Hwy but city driving was barely over 20 mpg Average out city and hwy driving and our base model Rav 4 2016 model is out performing in real world fuel consumption the top-of-the-line touring Honda 2017 CRV Turbo and we paid $12,000 less. Thanks Toyota

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Class Act!

by Carnut59 from Holbrook ,NY on Wed Nov 30 2016

We have a 2014 RAV4 XLE and just purchased a 2016.Excellent performance and gas mileage as promised with Lexus fit and finish at a Toyota price tag!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Rav 4 is my favorite car, this is my third one.

by Fr. Joseph Kalapurayil from Palm Coast, Florida on Fri Mar 31 2017

Excellent sports utility and most comfortable vehicle to drive anywhere in the world. I was fully satisfied with my previous two Rav 4 s.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV in snow

by Patricia lane from S. Setauket on Mon Apr 03 2017

I had to drive to work when there's 6-7 inches of snow on the ground! RAV4 gives me the confidence!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Longest lasting dependability!

by ckoshbgosh on Tue Jun 26 2018

Extremely reliable and easy to maintain vehicle that holds its value! Being stylish and comfortable is just a perk. I would recommend to anyone I know looking for a great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love driving my new Toyota RAV 4 !

by LonnieD from Slaughters, Ky. on Tue Apr 25 2017

My new Toyota RAV 4, Drives great! It Gets good Gas mileage. It is Very stylish and Practical... I am looking forward to many years of service with this Vehicle!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good small suv

by Nle4tampabay from Land o lakes Fl on Sat Apr 15 2017

I like 2016 Rav4 i bought, but it needs more light interior even in LE model, because you can not see inside at all while driving at night

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Nissian X-Terra

by bubba 7 from Texas on Thu Jun 15 2017

My Rav 4 XLE/AWD is 6 months old; the transmission was not engaging correctly. I took it to the dealer and toyota said they would replaced it with a REFURBISHED transmission. There warranty is very deceptive and the reliability of the vehicles isn't what it once was. Very disappointed :(

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 12

Our Take on the 2016 Toyota RAV4

The verdict: The 2016 Toyota RAV4 is a useful compact crossover SUV, but the SE trim level is let down by a stiff ride and a high price tag.

Versus the competition: The RAV4's slight update for 2016 brings it closer to the competition, but it still trails class leaders including the Chevrolet Equinox, Honda CR-V and Nissan Rogue.

We tested a 2016 Toyota RAV4 in the new, sporty SE trim level, also equipped with the optional Advanced Technology Package that includes sonar parking sensors, 360-degree cameras, forward collision warning with automatic emergency braking and adaptive cruise control. The test SUV cost $34,595 including a $900 destination charge. The RAV4 also is sold in a... Read More